We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise, far enough from town, with great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise, far enough from town, with great value”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Was very pleased with my stay, couldn't really ask for much more:

Appearance: very pretty place, lose some of island feel, but a really beautiful place.

Location: I thought location on island was a real plus. North of bridge was nice to me, little more secluded. There was enough to do on that side. Legend's Burger House, Palapa bar, Capricorn restaurant, just a few places we really liked on that side, Now the lagoon and a shop is across road, so outside front door of resort, not most aesthetically pleasing, and our room was connected to lobby, so our 2nd bedroom overlooked that, not a big deal, If you get ocean front room not an issue at all

Pool: Awesome! Only one other pool on island is better, swim up bar, big enough for laps, 3 ( or 4) pools total, beautiful

Room: unbelievable, beautiful Teak molding, top notch everything, appliances all nicer than my house

Service: Laundry done every day, very clean, servers at poolside bar nice, but not spectacular

Food: poolside bar only, but food very good

Beach: like rest of AC, not much to beaches, grassy bottoms, that's why all places have piers, did not sit out on beach much, Diving is where it's at in Belize

I would return to AC and Grand Caribe next week if I could, what does that tell you?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    103
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
312
233
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I've stayed in a lot of resorts, but what made the Grand Caribe so special were the people. Judy ,the concierge helped arrange everything from my daughters' finishing their open water diving certification, to arranging flights, tours and even a photographer. When we arrived a day late, no problem. Marlin at the front desk completely rearranged our flights and modified the reservation with no questions asked. Chi, the bartender, lent his latern the very first night so we could see our way as we walked along the beautiful shore line to the Tapas Bar which he recommeneded and was great. Try the chocolate coconut cake. We even brough some home it was so good. We were refered to Winston our driver and guide on the mainland. Though the drive from Belize City to the zip lining was over an hour, Winston kept it interesting. He was so accomodating we even got to stop for ice cream on the way home. Definitely ask for him.

The actual accomodations surpassed what we had hoped. We stayed in the four room suite and if you have a family this is the way to go. Not only four beautiful rooms, but all with bathrooms. The furnishings were so nice we asked who did the art work and the furniture to try and bring some home. I can still shut my eyes and see the three palm trees swaying in the breeze over that beautiful blue water.

The three pools have something for everyone and my girls and I loved just laying in the shallow pool.

You need to know, the Grand Caribe is away from the hustle and bustle. Though it was easy to get to town and plenty of good shopping and resteraunts near, North Ambergis Caye is not in the mainstream, but that is exactly what we wanted.

I'd highly recommend Grand Caribe and plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We have traveled to numerous places for an ocean front vacation (i.e. Cancun, Los Cabos, Europe) and would rate Grand Caribe and Ambergris Caye our favorite. Very relaxing atmosphere. Every room has a great oceam view and extremely nice accomodations (recommend 2nd floor for the best view). The dock is incredible - nicest on the island and there are even lounge chairs there where you can spend the day.
Staff was extremely helpful for scuba diving, golf cart rental, calling the coastal express - anything we needed.
Everyone on island was extremely friendly (they obviously know they live in paradise). All spoke English (I thought several would speak spanish, but when asked they said they grew up in Belize speaking English).
If you are looking for a low risk country, English speaking, no crime recommend you visit Ambergris Caye island.
Once we were there, we looked at all the places on the island for future rental. We would rank Grand Caribe our # 1 favorite. We felt it was the best location that was close to town, but not "in town". We also looked at Cocoa Beach, Las Terrazas, but they were too far from town for us and a smaller property (everything seemed "crammed in to a small amount of land).
Food was good by the pool for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They will even make a special request is they have the items. We were told that Grand Caribe plans to build a restaurant and fitness center at some point.
Recommend -
Breakfast: Grand Caribe, Yoga place next door (didn't eat breakfast much)
Lunch: Wild Mangos in San Pedro, Mambos - take the coastal express since it's north of Grand Caribe or the Blue Water Grill in San Pedro.
Dinner: Mambos (will pick you up free for dinner); Blue Water Grill.
Best Burger: Legends close to Grand Caribe
Good BBQ: Lazy Croc next to Grand Caribe - open Fri/Sat/Sun only
** Go to the Palapa Bar for a drink - it's a palapa way out in water; incredible views.
Recommend: 1) Picking up beer and water on the way in from the airport if you get a taxi since there's only golf carts, bike and boats for transportation, 2) get fruit from numerous fruit stands around town, 3)Loved Amigos Del Mar for scuba diving - very professional and located at the Coastal Express.
Other recommendations: If you want to walk the beach at night take a flashlight. Very casual atmosphere - tshirt and shorts is fine anywhere at night.
Other: The coolest thing about Ambergris Caye is with the barrier reef, there are no "crashing waves". The water is incredibly beautiful and it's more like a lake since the waves aren't crashing and it's only 3-5 feet. You can snorkel right off the dock. You will see people kayaking, fishing, windsurfing, sailing etc. Just incredible. We were there for two weeks and it wasn't long enough! Recommend a boat pass for the week and renting a golf cart for a day or two. We also loved riding bikes.
There is a "golf" island that we tried to set up to play (they will fly and pick you up), but since it's for sale it was closed. Hope it opens soon!
If you like to fish (not deepwater fishing), hire a small boat and go to the west side of the island.
All said, if you're looking for a "party place" like Cancun, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Nicest and best location north of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We just finished a very enjoyable stay at the Grand Caribe with our friends (a total of 9 kids and adults). I would highly recommend this resort.

The Good

1. The unit was outstanding. Very well appointed. Colorful. Spacious. New. Expensive appliances including flat screen TV's, iHomes, stainless steel appliances of all kinds. A full bar.

2. The resort was uncrowded and immaculate. The photographs actually depict reality. Three pools and one small hot tub. Swim up bar with the usual tropical drinks. A small clean beach with chairs and lounges. The beach was cleaned every morning. Our kids spent 3-4 hours in the pool each day having a blast.

3. Service was good. Hotel staff was accommodating of requests. Note that the front desk is staffed from 7 am to 7 pm only. Daily housekeeping. Bikes, golf carts, jet skis, etc. can be rented from the front desk. Tours can be organized by the concierge, though the one we did for snorkeling from "Seaduced" Tours was slightly below average because of a grumpy tour guide. However, snorkeling was sensational, even to a first-timer like me. To be so close to corrals, fish, sting-rays, barracudas, and nurse sharks was amazing!

4. Accessibility to town and shops was not an issue for me personally, though it could be for some people. I would not want to stay in downtown Sam Pedro since it is slightly run down. Water taxis (water boats really) run from a pier in front of the resort very regularly for Belizean $5. You can rent a golf cart but it is expensive (USD $72 for one day for a 6-seater). You can rent bikes for USD $6 for 4 hours.

5. There is good internet connection and good cable TV if you want it, including Arabic, Chinese, Spanish and Hindi language channels. The concierge stocks paperbacks that you can borrow.

6. The weather was fantastic. 80 to 85 degrees with 10 mph winds 24 hours a day. Absolutely heavenly.

7. We did a three-in-one excursion with Belize Jungle Trek which was absolutely sensational. Mayan ruins at Xunantunich, ziplining, and cave tubing. Approx. USD $225-$250 per person, which was worth it despite our initial reservations. It included airfare to Belize City, all transportation, drinks, lunch. Jovan was fantastic. Pravin, his partner, drove the van. Ably assisted by Brandon. This was our second time ziplining (after Costa Rica) and we enjoyed it much more. Cave tubing was something else.

The Not So Good

Minor stuff really, but it prevented me from giving this a 5-star rating.

1. We found small lizards in our unit on 3-4 occasions. I know that this is the tropics, but it freaked out a couple of people in our party.

2. Some people felt that getting to and from stores for grocery or other shopping was a pain.

3. The beach is nice but you can't really wade into the water due to pervasive sea weeds. You can dive into the water from the pier though since it extends 200 feet or so into the water. Some people were actually snorkeling in there.

4. A couple of people in the party complained of soft beds.

Additional Info

1. If you are flying into Belize City, take a cab to Belize Municipal airport (USD $25-35) from where flights to San Pedro cost USD $60 or so return vs. $110 from the international airport (since it has to collect tax).

2. Elvi's has great food. Carramba's was just ok.

3. Plenty of vegetarian options in every restaurant. My wife is a strict vegetarian and generally had no problems.

4. San Pedro is expensive. Milk was USD $12 per gallon. Rooms and rentals are pricey (you pay US rates). Restaurants are expensive but you don't need to order one dish per person.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pgwode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

You can see where this location is going and in 10 years may be very different from what it is now. My advice - get there and enjoy. The resort is perhaps the best on the Caye with spacious rooms and a beautiful compound. The pools will suit any family member, from the little to elderly. Nice swim up restaurant and the beach is fantastic.

If you dive, there are a ton of options. Island Divers provided a great experience - Rudi is a first-rate master. Whatever you do - Julie will set you up with a smile. Now, the roads are "rustic" and you will rent a golfcart to get round - but this only added to the experience to me. The town is small with many great restaruants right on the beach. Hit "Wild Mango" for a meal if you can.

The best part is the people - no edge - just family-oriented folks who go along to get along. Leave your stress at home - chill and be treated with respect by everyone you meet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

From the moment I walked through the door of our suite I was floored by the beauty and elegance that surrounded me. We were escorted on a tour and everything was so perfect and beautiful. The staff was so gracious and accomodating. The view was spectacular and we enjoyed the beach and swim up bar. We could not have asked for a more wonderful place to stay. It is definitely a home away from home. The only bad thing was leaving.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We just returned from a 7 day stay with family and friends at the Grand Caribe. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite, 3 couples. Initially one room had two beds, and was furnished for kids, but the next morning, the crew came in and changed our two doubles into one additional king bed. This is the first place we've stayed where the pictures are true representation of the location! It's actually even better than it looks. Footprints bar put up with our crazy requests, and we all highly recommend the Papaya Pina Colada. The food at footprints was ok, not anything fantastic, and it was great to get out on the island and try some other places. The service, however, was fantastic.
We rented a 6 seat golf cart (which are in short supply, so if you are going to need one, call ahead and have the front desk work one out for you). There isn't as much bartering on the island as I've seen in other Central/S. American areas, probaby becuase of the high tourism rate. We ate at Wild Mangos (good), The Blue Water Grill (good), Caliente (great), Aji (just down the beach to the north, which was awesome), Legends Burgers (great when you've had your fill of seafood) and Elvi's Kitchen (also awesome, especially for fish/shrimp tacos, a favorite for the WHOLE group). I would recommend staying away from a place called the Tex-Mex Cantina to the north of the bridge, the fish was bad and they charged us for it anyway. Most places were reasonably priced.
We dove with Amigos Del Mar. They ran a very professional dive with a good brief before each dive on the profile, sea life, area, and highly knowledgeable dive masters. We were extremely happy with their service and we even bought the video of our three dives, something we would normally do. Kudos to the dive videographer. It was fun to share it with the family when we got home.
On a final note, every single person we met on the island was wonderfully friendly, and genuinely happy we were in their restaurant/store/dive shop/hotel, etc.
What a great trip!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirwayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
8.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing