We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, modern accommodations with great amenities--great place to call home during your Belize vacay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We really enjoyed Ambergris Caye. The relaxed vibe, the food, the beaches, the snorkelling--all amazing! What really sealed the deal for such an enjoyable vacation was staying at Grand Caribe. It was just about perfect! We were in unit F6, a 2-bed condo on the second floor. It was spectacular. So nicely furnished/decorated with all the conforts of home. The minute we walked it we were greeted by sparkling clean surfaces, perfectly folded linens, wide open space and cool air! After a few days in the Cayo region in more rustic accommodations all this was especially welcome (especially the cold air!). Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and well fitted. Beds were so comfy too. A/C was fantastic for escaping the heat of June. Views over the pool and sea are spectacular! Pool is fabulous. It's huge, so big and so well laid out that even with a lot of people it doesn't feel crowded. Swim-up bar is fun! Staff at the bar/grill are really friendly. We were pleasantly surprised by the food at the poolside grill. The kitchen doesn't look like much, but all the food we had was pretty great. The beach area is well maintained, and during high winds they had crews out constantly raking up the extra seaweed mess swept onshore. The resort dock is great. Fun to jump into the water, swim around, loom at fish or catch a water taxi right from the resort dock. Concierge was great to arrange snorkeling trips, very responsive and helpful. Laundry service was a nice bonus, left it out every morning and it was clean and folded each afternoon. My family of 5 had such a wonderful time here. The condos were a refreshing place to park ourselves on a lovable island that can otherwise feel wet and dirty. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Paid a great deal of money to stay there based on reviews, but was pretty bad. Rented 3 bedroom penthouse. First day AC broken, over 5 hour period had to convince 3 people it was in fact broken before they would call someone to fix. In the interim, Marlin, the manager who is in way over his head attempted to move us to a unit that under construction with concrete repairs going on in master suite. Ultimately, we decided to stay in our unit and 2 days into stay they fixed it.

During our stay power went off between 7pm-10pm each night we were there. Grand Caribe has no generators, no flashlights. We had hired chef to make in house dinner when the power went out one night and sort of destroyed mood..

I asked to speak to manager and was told he was out of the country. Owners didnt want to talk either. Am surprised by our experience based on the reviews here but I would never stay there again. The staff is in way over there head and dont seem to have much support from owners etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mks001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCaribeBelize, Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

We regret that your stay with us was not what you expected. We would like to take this time to clarify some points. It was unfortunate that the entire north side of Ambergris Caye experienced rolling black outs while you were here. This is not a frequent occurrence, but due to this experience we have decided to equip each unit with emergency flashlights.
Marlon (our front desk personnel) tried his best to accommodate all the guests that we had here at Grand Caribe, and extended a full 100% night refund for the inconveniences you had.

In regards to the AC, we immediately called the AC technician, he took very long to troubleshoot the problem and this was in fact the issue not that we did not believe you, but that the AC technician could not assess and fix the problem in a timely manner, which again we compensated for with the one night refund. Due to the fact that all this was occurring very late in the day (after our housekeeping staff had left) Marlon tried his best to accommodate you in another room, unfortunately he was unaware that there was a window repair in progress in that unit.

The special dinner was a separately contracted chef who we did in fact book through our concierge service, Grand Caribe chose to compensate for the power outage which was beyond our control, by offering this service complimentary.

We expressed our regret for all the inconveniences that you experienced and tried to accommodate as best as possible, unfortunately the electrical company was not on our side and one of the AC units in your 3 bedroom Condo was not functioning properly. We sincerely hope that the various other activities you booked via our concierge office were satisfactory and that beyond our two major problems your Belizean experience was an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Top notch ratings in all categories. North of San Pedro in a more secluded part of the island. Yet within walking distance to fabulous restaurants and bars.

One of the newer resorts. Only a handful of couples were staying there at the time. Go now before it becomes popular.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guitarjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I had the best time on my visit to Grand Caribe. The food and drinks at the grill were wonderful and the staff would have made anything we wanted. The pasta salad is yummy and the "Dirty Banana" drink is to die for. On the downside....the pool could use more lighting at night and it would be nice to have more music from the grill.

A tropical wave came thru my first night there and I was unable to snorkle........well, I probably could have, but I was afraid I'd get sick on the water. The staff at GC would have planned anything I wanted. There was really no need to snorkle because relaxing by the pool and enjoying the view from the balcony was all I needed.

I can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JweemsMeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

From the moment we pulled up to the front entrance, I knew we had chosen the right place! As I was greeted and shown around the resort, my bags were taken to our room. We stayed in A-4, on the second floor and closest to the water. Our 2 bedroom condo was beautifully decorated with flower petals scattered throughout every room. We ordered room service half a dozen times and ate on the balcony with the most incredible view! The sun woke us up in the mornings and I could see the water and swaying Palm fronds from bed! The food and service were amazing! We enjoyed the swim up bar and the beach view from the pool. Grand Caribe is in walking distance from Ak'bol and Capricorn, 2 places we visited during our stay. Since I didn't have cell service, I was very thankful for wi-fi in the condo. Next time, I'll pack half of what I took this trip and take advantage of the washer and dryer! For a truly stress-free vacation, with the best staff on the island, stay at Grand Caribe! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maconcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Prior to booking at the Grand Caribbean I read a ton of reviews about other hotels on the island in search of the perfect honeymoon spot. I was a little skeptical about Grand Caribe because it doesn’t come up on the top of the hotel / resort list in AC. But since the resort is relatively new, I let my gut guide my decision and booked anyway; keeping my fingers crossed that we wouldn’t be disappointed upon arrival. (We live in Nicaragua and sometimes things look really nice in pictures and turn out to be awful!!!)

From the moment the taxi dropped us off at the resort, to the moment we checked out, we were nothing but impressed by the Grand Caribe – the rooms, the grounds, the staff, and the location!!

Room: We stayed in room D8 and it was probably the most beautifully decorated one bedroom at the resort! With that said, there is an amazing view from each unit so no need to worry if you end up in another room!

Grounds: The landscaping was beautiful! The pool area was nicely maintained and the seaweed was combed from the beach every morning. There were also tons of available tables and lounge chairs.

Staff: The front desk staff (Marlin), tour concierge (Judy) and bar staff (Chee) were always in good humor and willing to lend a hand. The guards were strategically placed around the resort which made us feel very secure.

Location: Located in a perfect spot on the island. It’s just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of San Pedro but easily accessible to town via the water taxi. There are also several great restaurants within walking distance, which is convenient for lunch and dinner. The Palapa bar is also close by for happy hour.

If one day we return to AC, we will definitely be staying at the Grand Caribe!!

Room Tip: Wait to buy the week long water taxi pass until you decide how many tours you will take, since they...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ran1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCaribeBelize, Front Office Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Grand Caribe has exceeded our hopes and expectations from our first contact. Julie was so helpful with everything before we left home. Once at Grand Caribe we found every employee very helpful and friendly. The front desk was always ready to assist in everything from simple questions to dinner reservations, bike rental, and a Caye Caulker catamaran cruise. The room service maids were efficient and friendly. The employees at Foot Prints Poolside Bar and Grille provided us with great food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) as well as friendly service. The pools were fantastic, beautiful - clean and perfect temperature. Our family of 6, including our 10 month old grandson thoroughly enjoyed our 3 bedroom unit. The grounds are well kept, the dock is the best on the island and entire resort is spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockeRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
986 reviews
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £175 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing