We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort Great Location !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Beautiful place, best pool on Ambergris, friendly staff, the rooms were spotless, complimentary laundry and the best beach ! Sea grass on shore as with everywhere on Ambergris, but the beach was well maintained and you can swim off the pier. In my opinion this is also the best location ! You are close enough to town to take a short taxi, golf cart or a bike. The roads are terrible and if you stay farther from town your only option is a water taxi which is on a schedule and not that frequent. Good restaurants near by also !

My only negative about Grand Caribe is the little food they make there is not very good. There is a bar by the pool and the food is made there on a small grill .....and not very good . The bar has a flat roof instead of a palapa so is very stuffy and smells like fried food all the time ! I'm not sure why they didn't do a Palapa ?? Would be the perfect resort if it had a Palapa and better food ! I still recommend staying here over anywhere else! Plenty of great restaurants near by ! Amazing view also !!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltravel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was our first trip to Ambergris Caye. We had to switch hotels after arriving because my first choice was a dump. Grand Caribe gave us a good deal for 6 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. The condo is top of the line and new. What you see on the internet is correct. All appliances in the kitchen are Cuisinart-there are even stainless steel double ovens. The biggest problem we have had is finding food to cook. We make breakfast and eat lunch and dinner out. The master bathroom has a beautiful jetted tub and separate shower. The linens are nice. The king size bed is comfortable. There are flatscreen TVs in each room, all w premium channels. Our porch has a table and chairs. The pool is very pretty and there is a small swim up bar. That is the only place to get food here. The markets are like gas station markets in the US.

One nice thing is when the housekeeping girls clean every day they also do your laundry in the unit's washer/dryer. You can get away with very light packing.

Grand Caribe is north of San Pedro. You can take a water taxi into town for dinner.. After staying in the town of San Pedro our first night, we did not return to town. We found San Pedro nasty and unappealing and somewhat dangerous. So, being north of the bridge is great. They seem to keep out the riff-raff up this way.

There is a dock for swimming or boats at the beach Grand Caribe. They keep the beach area and grounds very clean. Every morning, the guys have to rake up seaweed and garbage from the beach. Belize has a big problem with trash. Some of it washes up from boats out at sea and I have a feeling they have become so used to it, some locals dump trash too. It is an ugly problem that may kill the future of tourism here.

The beach is small but there is a bike/walking path that goes up about 2 more miles. There are several places to eat along the path. Our favorite is Aji. The food is fantastic! Bring a flashlight w you as it is a dark path at night. We did not rent a golf cart but if you do not want to walk, I would. We did feel safe.

We used Go Fish Belize for excursions and planned those on our own. The Grand Caribe girl is not very helpful for planning activities. She seems young and very inexperienced. We went out reef fishing and caught snapper and a huge barracutta. My husband is fly fishing the flats today.

So, to sum it up- Grand Caribe is a good choice for Ambergris Caye. It would be good for families or couples. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not pay more for ocean front, ocean view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CindynGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks at Grand Caribe. Grand Caribe is a great place to rent in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. We enjoyed the beautiful condo C8, pools, beach, ocean and the staff.

Grand Caribe looks like the pictures you see online. We were upset about the ocean front condos being booked but once we arrived and had ocean view it did not matter. We could see the ocean, pools, main lobby area, and pool bar.Our condo was fully furnished and had a washer and dryer. Daily maid service was included!!

javiertoursbelize@hotmail.com Javier Perez email him for tours!!! He is amazing!!

PROS OF SAN PEDRO
We enjoyed touring throughout Belize.
Some suggestions if you are traveling to San Pedro.
Grocery Shopping- "Greenhouse" is the best place to find meat and fresh produce
Golf Cart Rentals- Cholos
Resort- Grand Caribe
Restaurants- Mojitos, Pinnochios Pizza, Wild Mango, Aji,

Stay at San Pedro if you want to interact with the locals, have great food, great music, family oriented, place for couples, and place for people with children.

Tours- Do not book your tours from Grand Caribe we learned quickly that they charge more for booking your tours. We hooked with this guy name Javier Perez. He is excellent. The tours were personal,(no large groups). Javier can take you where ever you would like to visit and if he is unable to do the tour he will arrange it with a friend to do it.

Javier is knows Belize including the cultural, history, ocean, fishing,parasailing, snorkeling, scuba diving, Mayan Ruins, Cave Tubing, Ziplining. Anything you can imagine Javier will be able to help you with it.

Cons:
Grand Caribe is great but is lacking in a few things.
1) The pool bar is great except that they were out of a lot of product daily.
2) The pool bar owners are new at owning the bar and do a great job. We just wish they would have served other foods at dinner. (More local type dishes). Having more seafood would be nice as well
3) We wished there was a nice restaurant on the resort property
4) The front staff just does not know a lot about the activities and different things. This is not their fault they just need more training. They try their best at answering your questions
5) When booking tours they did not know which one to do, what the price was. They never would directly give us an answer on how much the trip would be. They said they would have to call to find out. It would be nice if the staff went on some of the activities so they could explain to the guest what the activities consisted of. What was a lot of fun, what was not so much fun.
If the staff knew more about the activities I think it would help the guest at deciding what to do and how much they should be spending.

Overall Grand Caribe was a great place to stay. It is new and I belive Management is trying to fix things.

I always felt safe at Grand Caribe. The security guards, housekeeping, front desk, pool bar employees always knew who we were at all times.

WE ENJOYED IT.

We just suggest for a nice restaurant to be on site and the front desk know more about the activities they are booking. And can come up with a package to sell to the guest with activities.
When we go on vacation we want to make it simple and not have to do all the research on what we want to do. We expect the locals at the resort to know what is fun and what is not.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandCaribeBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate receiving feedback.
And I appreciate the fact that you noticed that we are trying to improve our service and quality. I think you would be pleased to know that we have assigned someone full time to our tours office and that we are training her with the different activities. She's already been on an ATM and a 3 in 1 combo tour (zip line,cave tubing and Xunantunich Maya Ruin); and we have a few more lined up. She is eager to learn and even more eager to have an adventure.
All our front desk and office staff are fairly new with only the back office staff being more experienced, we believe in promoting from within and prefer to hire front desk and have our back office staff promoted from the front desk position. That being said they are very young (and inexperienced) and very new, and we will aim to provide a better training for them in the months to come; and I am certain that they will provide excellent service in the future.
Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I spent hours researching where to stay when we decided to visit San Pedro and eventually decided on Grand Caribe, and let me tell you, we are beyond thrilled that we ended up here. We stayed in unit D-8 and it was stunning! We had the most amazing view of the gorgeous pool and the ocean and the staff was so nice. Our condo was cleaned every day and they also washed any laundry that we left out for them, which was awesome, because I had zero laundry to have to worry about when I got home. As others have stated in their review, to stay in an “ocean front” condo versus an “ocean view” isn’t worth the extra money. You have an amazing view from anywhere on the property. For the most part we spent our time in town going diving and just exploring. Although the resort is outside of the main town, this is what we actually liked about it. The town is bustling with people, which is fun, but it was nice to come back to our quiet, relaxed atmosphere at Grand Caribe. If you are going to be going to town a lot, you can rent a golf cart to get back and forth; however, we ended up just taking the water taxi when needed. Also, if you are going to go diving or fishing they will actually come and pick you up at the hotel, so we found that we got around just fine without a golf cart. There are some great restaurants just North of the resort and within walking distance. You could easily stay around the resort and have everything you need, but there is definitely a lot more to do in town. We walked up and down the beach both by the resort as well as closer in to town, and we found that Grand Caribe was definitely one of the nicest resorts around. You will definitely not regret staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in D-8 and it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacko9569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was a grand holiday. We stayed from January 4th to January 14th. The Resort is top notch and the staff is very friendly and helpfull. We stayed in room C1 which is a 2 bedroom condo. I was impressed with the cleanliness and all the furnishings provided as well as all the cooking appliances and dishes. The maid service was excellent and they were very respectfull of our needs. I couldn't have asked for better service. The staff in general was very informative of the island and professional. I was impressed with the front desk as they were very accomodating and made you feel at home. The swim up bar was fantastic as well. Cowboy's bar and grill made you feel at home and had just the right amount of foods for one to enjoy on a leisurely holiday. They were very accomodating as well. There was also water taxis at you beck and call as well as a dock security attendant as well. The condo suite and the grounds were very clean. There was always someone attending the grounds via sweeping the pool decks or maintaining the beautifull grounds. This must have been the best resort We've seen on the island. WE were very impressed and will rexcommend this piece of paridise to anyone.
Thank you for helping make our holdiay a rememberale one.. We also noticed the people very nice and always had a smile weather be the hotel personal or the other people living on the island.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room as we were in C1. Ground floor easy access to the resorts lobby and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyR538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Grand Caribe in November 2010. In fact we may have been one of the first true "guests" to stay there. My husband and I and another couple stayed and we each had our own 1 bedroom condo. It was fantastic and the staff was unbelieveable. The furnishings in our condo were top of the line and the condo was extremely clean and comfortable. They had cable TV, which allowed me to keep track of the NFL season while on vacation.

My husband and his friend went fishing with a guide set up through Grand Caribe and caught more tuna than I ever thought possible. In fact, we still have some in our freezer at home.

We rented a golf cart and used it daily. When we were there, the road was an adventure but not a lot different than many dirt roads in the US.

We enjoyed the drinks and food at the pool bar. Our bartender was Renaldo and he was a hoot. There were only a handful of other people staying at the resort while we were there but it was definitely a great trip. I was somewhat hesitant about Belize being a third-world country etc..etc..etc.. But staying at Grand Caribe made me feel safe and secure with all the luxuries of home (plus some).

I can't wait to go back and take our kids

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had an unexpected delay in returning home from Belize and decided to splurge on a three night stay at the Grande Caribe. Since it was a last minute booking, we were able to get a one bedroom condo for $210 per night (about $250 with taxes and fees). It was beautifully appointed and furnished. We appreciated the free laundry service. The pool area wonderfully peaceful. We enjoyed lunch and breakfast at the onsite bar. It's a bit far from town but they provide transportation to and from the airport. We rented a golf cart, walked and used water taxis to get around. Overall, it was well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £185 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing