We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Beach Front Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach Front Condo”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in unit A4 for 7 nights. WOW - talk about beachfront - right on the beach. It's on the 2nd story so you have a lot more privacy than ground level. Amazing views of the blue water and reef from the main living room, master bedroom and even the kitchen window. The condo was very spacious, clean - well equipped with anything you could ever need. Definitely recommend staying at Grand Caribe - and in one of the beachfront condos!

Room Tip: Unit A4 was on the 2nd story so very private when sitting on the balcony. Also right on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DooleyDog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    102
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
297
226
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

WOW! We were in Belize for 3+ weeks and had rented a condo a little south of town. A friend of ours suggested we check out Grand Caribe and Cowboy Doug's Pool Bar. We couldn't have been more impressed, more comfortable and more happy than here. In fact, towards the end of our already booked and paid for trip, we packed our bags and headed to Grand Caribe (yes we left the condo we had already paid for) just to stay and play for the last few days. It was THE BEST choice we made in the 3 weeks. Cowboy Doug's Pool Bar and Grill is A-MAY-ZING! The food was incredible (as were the portions) and the drinks just as good (they had a great Sunday all day happy hour too). The grillmaster Andrew is just that, and Cowboy Doug is charming, friendly, professional and was always attentive to our needs at the condo - which were few as we were very well taken care of. Doug's wife Lisa is also just as sweet, kind and helpful.

Now the condo...Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful! From the tile floors to the beams on the ceiling. The bathrooms are gorgeous and have the most plush, soft, BIG bath towels as well as the bedding was very soothing to sleep in. We were right on the ocean and to lay in bed and watch a lightening storm one was amazing but waking up to the sunrise was even more amazing! The condo had everything from silverware, dishes, glassware, pots and pans, utensils, stainless steel appliances (including a convection microwave), cappuccino maker, blender etc...pretty much everything you need. There were also flat screen tv's and wifi for the techies. I could go on and on but I will end with, anyone staying at Grand Caribe or just coming for the day to eat, drink, swim, relax etc... will be very happy with everything; the pool, the bar (oh yes, it is swim up), the food, drink, the people who make the resort run (Doug, Lisa, Andrew and the staff) and of course the water and reef. Oh yes, the pier is great for taking a swim in the ocean or doing a little snorkeling as well as catching your tours or a water taxi to town (or you can rent a golf cart or catch a ride with one of the staff). I could go on and on...but I will close with I can't wait to go back and really relax and be happy at Grand Caribe once again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colomojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed one week July 7-15, 2012. We arrived in Belize for a week of sun and scuba with our three teenagers. Transfers had a slight hitch but Tropic Air provided such incedible customer service it was hardly an issue. Our taxi driver was simply wonderful, he stopped at a local grocery shop so we could stock up. Caye-Mart. They deliver and I cannot recommend their services enough. Top notch and truly friendly. Our condo assignment was A-2 and we could not have been happier. Ocean view, 2 bedrooms, pull out bed in the sofa. Completely furnished kitchen with anything you could dream up. Stainless steel appliances, etc. Linens stocked, extra beach towels, pillows etc. Magnificant views of the ocean straight from the porch. We have traveled the world and stayed in some truly fabulous hotels and condo's but Grande Caribe might take the gold metal. Customer service was wonderful. Front desk, dinner suggestions, anything we needed was easily at our finger tips. We did leave out a few pieces of laundry to be done by the housekeeper and found them neatly folded when we returned from our diving. One morning, we were trying to make our morning coffee but clearly the coffee maker was not working properly. I left a small note on it asking the housekeeper to please check on it. When we returned in the afternoon, it had been replaced! The beds were devine and we woke to the gorgeous ocean outside our window each morning. The hotel booked our dives (12 or 13) with Island Divers and we had a very positive dive week. They kept us safe, showed us a beautiful time and the diving was great. Rudy is so kind you just want to hug him. Our trip to Blue Hole was booked with Amigos Del Mar. Excellent day, GREAT diving experience. The only thing to keep in mind is that the restaurant is really just a small grill type setting next to the pool. The menu is limited but not too bad. Breakfast was quite good, lunches were casual. Salads were fresh, ceviche very good, basic sandwiches type stuff with friendly service. The location of the Grande Caribe puts you within walking distanc e in either direction of some very good little restaurants so it just isn't a problem. We loved our trip. The hotel was clearing seagrass from the water immediately in front of the hotel, I guess people were complaining about not being able to swim in the water there .... I prefer not to disturb the ocean if possible, there is plenty of swimming at the end of the pier. I would say great for families, great for couples. The staff went out of their way to make every detail perfect.

Room Tip: A-2 is private, quiet, close to the pier with a great view. Stocked exceptionally well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The resort was beautiful but the service wasn't it front desk didn't have any communication skills and weren't friendly at all transportation was another issue they didn't provide or gave any incentives for transportation

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czelidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just returned from Belize (family of 4, two kids ages 9 & 11) that included 4 nights at Grand Caribe. The resort is luxurious, very well maintained and right on the beach. We were in condo F-2 (two bedroom) and we loved the stay there. Everything from bedding to utensils and other stuff was brand new (sparkling clean). The appliances were all steel and it had everything from Flat panel TV in every room, smoothie maker, telescope, poker set, iPod speaker/charger, plenty of storage space, drawer/chests, linen etc. Kids loved the decor of the condo (all ocean/reef themed).
This was not the peak season so we liked the quietness there. There were not many people occupying the pool/bar/beach/dock at any time.
The pool bar is good for the drinks, the concierge nice. We booked our Hol Chan/Shark Ray snorkelling tour here and found it to be competitively price. The boat picked us right from their dock in front of the resort. Our tour was once cancelled because of the weather and the hotel staff was prompt in notifying us.
The resort is about 3 miles from the town and you have to rent Golf Cart to go to town. This to us was an added charm of stay in Grand Caribe. Golf cart costs about US $15 an hour plus US$5 as bridge toll. The resort staff was nice to not charge us for extra 10-15 minutes beyond the scheduled golf cart rental time.
The laundry is in the condo itself but is locked and only housekeeping operates it (at no additional charges). But its like having a daily laundry for free. We left the resort with everything washed/dried which is a big help for the return home. Housekeeping was flexible and called us to check what time we want them to come.
We loved cooking etc in the clean and fully equipped kitchen. The Golf Cart was a must to get the groceries back to the resort from town.
Minor points:
No gym/workout facility, although run at the beach is wonderful.
Towels could have been better to match the luxury of the resort. They were nice/clean but not luxurious.
Massage option is a seemed bit expensive at about US$80 per person but then you get the massage where you want, in your deck, at pool or at the beach.

Room Tip: The resort has a semi circle shape so most of the room have good view of ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilySkiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitecourt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked this condo online going by other reviews and pictures,most were good some bad. To say the least we were not disappointed in any way, mind you both of us are very tolerable. Nicest place we have stayed in our travels so far, maybe because it is so new and clean. We had no problems with the room,all the staff was very helpful, and the pool was awesome! We did spend a lot of time at the pool as there is not much for beach,we knew that going to Belize. Beach was cleaned on a regular basis and the seagrass was not that bad. There was a couple spots off to the side of the dock that were seagrass free if you wanted to float around there. We rented a golf cart when we needed to go to town or just go for a drive. Cost for renting the golf cart I would have to say is a bit steep! Food at the pool bar was good, a bit pricey but good. We did take the time to checkout other resorts and agree that we had made a great choice!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the third floor facing the ocean which gave us a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danj1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our 3/3 condo was huge, clean, well-maintained, and comfy. The housekeepers even did our laundry for us...a treat! Good pool, nice staff at the pool bar but a little pricey.

Our main gripe... Everyone gets about the island in a golf cart. And the only road between Grand Caribe and the town is in terrible condition, usually filled with deep puddles and badly rutted. Enough trips on that 1 to 1 1/2 mile road and your teeth will loosen. This is, of course, a problem shared by all resorts on the north end of the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing