We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort Ok Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Resort Ok Location”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. It reminds me of a Ritz Carlton. This was the first time for me to stay at a hotel condo. It was nice because a lot of the people we met had been there many times and gave us good advice as far as restaurants and activities. The rooms are huge. I stayed in a one bedroom that was about 1000 sq ft. Maid service was phenomenal and they do your laundry. Every room has a view of the ocean. I booked my room through vrbo.com and got a great deal. At night the only thing I did not like was having my room close to the street and smells of sewer wafting unto the grounds. The beach is not really swimmable due to seaweed but you can swim off of the dock. The pool is great. The hotel only has one restaurant that is connected to the pool. The food was surprisingly good. The staff in the restaurant for some reason was always rude and very slow. To health nuts, eating fruits and veges is a luxury here so get some at the market when you arrive. If you fish you can do it right off of the dock for your dinner. Lots of snapper. We went deep sea fishing and caught the same stuff as we did off of the dock. The front desk staff was always super helpful. Everyone drives golf carts here. They were really expensive. I think about 75.00 usd per day. You can rent them by the hour but they are often times not available. Cabs are really expensive but comparable to other Caribbean countries. The more casual restaurants I found to be the best. Do not miss Elvi’s kitchen. The Belizean tacos are amazing. The street bbq is super good too. On every corner people are making papusas. Eat a lot of them!! Try and go during lobster season. Two must do attractions: First you must snorkel at Hol Chan. It is the best I have seen in the world. You will see sharks, grouper, turtle and stingrays. They bring you to deep areas where people are scuba diving below you. Another attraction is the Mayan ruins. If you have a lot of energy getting there by boat and bus is fine but if you are with kids or are older fly over to Belize. It is a very long but cool day. Last tip. You only need to arrive to the Ambergris airport 5 minutes before departure. Very lax.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    102
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
296
225
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
prarie village, ks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Everything was lovely until we discovered that there were bugs in the mattreses of one of our bedrooms and my daughters were eaten to death. We did not let that ruin our otherwise wonderful experience, HOWEVER we were not taken too seriously and compensation was not offered. That cut our three bedroom into a two bedroom because nobody was willing to go in that room again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

San Pedro and many areas surrounding are quite seedy. Staying just north at Grand Caribe is a bit of an oasis and not too far out of town for dinner treks by boat or golf cart. The concierge, Melody, is exceptional at booking dinner reservations, dive trips or any other adventures. Dive operators pick you up right in front on the diock. The pools are salt water pools. Accommodations are clean and about 2years old. food is just so-so and over priced at Grand Caribe. Best to go elsewhere. Biggest disappointment was how much trash and plastic there is in the water. The beach is not the mat enticing beach. In all, a good experience.

Room Tip: Depends on the amount of people traveling. We loved one bedroom on the beach first floor walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benmansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

this place is INCREDIBLE! If you are looking for privacy, but just minutes from the bridge to downtown San Pedro, this place is incredible. I would highly recommend it. The pool is the largest on the island. The food is awesome. And the beach ir private & very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Township, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

we vacationed here in the summer of 2012 and loved it! The resort is beautiful, the staff is so very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was AMAZING! We loved it so much we actually bought a condo in the resort!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandC187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2012

not much not to like about this place. great location, great service, beautiful decor and surroundings. the only possible negative is the distance from San Pedro, but getting to town is half the fun. we rented a golf cart from the front desk one night, got a cab another night, and took a water taxi on the third. All were great options, but I recommend the water taxi option.

Room Tip: a ground floor room doesn't get you access to the beach directly. you get a better view from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Eck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I went to Belize for our 20th anniversary and stayed in the jungle for half of it (check my other reviews - fabulous place!), and then decided to come to the beach for the second half. Our travel agent booked us into a place in the heart of San Pedro, and we were not impressed at all... and sad that our vacation was going to end on such a sour note (again, you can find this in my other reviews).

Our saving grace was when we rented a golf cart and explored the northern end of the island and found the Grand Caribe, quite by accident. We pulled up that morning around 9am, walked through the lobby, saw the indescribable view out the back, and by 10:30am, we had checked OUT of the other place and fully moved IN to the Grand Caribe!! And we only had 1 night left of our vacation!

The tedious move was WELL WORTH IT. This place is stunning. The condo they placed us in had a full-size, stocked kitchen, a gorgeous bedroom with a walk in closet, and a bathroom that was OUT OF THIS WORLD. The shower alone made the whole place worth it! And between the time we left at 9 and returned at 10:30, they had decorated the room for us with towel swans on the bed, a heart made from rose petals, a bathroom sink full of rose petals... it was lovely, and so much more in line with what we wanted for our special honeymoon. (okay, my husband could've done without the flowery swans, but guys, little extra touches like that make a difference to us ladies!)

Another perk that made the move a no-brainer was that they provided us with a personal housekeeper who did ALL of our laundry for us!! I'm talking our WHOLE WEEK's worth of laundry even though we were only there for that one last night! I went back home with a whole suitcase full of clean clothes. Ahhhhhhh....

Their salt-water pool is incredible - I think it's the biggest in Belize, if I'm not mistaken. The views of the ocean are gorgeous (I'm sure it helped that we had beautiful weather). The general atmosphere is quiet - which was more what we were looking for as opposed to the noisy crowds down in the heart of San Pedro where we were.

My ONLY complaint - and it's not even a fair complaint - is that the beach is only mediocre. This is true for most of the island, though... the buildings are built right up close to the water, so there's not much sand to begin with. And they are constantly fighting the seaweed that washes up onto the shore. Most of the reputable resorts (of which this is one) do a good job of scooping it all up each day. Big, boring job, but I'm glad they do it - what they have is beautiful... it's just not much. In a nutshell, if you want a gorgeous beach, go to Playa del Carmen. If you want a gorgeous room in a beautiful country with attentive service and a fantastic swimming pool, then you can't go wrong with the Grand Caribe.

I think we paid about $309 ($350 or so after taxes/fees) for a 1 bedroom suite. WORTH EVERY PENNY. I have photos (and if you'd like to see them you are free to send me a message), but if you are questioning the "reality" of their professional, stock photos - don't. This place is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing