We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular, but very pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Othello, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular, but very pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Add a few palm trees (and a better beach, more on that later) and this would have the look and feel of a top resort on Maui. The accommodations are the best I have ever experienced - essentially perfect. The swim up bar and grill was great and we ate (and drank) there often. Pool is large, well designed, and not crowded. Service at every level (front desk, concierge, housekeeping) was outstanding. Their concierge arranged all of our activities (prior to arriving I had given them a list of things we wanted to do) and everything was great. They only work with the top people. They have a large dock where you can just sit and watch the ocean and all of the boats zooming by. We zipped into town on the convenient (although pricey) golf carts whenever we deisred. I have two teenagers (15 and 13) and they had a blast the entire time.

I have just a few minor nits. 1) The two hot tubs are tiny and weren't very clean. 2) Through no fault of theirs, the beach is small and there is lots of debris due to everything (both man-made and natural) washing up on shore. While the maintenance staff does a good job of cleaning up, it's hard to keep up with. Having said all this, if lounging around on a large, white sand beach is your idea of a great vacation, you wouldn't be choosing Ambergris Caye in the first place. 3) The place could really use an onsite (preferably beach side) shop where guests could rent snorkel gear, etc. 4) A fitness center (overlooking the ocean) would be great and should not be too much to ask for a place of this caliber. There is some wasted space near the beach which would be perfect for this.

The big downside, of course, with a place like this is the price. You can certainly stay elsewhere on the island for a lot less, and probably still come home and say you had a great trip. But if money is no object, and Ambergris Caye is your destination of choice, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiralDive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    101
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
284
219
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

The staff was great . . . very kind and helpful. The grounds are beautiful with several different pools to choose from. Cowboy Ron's serves great food and drinks, poolside. We walked from Grande Caribe south to the bridge to San Pedro and north about 2 miles, and Grande Caribe has BY FAR the best beach along this stretch of the island. The beach is clean, neatly groomed every morning by the diligent staff, and the water is clear.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OaklandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Time of our lives. Stayed in the beautiful 4 bedroom 4 bath condo. Great views, great service and beautiful rooms. Golf carts available to rent for a quick ride to town. Would go back every year if possible.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ssivert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our group of 4 couples found the perfect place. 4 bedrooms, each with private bath, large verandas and uninterrupted views if the Caribbean Sea. About a 15-20 minute cart ride in to San Pedro. Pool bar and restaurant is great, room service delivery is included, as is coffee, top of the line appliances, and even laundry service, no extrovert charge. Transportation to and from San Pedro airport is also included. God cart rental is available on site, same price as in town, but gas is included. Every picture on the website is accurate if not conservative. We will be back!

Room Tip: All units have great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcpc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Above and beyond our expectations. The Grand Caribe was the perfect place for us and our two college aged students. Very clean, great housekeeping service daily and laundry service! Beautiful pool area, always enough lounge chairs and privacy if you wanted to read or relax. Beautiful beach front and dock area. Able to walk/run on beach for miles in either direction. Ideally located from the city and all adventure. Golf cart and boat were are main forms of transportation. All restaurants were 4-5 stars and very casual, spent several evenings restaurant-hopping just to taste all the highly recommended restaurants. Even the restaurant on premise was great and the staff friendly and fun. The Grand Caribe offered expert concierge service for all trips we planned. Endless opportunity for activities: yoga, massage, snorkeling, boating/sailing, fishing, island hopping, remote beaches in walking distance or by boat, mainland adventure days, exploring island by golf cart, etc.
The people of Belize were so friendly and genuine, definitely would give 5 stars for hospitality.
We stayed 7 days, would recommend 10 days if you have the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddnnpecjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

For two weeks in December, 2012 I stayed in a one bedroom condo right on the beach. Just a few feet from the porch and I was in the water. The condo was as beautiful as the view. The staff was exceptional! Housekeeping called to ask each day when I wanted the place cleaned and even did my laundry for me. I did have a little trouble with the bar tab but it was quickly taken care of by the great staff. I will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: It looks like all the rooms face the ocean and the whole place was very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyZ543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

My family and I wanted a memorable family vacation over Christmas. I found the Grand Caribe online and booked it. The resort was beautiful, very clean and well run! The hotel booked all three tours that my family and I went on and they were all wonderful. We went on a catamaran snorkeling tour. Everything about the tour was top notch. We also went on a zip line , cave tubing and Mayan ruin tour which was exceptional. Our guide was George and he did an outstanding job. Lastly we had a full day of fishing and one snorkeling tour. The fishing was amazing. The five of us must have caught over a dozen fish then our guide, Luis, brought us to a small island where he cooked the fish along with potatoes, onions and pepper over an campfire. Our whole family wants to go back SOON! The resort is around one and a half miles from the center of town. At first we thought this might be a draw back but soon realized it was a plus. The center of town does have most of the night life and restaurants but along with that comes the noise from tourist and the small air planes that take off and land most of the day carrying passenger to and from the mainland. We rented a golf cart and drove it to the places we wanted to visit. The food at the Grand Caribe was very good but the drinks were pricey compared to other restaurants on the island. This was one of the most memorable and stress free vacations our family has ever experience and the Grand Caribe played a huge part in making it that way!! Thanks Karolyn M. from the Dallas, Texas area

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an Ocean view. We were in building C and had a great view of the ocean and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.8 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
5.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing