We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We just spent the month at Grand Caribe and found it to be a perfect location for us. The staff was excellent,several restaurants within walking distance along the beach, a quick water taxi or taxi ride into San Pedro. Melody helped us book several tours,Evelin took good care of our housekeeping needs and the staff at Cowboy Doug's were so friendly....Chee, Wendy, Charlotte, Ada and Sheena. We're very sad to be leaving tomorrow!

Stayed: February 2013
Thank agave43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

These condo units are very high end! A quiet place to stay to get away from the crowds. Our one bedroom on third floor overlooking the ocean was more than expected! We felt like newlyweds as the condo was decorated with red flower pedals! The king bed had a heart outline with pedals. We have traveled the world and not seen anymore friendly staff and friendly people of the island. Every request was immediately seen to. We enjoyed eating at Aji, Capicorn and Kama was very specail as well for evening meals and lunch at Rojo bar up the coast by water taxi.. HIghly recommend Grand Caribe as the best choice to stay and with the addition of a new restaurant and convenience store will be even nicer. If we decide to return it will be our choice again.i Amazing sailing and snorkeling trips!

Room Tip: enjoyed the view of the ocean unobstructed by resort grounds in building "H"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Just completed 2nd trip to Ambergris Caye and both stays were at Grand Caribe. Having traveled to multiple international locations, if you seek relaxation and being surrounded by people who want you to have a great experience and visit, this is the location. First, entering the country at Belize City International airport was a pleasure, absolutely no language barrier for this English speaking family. The trip to the water taxi was informative; the ride to Ambergris Caye was beautiful and the Island itself, very relaxing. Grand Caribe is beautiful, well appointed and staff focused on ensuring you enjoy your stay, without hassle. Did not look into a fitness center nor did we have young kids to explore needs. Both of our children are certified Divers and needless to say, the reef was exceptional. If you plan to dive, March thru May should have less wind to affect trips. Several Dive shops have larger boats to assist with higher winds but visibility will decrease. Diving in March was spectacular, Mid Feb ran into some higher wind conditions. Dive shops will pick you up at Grand Caribe's pier. Weather otherwise was exceptional on both trips. Multiple restaurants within walking distance with local flavor and very nice ie: Aji. Palapas over the water was a great escape for lunch and the short golf cart trip to town to sample Annie's Pastries or Wild Mango's Restaurant was well worth the time. Diving is "unBelizeable", water is absolutely beautiful and the local residents could not be more caring!!! If you wish to escape the stress of daily life and have a vacation, this Country / Island & Resort should be considered. I have no reason to consider Mexico when my experience in Belize has been so positive.

Room Tip: Our unit H1, was on the first floor, facing the reef and was 2 bedroom, EXCEPTIONAL. Sunrise was wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZweigMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The resort is pure luxury. The view is breathtaking, the service is better than we could have hoped for, the concierge service is top-notch and the room was perfect. We stayed here for 5 days and reserved our room through VRBO. the prices were more reasonable although still VERY expensive but the value is definitely there. Our unit was a one bedroom with a futon in the living room for our daughter. Their was in-room Wi-fi, laundry, fully appointed kitchen and a great soaking tub.

Other reviewers commented on the lack of a full restaurant which is true but the food we got from the pool bar was great and there are so many restaurants within walking distances that we didn't really notice the lack of restaurants. Definitely rent a golf cart for at least a few days to experience the whole island and bring a small flashlight for walking at night.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank CherieH741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in a 2 B/R on 2nd floor of A building and had beautiful views of the ocean from the balcony...we watched the sun rise every day with a cup of coffee on the balcony...the condo was very comfortable...staff and maid service was great...loved sitting at the pools and walking the beach...we have been coming to the island for many years and have many friends here so we knew to get a golf cart as we spent a lot of time going into town...the restaurant is lacking...found it expensive and not much choice...food appears to be mostly fried...it is the only restaurant I know that give pricing in US instead of Belize so be aware of that...for such a nice resort there should be a higher quality of restaurant,..and could also have a gift store and perhaps an exercise facility...but all in all we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikersue02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I had an awesome time at the Grand Caribe resort. The ammenities of the condo were top notch. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and very clean. Three pools overlooking the beach, were a great place to swim, suntan, read a book or swim up to the bar for a drink. The interior of the condo (we had a 2 bedroom) was beautiful with quality fixtures, archetectural detail and comfortable furnishings. With a fully stocked kitchen you may choose to do some of your own cooking. But with so many amazing restaurants within walking distance or in town, do you really want to? Rent a golf cart or take the water taxi to town where you will find the most delicious fresh fruit and fish you have ever tasted. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water. The two bedroom also had a pull out sofa bed for additional sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

From day one, the staff st Gran Caribe worked hard at making our daughter's Wedding perfect... From extra services in San Pedro (photographer, DJ, snorkeling/sailing, golf cars, etc.) to this great ambiance in knowing that every single resort employee knew about "our" wedding and with a smile delivered great service, paying attention to every detail (bonfire on the beach, seating our 38 guests seni-circle poolside while looking out at the ocean, great DJ with dancing, etc.) never seeming to be bothered by the many details. Isn't that what it's all about?! A Destination Wedding with the personal touches to make the day EASY and oh so special. We highly recommend the Gran Caribe.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £229 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing