We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed at the Grand Caribe on my recent trip to Belize. It is a great place to stay. We had a one bedroom condo overlooking the pool and beach. Very comfortable room has a full kitchen and sitting area. Two TV's and WI FI in the room. Air condition works real well and ceiling fans also.

Now the complex has one bar/ grill and it is very small. Good food nice proportions but can get very busy. During my stay one bartender and one cook. Now I was there during the off season I guess for a wedding there were 38 of us and we kept them hoping. Room service was call in and go pick up. No other bars or restaurants on property! On day we got groceries and then mad slight snacks during the day. It is near other restaurants and bars short walk north or south on the beach.

I and my wife loved the place and would recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abjamesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Beautiful property with magnificent views overlooking the pools and the ocean. The staff is great. Nicely appointed rooms and kitchen. Since you are north of San Pedro, the beach was very quiet when we were there in May. You are only a golf cart ride to town for many restaurant options and there are several great options north of the resort.

Room Tip: The views are beautiful on upper floors, but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 129thecatsmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had an excellent one week stay at Grand Caribe on Ambergris Caye over New Year. We stayed in a wonderful 3 bedroom apartment on the 3rd (top) floor, with a beautiful Ocean view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave excellent advice over the internet prior to our visit, booked various day trips in advance and were wonderful throughout our stay. The resort is about 2 miles from San Pedro town centre and has its own boat dock, so it can be reached by water taxi or it can be reached by golf cart down a bumpy lane. The resort organized a golf cart rental during our stay and the cart was ready to use as soon as we checked in.

We actually had a flat tyre on the cart on New Year's Eve and parked it a quarter of a mile from the hotel down the bumpy lane. Before I could call reception the next morning, they called me to say that they had noticed the problem and our golf cart had been repaired and was in the resort parking lot available for use!

We made a number of day trips with local companies organized by the resort. I would recommend all of them including snorkeling on the reef, river trip to the Mayan ruins at Laminai, cave tubing, Belize Zoo and a private air charter to fly over the Blue Hole. All of these trips were excellent and in most cases we were picked up by boat at the on-site boat dock.

The resort is quiet with limited facilities but it has a nice large pool and a poolside bar which serves some meals. The hotel will also purchase and deliver groceries to the apartment on request. There is a lovely tapas bar and restaurant at an adjacent resort which is only a short walk away and a good selection of restaurants in San Pedro. One highlight was a meal at the Mambo restaurant a few miles up the coast, which included a beautiful starlit boat trip to and from the resort.

We would definitely recommend a holiday at the Grand Caribe resort in Belize.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor apartment in building A, with Ocean View. It is high enough to have a beautiful oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enthusiasticandfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Grand Caribe. The hotel is beautiful and by far the best and biggest pool on the beach. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We simply told them what we wanted to do and they booked everything for us in a matter of just a few minutes. The Grand Caribe also has the best views of the ocean than any other resort that we could tell. Cowboys Bar and Grill was a great place to get a drink and the food was very good. You will want to try other places to eat along the beach though. We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Try to stay on at least the third floor for by far the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COOPERfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The facilities and staff could not have been more wonderful! We loved the location and views. Planning our dive trips was very easy as we were picked up at the dock on property every day. There was only one draw back and that was the food was rather poor. It was easy to find very good dining in town and the grand caribe staff was extremely helpful with he recommendations. I would recommend this property to my friends.

Room Tip: We had a three bedroom unit in e third floor ocean front. Great location! There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Spending time at Grand Caribe was a big jump for me because I've always stayed in San Pedro town. My vacation "north" could not have been better!

The staff at this resort is eager to please and always there to make sure your every need is met. I stayed in a room on the 3rd floor with 2 girlfriends so we had luggage to carry up the stairs that is only comprehensible to the poor, albeit friendly, man that had to drag each piece up all 3 flights.

The 2 bedroom condo we "lived" in for a week was completely immaculate with every amenity you could imagine.

This was my 7th trip to San Pedro and finding this beautiful, fun, laid-back property north of my comfort zone was a blessing in disguise! If you have the opportunity to stay here - DO IT! You will have the best vacation imaginable!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view so you can't go wrong. No elevator so if you have tons of luggage lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riccim1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My fiancee and I took a week long trip to Belize in early September 2012, and I can not say enough wonderful things about our vacation! After a lot of research, we decided to stay at the Grand Caribe Resort, in an oceanfront one bed room condo, and it was the best vacation experience that we have ever had! The location was PERFECT! It was a close golf cart ride into San Pedro, but also remote enough where you felt like you were away from the town. The staff was absolutely wonderful, so helpful and accomodating. The rooms were gorgeous, and the view was absolutely paradise. The resort pool has a swim up bar, where we spent a lot of our lounging time, and we met so many wonderful people there! Overall, the only negative that we have about the experience at Grand Caribe was that we didn't stay long enough! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone considering visiting Ambergris Caye.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth it to splurge and get the beach front condos. They are steps away from the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,000 reviews
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £231 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing