We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room is nice but thats about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room is nice but thats about it!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I recently went to stay at the Grand Caribe Resort in San Pedro and was very pleased with the room we stayed in. The owner of the condo was friendly and they had done all they could to make our trip enjoyable (which it was).

I do have some issues with this place though… First and foremost was the "restaurant" or swim up bar… The place is called "Cowboy Doug's" and its not too bad at first. The prices are reasonable and the food isn't bad. On our last night at the place the Cowboy Doug himself was there and he tried to take advantage of my wife while I wasn't there! He tried to get her incapacitated in the pool at the swim up bar which is outrages and very dangerous!

Other than Cowboy Doug, the service was very good though.

The other issues I have with this place is the hot tub was WAY to hot to get in one night and way too cold the next night.

The location of this place is not good… It is located 2 miles outside of town which is very inconvenient if/when you want to go to town to do more. You can rent a golf cart but not only is it fairly expensive, there is a toll bridge you have to cross when going to and from the hotel. You can rent bikes as well but be very careful riding at night because the roads going to/from the hotel are unpaved and there are no lights.

I would not recommend staying at this location. The rooms are not enough to make up for all the problems with this place (besides, why stay inside when you are on your vacation?) I think there are better places to stay on that island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    102
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
296
225
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The staff at Grand Caribe is by far the best and most friendly we have experienced in our many travels especially those to the Caribbean. The staff was excellent in helping us book on line They even booked our flight from Belize City to Ambergris Caye. Our room was a 1 bedroom with a view of the ocean. The rooms are excellent and have Wi-Fi in the room and various places around the resort. You can book any activity that you would want to do on site including renting a golf cart to travel around the island (this is the normal means of transportation.) The room was very comfortable with a complete kitchen. There is a restaurant and pool bar on site that is excellent as well called Cowboy Doug's (see reviews). There are 4 different pools and 2 hot tubs to enjoy as well. You don't have to leave the resort if you choose not to. If you like to dive the various dive companies will pick you up right on the Grand Caribe pier. Highly recommend a stay at this place. We would go back in a heart beat!!!

Room Tip: If you need an elevator ask for main building as other buildings do not have elevators. This was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed at the Grand Caribe on my recent trip to Belize. It is a great place to stay. We had a one bedroom condo overlooking the pool and beach. Very comfortable room has a full kitchen and sitting area. Two TV's and WI FI in the room. Air condition works real well and ceiling fans also.

Now the complex has one bar/ grill and it is very small. Good food nice proportions but can get very busy. During my stay one bartender and one cook. Now I was there during the off season I guess for a wedding there were 38 of us and we kept them hoping. Room service was call in and go pick up. No other bars or restaurants on property! On day we got groceries and then mad slight snacks during the day. It is near other restaurants and bars short walk north or south on the beach.

I and my wife loved the place and would recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abjamesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Beautiful property with magnificent views overlooking the pools and the ocean. The staff is great. Nicely appointed rooms and kitchen. Since you are north of San Pedro, the beach was very quiet when we were there in May. You are only a golf cart ride to town for many restaurant options and there are several great options north of the resort.

Room Tip: The views are beautiful on upper floors, but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 129thecatsmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had an excellent one week stay at Grand Caribe on Ambergris Caye over New Year. We stayed in a wonderful 3 bedroom apartment on the 3rd (top) floor, with a beautiful Ocean view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave excellent advice over the internet prior to our visit, booked various day trips in advance and were wonderful throughout our stay. The resort is about 2 miles from San Pedro town centre and has its own boat dock, so it can be reached by water taxi or it can be reached by golf cart down a bumpy lane. The resort organized a golf cart rental during our stay and the cart was ready to use as soon as we checked in.

We actually had a flat tyre on the cart on New Year's Eve and parked it a quarter of a mile from the hotel down the bumpy lane. Before I could call reception the next morning, they called me to say that they had noticed the problem and our golf cart had been repaired and was in the resort parking lot available for use!

We made a number of day trips with local companies organized by the resort. I would recommend all of them including snorkeling on the reef, river trip to the Mayan ruins at Laminai, cave tubing, Belize Zoo and a private air charter to fly over the Blue Hole. All of these trips were excellent and in most cases we were picked up by boat at the on-site boat dock.

The resort is quiet with limited facilities but it has a nice large pool and a poolside bar which serves some meals. The hotel will also purchase and deliver groceries to the apartment on request. There is a lovely tapas bar and restaurant at an adjacent resort which is only a short walk away and a good selection of restaurants in San Pedro. One highlight was a meal at the Mambo restaurant a few miles up the coast, which included a beautiful starlit boat trip to and from the resort.

We would definitely recommend a holiday at the Grand Caribe resort in Belize.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor apartment in building A, with Ocean View. It is high enough to have a beautiful oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiasticandfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Grand Caribe. The hotel is beautiful and by far the best and biggest pool on the beach. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We simply told them what we wanted to do and they booked everything for us in a matter of just a few minutes. The Grand Caribe also has the best views of the ocean than any other resort that we could tell. Cowboys Bar and Grill was a great place to get a drink and the food was very good. You will want to try other places to eat along the beach though. We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Try to stay on at least the third floor for by far the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COOPERfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The facilities and staff could not have been more wonderful! We loved the location and views. Planning our dive trips was very easy as we were picked up at the dock on property every day. There was only one draw back and that was the food was rather poor. It was easy to find very good dining in town and the grand caribe staff was extremely helpful with he recommendations. I would recommend this property to my friends.

Room Tip: We had a three bedroom unit in e third floor ocean front. Great location! There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing