We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This place was a let down from the small botique hotel we stayed in near San Ignacio. This hotel is about 2 miles from town so you have to rent a golf cart to get around. The road to town is terrible. The condo we stayed in was nice. The pool area has very little shade and people put towels on chairs early morning but don't use those chairs until much later. This place would be better if it was self contained but you have to go to town to get food. There is a pool bar that also serves food, but the prices are very high compared to places in town. I would not come back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    103
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
312
233
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband & 2.5 year old came here for a wedding this past weekend and we are still here. We weren't sure what to expect when coming to this island or the resort and let me say this, it is/was wonderful! The staff has been nothing but kind, gracious and very helpful. The pool area was so much fun for our little guy, the food was outstanding and the beautiful blue ocean out of our deck was amazing to look at everyday. The only bad thing I have to say, is the trash that would wash up to the small beach shoreline, but their staff did everything they could on a daily basis to rake everything away. It is still a third world area so keep that in mind. The pina colada's at the bar were the best on the island and on Sunday {today} they did a wonderful BBQ lunch that was to die for! I would come back here in 5 mins with my little guy and family anytime! It is a gem of a place.

I would recommend renting the golf cart, the grocery store was very easy to get too and it was nice to have it when we needed to take trips. We also drank water out of the fridge that was filtered, there was no issues with that.

The restaurant we went to down the road, Ak Bul was amazing and the Papalua bar was a blast! I highly recommend this to anyone...

Room Tip: We stayed in D6 a 2 bedroom Condo and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyKarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent a week with another couple in a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo that was on the beach front with beautiful views of the turquoise water and swaying palms. You can rent a golf cart by the hour, day or week or rent bikes if you want the exercise to ride into town. We relaxed around the three pools, laid in hammocks under palms and tried as many restaurants on the water as we could fit in during our stay. Kayaks are cheap to rent by the day or half day and the staff will make
arrangements for any kind of excursion you want to try during your stay. Gallons of water are available at the front desk, laundry is complimentary, room service is available and they will help arrange any kind of special event or dinner you may decide to have there. Very friendly people there and all over the island.

Room Tip: We were in A3 on the bottom floor with no room on one side of us and with the best view possible. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom condo that was very nicely funished. We had a beautiful balcony view. The only downside is that we were on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator. The staff was excellet, and we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask if there is an elevator in your building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1422Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a 2 bedroom condo. Rooms, pool, and big private beach were all very nice -- 4+ star stuff. Downsides: It's 2 miles north of the bridge, so way out of town (tolerable if the road has been recently graded), so you're not in the 'mix' of activity by any means. This is made worse by the fact that it doesn't really have its own restaurant per se (it has an outdoor beach bar with food). So even thought it's very slick and nice, it'll seem a little generic (like you may as well be in Destin?) if you don't get out and about quite a bit. Also: No fitness center. Service was often great; but a few times very slow.

Room Tip: All units are 3 stories tall, with about 3 condos per floor. Everybody's got a pool and beach v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

By far the best my wife and I have ever stay in 40 yrs. We were in the ocean front property and every morning our 1st word was WOW. Unbelievable room, friendly and courteous staff, everything top of the line. Couldn't ask for anything better

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The view is spectacular. Our condo had everything. Front desk was helpful. Loved the location. The grill was a bit expensive. Beautiful pool and lots of lounge chairs. Loved the daily maid service and laundry done. We were truly in paradise.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank scubachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
8.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing