We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was heaven.”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
28 reviews
Villa 5 Bedrooms 5 Bathrooms Sleeps 11 Pets allowed Save
The front verandas overlook the private beach and waves breaking on the reef.
The front verandas overlook the private beach and waves breaking on the reef.
The three lower bedrooms have french doors which open to the pool and sea breeze.
The private pool has a fountain from versille and a bench with a table in the far nook.
The private beach features a 3ft. tall chess set, volleyball, hammocks, lounge chairs, and dock.
The view from the Pelicans Nest allows you to survey the island, it\'s beautiful sunsets, and birds.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annie O
Lehi, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
It was heaven.
2
people found this review helpful

Loved loved loved this place. The location was amazing. The house was lovely (a bit dated with a few quirks) but lovely. Two things stand out: 1. the view was to die for 2. Maria, the cook, is FABULOUS. Great food, very friendly, very accommodating. And her two assistants were fun and helpful.

Rent a golf cart to get around--it's a few miles from town. Use Carlos of Suya Tours. Don't go if you're afraid of crocs and tarantulas.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandiegoz...
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
We loved the whole experience!

Our extended family of 10 conspired to celebrate Mother's 75th birthday and boy did we enjoy ourselves. None of us had ever had been to Belize, rented a large home on the beach, or ever had a vacation with a cook on hand- it was marvelous!! The property was in excellent condition and the maintained daily, just like a hotel. We had a ready connection with a tour company- Suya Tours- whose rep came right to the home to coordinate snorkeling, diving, and sight-seeing tours daily. They definitely took care of our multiple needs- from expert divers to first timers and from watersports to Mayan ruin explorations. We loved the home and each room was unique, beautiful, and fully functional including the nighttime air conditioning. THe real coupe de grace was having Ms Maria cook each meal for us- each was very satisfying and tasty- and accommodating some custom tastes for bland loving kids, etc. Ah, and having someone else do the dishes- a true vacation!! We would love to return on another special occasion. Thank you to all the behind the scenes contributors to our wonderful vacation. Everyone in town knew about the quality of Casa Tortuga Villa.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Ms Maria, the cook and housekeeper
Liked least: had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drkeeney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012 for a stay in December 2011
Relax in pampered luxury
2
people found this review helpful

Gorgeous villa, just a few minutes from "downtown" San Pedro. Very private, with LOTS of room. Each bedroom has its own bath, four of them have ocean views. Wonderful food and the staff can take care of any arrangements for trips you amy want to take. While there is not a lot of traditional sandy beach on Ambergris, the pool area looks out onto the water. and there is plenty of room for kids to play in the sandy area. The water is quite shallow and safe for the kids to play in as well. While it is an expensive villa, you get what you pay for in terms of the amenities, fine furniture and beddings.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The villa itself
Liked least: the beaches of Ambergris (and in most of Belize for that matter) in general are not the clean white sands of Florida or elsewhere in the Caribbean. But you are behind the reef, which is the big reason to be there!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Dakota
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$995
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.