We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mario6525
Cambria, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FAMILY VACATION IN BELIZE”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Like most vacation destinations, there are pluses and negatives. So let's get the negatives out of the way first. The villa is on the Mosquito coast which is appropriately named, especially when the off shore brezzes are not blowing. The villa has all the amenities you would expect but is a bit "tired" and in need of an upgrade to go 5 star. One of the disappointments for our younger set is that they could not swim in the ocean. Belize is fighting a battle against an ocean grass that is inundating the coastline and rotting in the sun. Fortunately, Casa Tortuga has a protected beach area as well as a wonderful swimming pool.......Try the pool volleyball for a really fun time. Everyone raves about Maria and her cooking skills and we would all agree that she made each meal a delicious and surprising delight. Thank you Maria!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
We are so happy you enjoyed Casa Tortuga and all of its amenities including, of course, Maria's fabulous cooking! Thank you for letting us know about the seaweed. This is a short and unique problem brought on by natural weather patterns and ocean currents and will move through quickly. We hope you were able to use the deeper and wide swimming area at the end of the dock. Having Carlos pick you up at our dock and take you on the 4 minute boat ride straight out to the reef, where all the fish and coral are, is very convenient as well.

Casa Tortuga is a very unique villa featuring antiques and treasures from around the world. The fountain in the pool is from Versailles. We have tables, stoneware, panels, carvings and artwork that we have brought from France, Germany, Italy, India, Bali, Nepal and China. The local woodworkers have handcrafted much of the furniture outside as well as all of the custom cabinets, windows and doors. The stained glass, chandeliers and canopy beds contribute to an authentic grand estate, a collection 25 years in the making, which we feel sets Casa Tortuga apart from some of the standard streamlined rooms you may find elsewhere. All of the bedrooms enjoy modern amenities such as flat screened TVs and beautiful fresh linens. Exciting new additions have helped keep the villa fun for returning clients such as the 150 foot entrance wall with 12 foot tall gates, the large beach gazebo and the king canopy beach bed draped in white.

Sharing the beauty of Belize and Casa Tortuga Villa has been such a joy for us. We hope your trip was filled with the adventures and fun you shared with your group. Thank you again.

Warm regards,
Peggy Mason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S
Marion, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

One of the most relaxing vacations ever. There are not enough words to praise Maria and her staff. They were so accommodating about any request. Would recommend flying from Belize City to San Pedro instead of the 2 hr water taxi ride. Well worth the extra expense.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Loved all of it. The meals were five star!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kris B
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was unbelievable!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We just spent 7 days at the best resort house on the island. The house itself with it's immenities were exactly what we needed and Maria the cook/maid/bartender/all around fantastic whatever you needed assistant was the best. She gave us what we asked for and then some. Her cooking was fantastic and we had great conversations with her as well. The house was well kept and up to date with free wifi and sits right on the beach. Carlos of Suya Tours was also incredible and gave us three different excursions that included the best snorkeling and a day worth of spear fishing, snorkeling and diving with a picnic after that included the fish caught that day on a private island. We were a short golf cart ride away from town and enjoyed lattes at the new Rum and Bean just down the road. I cannot say enough about the house, the cook and the tours. Ten of us had the best vacation we could have asked for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to pick just one
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcarleton...
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Polar vortex: only a vague memory.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a perfect week at Casa Tortuga. Our family group of 3 couples and 5 boys (ages 7 - 15) were easily accommodated in this large, beautiful oceanside home. The amenities of Casa Tortuga were absolutely first rate, but best of all was the wonderful food and service of our private chef Maria and her team. We did not want to leave ...ever!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie O
Lehi, Utah, United States
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was heaven.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Loved loved loved this place. The location was amazing. The house was lovely (a bit dated with a few quirks) but lovely. Two things stand out: 1. the view was to die for 2. Maria, the cook, is FABULOUS. Great food, very friendly, very accommodating. And her two assistants were fun and helpful.

Rent a golf cart to get around--it's a few miles from town. Use Carlos of Suya Tours. Don't go if you're afraid of crocs and tarantulas.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing