We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best local art you will find on the island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belizean Melody Art Gallery

Belizean Melody Art Gallery
Ranked #16 of 48 things to do in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Belizean Melody Art Gallery was founded in 2008 by Melody Sanchez Wolfe a native of Ambergris Caye. It's a small art Gallery with original art work by various local artists and locally made crafts. Everything is made in Belize and unique. Melody the owner also does paint parties for adults and children you can come into the gallery and paint at the "paint bar" by appointments or join her at every Thursday at 2p.m at Crazy Canuck's. Come into the Gallery and custom order Christmas oranments, paintings, mugs, pillow cases and much more.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best local art you will find on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

When you walk thru san pedro you will notice quickly that all the street vendors selling 'local hand made' stuff, are all selling the exact same things. While some of it is in fact local, most is just crap jewelry from china. That is absolutely NOT the case with this gallery. Conveniently located on front street, this place has a little bit of everything. Tons of different styles of arts, crafts. Its easily my favorite place to shop on the island for gifts for back home. I have a giant painting the gallery owner Melody made herself; hangs high and proud in my condo. I really cant say enough good about this place. She is a VERY talented person and houses other very talented LOCAL artists.

This is a must stop in san pedro.

AC

ps. Try to ignore Jan B's ridiculous snobbish post, unbelievable. Go there yourself and you will understand why.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank aaronchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
212 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A lovely gallery with excellent local art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Visited a couple of times and bought a wonderful bright painting. The art is from talented local artists, different and reflective of carribean and local themes and well chosen. It is a cooperative of many local artists run by a very nice and knowledgable artist, Melody. Definitely worth stopping, enjoying and buying

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Unique Souvenirs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We visited San Pedro in Oct 2012 and found Melody's to have great Belizean souvenirs that you cannot find in any of the other stores. If you are looking for something unique to take home, I highly recommend that you stop by here :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ili507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Our first visit to San Pedro was like many other trips to the Caribbean; lots of shops selling the same trinkets, likely made in China. We came across Melody's art gallery and immediately realized this is what we were looking for. The small store is filled with a wide variety of art from local artists (Melody's included). Melody happened to be there. She was incredibly nice and informative. We purchased a few locally made spices/marinades (no artificial preservatives!), an awesome piece made from butterfly wings gathered from a butterfly farm on the mainland, a print from a Melody original, and a hand painted seashell magnet (also made by Melody). We spent a decent amount of time talking with Melody. She really wants to get her Christmas ornaments moving, as she mentioned them to us a few times. Perhaps we will purchase one when we return to her shop later in the week (we've decided to purchase more art as gifts). She offered a final piece of advice before we left, visit Dis and That Burger, right around the corner from her shop. She said the food was very reasonably priced, and that they have the best rice and beans on the island. She was 100% correct. Thanks Melody, we'll see you again soon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Genuine Belizean Artwork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Recently bought 2 pieces of art from Belizean Melody - a painting by Melody and a butterfly wing abstract from another artist. The store is a great collective of local artists that are not just prints of the same 5 paintings you see in all of the other galleries and gift shops. (The sunset, the boats docked, thatched huts, and Mayan women) The artwork in here was unique and were actual paintings, jewelry, and crafts.

Melody creates her art and works the shop simultaneously. We went into the shop twice - once at the beginning of our stay to check it out and once at the end to purchase the art we saw earlier in the week. Both times she was extremely friendly and could tell she was passionate about the art and the community of local artists. Not only does she work on her art and run the store, but she is integral in trying to bring together the Ambergris art community and bring their work to the world. She also works with children to get them involved in it.

The artwork on display was great and the icing on the cake was knowing that we were helping to support a fantastic business and artist dedicated to the community and local art scene.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil_SJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belizean Melody Art Gallery also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Belizean Melody Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing