We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Central”

Lone Star Grill & Cantina
Ranked #49 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Come down to the Lone Star for some great Tex Mex, Gringo Favorites and some fresh seafood. The Gringo Favorites include items like the Texas Fried Steak, burgers, salads, chicken fingers and more. The seafood includes fish, lobster (while in season) and shrimp. The portions are large and nobody will leave hungry. You'll love every bite!
Canby, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality Central”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed just across the street from this place so it became our local watering hole and eatery. Mark the owner and his staff are amazing and accomodating. We had a pre-wedding beach BBQ for about 20 friends and family and Lone Star had the most amazing Key Lime Pie and a Chocolet Rum Cake we picked up to serve...Odd thing was between the resturant and me getting back to the condo (about 300 feet) a piece of the pie went MIA. Not sure what happened!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2much2doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi 2much2doo we were happy to help out with the desserts for the wedding. You're not the first to mysteriously lose a piece of dessert from the restaurant! It was nice getting to know you, hopefully we'll see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    74
    35
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising find south of San Pedro”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were just out cruising in the golf cart when we stumbled upon the Lone Star Grill and since we are from Texas, we just had to stop in. Very nice, clean and quaint place. We were the only people in the place (around 3:30 in the afternoon) so we got to have a great conversation with the owner (Mark, I believe) who is originally from Ottawa. This was our 4th trip to San Pedro and we have found quite a few nice places that we try to visit each trip, Lone Star will be one of our top destinations when we go back next year!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sotexcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
sotexcpl it was nice meeting you all in the restaurant. We particularly appreciate hearing good things from Texans such as yourselves who enjoy the Lone Star. We look forward to your visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wow, i stopped by and eat twice at the Lone Star, the food was great. i visited with Mark and the staff for a long time. What a great place, nothing but the best. Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visits at the Lone Star Grill & Cantina dave n. We do our best to make people feel welcome when they arrive to the restaurant. Thanks for coming to the Lone Star we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must Go!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The Lone Star quickly became our favorite restaurant on the island for several reasons. We loved spending time with the owners, Marc and Leann, who went above and beyond helping us while we were visiting. The food was delicious (still craving more ceviche and avocado salad) and Jaime's margaritas cannot be beat. Of course it didn't hurt having adorable Gracie around either. I highly recommend Lone Star to anyone visiting San Pedro!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ris47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
It was our pleasure having you in the restaurant Ris47. Jaime's drinks seem to be a favourite with most people that come to the Lone Star and try them. We'd definitely like to see you back for the Ceviche and Avocado Salad when you return to the island. Thanks for posting your comments about your experience at the Lone Star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sports Bar and Grill”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This place is tucked away on the south side of town. It's signs out front draw you in if you are a sports fanatic! They had the basketball playing and so we got to watch our own Dallas Mavericks while we ate. The owners dog was very friendly and happily accepted a few French fries. Huge portions and awesome food!

Helpful?
Thank Melton9709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Melton9079 thanks for coming to the Lone Star for a meal. Most people that come to the restaurant meet our dog, Gracie, and really seem to take a shining to her just like you did. In the future if you'd like to book the big screen for an event ahead of time, we'd be happy to accommodate. Thanks a lot for your review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed the food…… the main reason why most people come to the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Grill & Cantina also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Lone Star Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing