We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Friendly Staff”

Lone Star Grill & Cantina
Ranked #52 of 185 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Come down to the Lone Star for some great Tex Mex, Gringo Favorites and some fresh seafood. The Gringo Favorites include items like the Texas Fried Steak, burgers, salads, chicken fingers and more. The seafood includes fish, lobster (while in season) and shrimp. The portions are large and nobody will leave hungry. You'll love every bite!
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I found this restaurant to have excellent food and the biggest portions on the island!
It's a bit of a drive from town south but completely worth it. The owners, Marc and Leanne, are extremely friendly and take the time to make sure everything is ok with the meals and service.
I had a couple of the chicken dishes during my stay and they were great. For lunch one day I had the hamburger which was one of the best I've had in a long time.
Awesome place to go to if you want to watch any kind of sporting event as they have a huge screen tv.
And of course little gracie coming around was cute.
Highly recommend trying this restaurant if you are on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for visiting the Lone Star while on your vacation to Ambergris Caye Jeff S. Many of the customers in the restaurant have complimented the hamburgers served at the restaurant. Gracie's also been a big hit with the patrons in the restaurant. Many people on vacation express how they miss their own dogs and are happy to get their dog fix while away from home. Hope to see you return to the Lone Star in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    73
    34
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Just so so on the southern end of the Island”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the Lone Star our first night on the island as it is in close proximity to where we were staying. Our server was very friendly and had jokes to share. I ordered the chicken quesadilla. It came with beans and rice. I liked the tomato infused rice, the refried beans were good, but the whole beans my friend ordered were delicious! nice and spicy!! As for the quesadillas, they were just so so. To describe them in one word... bland! The crunch tacos were also nothing to write home about. The price in my opinion was more expensive than I expected $6.00 US for the quesadilla. To be honest however, I am finding that most of the restaurant prices here are comparable with US prices. I guess I had hopped they would be a little lower. Oh, and watch out for little rocks in your beans!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ansje55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your review Ansje55. We're happy to hear you enjoyed several of the items you ate at the Lone Star Grill & Cantina. In the future if you decide to visit the Lone Star for another meal we can recommend adding various sides or meal items to better suit your taste buds. The servers would be happy to help. Thanks for dining at the Lone Star we hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality Central”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed just across the street from this place so it became our local watering hole and eatery. Mark the owner and his staff are amazing and accomodating. We had a pre-wedding beach BBQ for about 20 friends and family and Lone Star had the most amazing Key Lime Pie and a Chocolet Rum Cake we picked up to serve...Odd thing was between the resturant and me getting back to the condo (about 300 feet) a piece of the pie went MIA. Not sure what happened!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2much2doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi 2much2doo we were happy to help out with the desserts for the wedding. You're not the first to mysteriously lose a piece of dessert from the restaurant! It was nice getting to know you, hopefully we'll see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising find south of San Pedro”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were just out cruising in the golf cart when we stumbled upon the Lone Star Grill and since we are from Texas, we just had to stop in. Very nice, clean and quaint place. We were the only people in the place (around 3:30 in the afternoon) so we got to have a great conversation with the owner (Mark, I believe) who is originally from Ottawa. This was our 4th trip to San Pedro and we have found quite a few nice places that we try to visit each trip, Lone Star will be one of our top destinations when we go back next year!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sotexcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
sotexcpl it was nice meeting you all in the restaurant. We particularly appreciate hearing good things from Texans such as yourselves who enjoy the Lone Star. We look forward to your visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wow, i stopped by and eat twice at the Lone Star, the food was great. i visited with Mark and the staff for a long time. What a great place, nothing but the best. Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visits at the Lone Star Grill & Cantina dave n. We do our best to make people feel welcome when they arrive to the restaurant. Thanks for coming to the Lone Star we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Grill & Cantina also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Lone Star Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing