We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had to wait almost an hour!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ali Baba

Ali Baba
Ranked #141 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Had to wait almost an hour!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

It was nothing wrong with the food really, just a bit small portions. But we had to wait almost an hour for our food and it was just the two of us there! It was just a bit weird.... No service minded staff at all. Just keep walking past this place and you'll get a better experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olssonmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    13
    7
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average rotisserie chicken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

While others have had a lot of bad experiences with the restaurant, I found the place to be very average. The owner was friendly, the time to get our food was reasonable and the prices fair. The hummus I found was actually pretty good, but their famous rotisserie chicken was pretty dry. There's certainly nothing wrong with grabbing a meal here for lunch or dinner, but you can probably do better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome rotiserrie chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My 7 year old grand daughter is a picky eater, and even she loved it. She also says their french fries are the best. My son had the falafel and thought it was delicious. People are friendly. But everything (except the chickens), are cooked to order, so expect to wait a little for your beans and rice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Strange experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stopped here for dinner on our first night in Belize. After walking for a while in the heat, we decided to try this place. The menu seemed decent, until we ordered and were told that they were out of falaffel sandwiches. We decided on the hummus platter and french fries. The food was average. I used the restroom and it seemed a bit sketchy. There was a shower in there, and no paper towels or anything to wipe your hands after you wash them. It's not a fancy place, but if you're looking for a quick bite, then this could work. I know they offer hookah, but I wouldn't recommend it. They are placed along the patio of this restaurant and don't look very clean.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinyAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lesson learned”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Ok - like someone else who reviewed this place, we read about this restaurant in the Lonely Planet guide. Being vegetarian, I'm a big fan of middle eastern food and being that this place was close to where we were staying (Ramon's) we decided to go.

NO NO NO!!! We should have read the reviews on TripAdvisor!!!

This place was sketchy, slow and terribly overpriced. I ordered the vegetarian plate. My husband ordered the chicken. It took us nearly an hour to get our food. When it did come, there was a thin smear of hummus, thin smear of baba ganoush, green salad and cole slaw. No falafal, no tabouli. One piece of pita cut up into small pieces that my husband and I were to share. That alone cost BZ $25. No - seriously.

My husband said the chicken was dry.

We were also told about the mythical 20 take out orders as to why our food was late.
Please do yourself a favor and skip this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacAttack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Baba also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing