We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven on earth”
Review of Cayo Espanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cayo Espanto
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The most amazing vacation for relaxation and service that goes above and beyond , we stayed in casa ventanas on the water and wow it was amazing the service was the best we have ever experienced anywhere in the world, food was outstanding in every way , the staff and facility's are world class and this place is definitely a must stay if there's anywhere you must go this is it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlKayvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is an amazing place for a vacation. If you want rest and relaxation this is the best place I can think of to spend your time. You will be pampered and waited on and their is no request to small or insignifcant for the staff to fulfill. We went kayacking, snorkeling, fishing and had in room massages. This is truly a great vacation and we will return. Everything is provided except sun screen so that is all you really need to pack along with some beach clothes. You can actually stay in the robe that is provided if that is what you want. They have an IPAD in every room that you can use and wi-fi if you need to keep in touch (we work so we need access to the internet). The food is wonderful and they cooked the fish we caught and served it to us for lunch. It was delicious. Is it costly - you get what you pay for. We will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Brisas and we loved the room but you cannot pick a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank realpeopleLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our second time staying at Cayo Espanto. This time we had our 20-month old son and 6-year old daughter with. We stayed in Casa Aurora, which had a fantastic layout for our family. The kids had their own bedroom off the living area, which helped create space, and the pool was huge! We were so impressed with how willing the staff was to help with our kids. We really enjoyed the private beach movie theater the staff set up for us to watch while eating our dinner (the kids picked the little mermaid!). Guest services even took care of our children while we had a much needed couples massage! The food, atmosphere and staff are out of this world! We couldn't have asked for a better vacation, and can't wait to come back. Thank you Eddie, Edwardo, Erika, Ester, Chef Richard and Felix for making our vacation truly magical!

Room Tip: Casa Aurora, a two-bed, two-bath villa, has the largest pool on the island! Great for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Total luxury at it's finest. Be prepared to be totally pampered from the moment you arrive until your departure The food is outstanding and prepared to your taste by Executice Chef Patrick and Chef Richard. The service is world class. Worth every dollar.

We were able to totally relax. The staff handled everything and even anticipated our desires. Thank you Obed, Jesus, Ester and staff.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Kenmar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Breathtaking is the best way to describe Cayo Espanto. From the moment we were greeted at the airport by Emilio and taken by boat to the island, we felt like royalty. We stayed in the smallest villa- Casa Solana. It was perfect, every Angle of the villa is surrounded by water. There is a plunge pool which was welcomed during the heat of the day. If you are looking for a secluded island with nothing to do but relax and be pampered, this is the place for you. We would rise at 7 am every morning and open every side of the villa and have the breeze blow through. Breakfast was served at a time suggested by us, you can order anything you like, whether it's on the menu or not! The rest of the day we lay in the sun, soaked in the pool and ate great food. There were times when we felt like we could not eat another meal. It seemed like as soon as you had finished a meal, your chef stopped by to discuss your menu for the remainder of the day. You have your own houseman, we had Emilio and Eduardo. Eduardo was in training and very nice, but Emilio was outstanding. If you need anything you radio him and he will assist you with anything you need. They work 13 hour days but you would never know it as they are always professional, have a smile on their face and go above and beyond. A four course dinner was served every night. Emilio and Eduardo would set up the table at a different location of our villa. Candles, lanterns and flowers were used to create a romantic setting as well as drawing flowers and and hearts in the sand. It seemed like just as you thought it couldn't get any better they would do something to amaze us again!

We couldn't imagine anything topping this resort and are planning our return later in the year. Truly an experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: Casa Solana is the smallest villa. Surrounded by water with a plunge pool. Located on the west sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

After marrying in Sydney, we went to Cayo Epanto for our honeymoon on the way back to the Uk. We chose Casa Brisa and it was amazing! The food was out of this world, the service from our houseman and all the staff was second to none and we could not have wished for more! The whole experience from arrival to departure made us feel thoroughly spoilt! A perfect honeymoon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rubixc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Cayo Espanto is a wondrous place to relax, unwind, feel totally pampered, and just spoilt. Glenda and in particular Eddie and Jesus, as well as the rest of the team looked after all of our requests and made us feel like rock stars (without the need to smash up the villa). Idilic ! Value for money.... You bet ! Our wedding was stunning and totally individual to us..... Where else do you get a menu choice ade for you, and a separate one for your other half too? Great

Room Tip: Mañana was fab but all the villas seem to be unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
12.1 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
991 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
282 reviews
7.0 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayo Espanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo Espanto

Address: Cayo Espanto Island, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#25 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £1,134 - £1,892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cayo Espanto 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cayo Espanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Espanto San Pedro
Cayo Espanto Resort San Pedro
Cayo Espanto Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing