We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views and ambiance”
Review of Banyan Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Bay Suites
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
276 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Incredible views and ambiance”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent last week in Belize and stayed at Villas of BB. We were very pleased with our villa. Check in and out were painless.
There was daily housekeeping with a change of linens, the grounds and beach maintenance are excellent, and staff was always professional but thoroughly pleasant.
We saw children swimming alone in front of the resort as well as women walking around with- out men. Point being, the resort itself felt very safe. There is 24/7 security on grounds.
We enjoyed walking the mile plus to town on the beach side. The breeze was delightful and the views always spectacular. On the street side , if walking, there are 2 groceries within minutes of the resort. Also, The Bake(ery) is just to the north within several minutes of the resort. Stop in and pick out a treat from new owners Ken and Emily.
The pool area was immaculate and the pool is excellent for little ones as well as adults. The beach grooming is also excellent.
The villa kitchen held a coffee pot, micro wave, refrigerator, and stove/oven. Supplies were adequate.
We were there during a multiple hour power outage and we were provided with candles in short order. We were not afraid.
The on site restaurant provides people with the option of staying in. It is clean and the food is decent.
We really liked Villas of Banyan Bay and would not hestitate to stay there again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank watravelinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    154
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
176
108
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were at the Villas at Banyan Bay in May, 2013. We had a 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen. This is a lovely, quiet property. One restaurant, one bar, one pool. But it was all we needed. The local iguana , Mr Peters was quite interesting. The beach and the snorkeling were quite nice. Walked down the beach away from town and found conch shells. We were able to walk on the beach towards town and walk to restaurants for dinner. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We rented an ocean front room and were very happy with the accommodations. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were nice and the view was incredible. Great location, lots of entertainment within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorado_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetwater, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Ambergris Caye is a very friendly island. We had a nice visit. We were there during slow season so it was very relaxing. I think The Villas at Banyan Bay were a little tired looking. Lots of maintenance needed. The resort was very quick about repairs to the condos, but grounds needed work, especially the dock areas and pool. Food was ok but not great, but the service was outstanding. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for newer condos and request beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family and I went to enjoy the Costa Maya Festivals in San Pedro. We stay at the Villas at Banyan Bay and I must say that our villa E3 was wonderful, well equipment, ac pumping and of course the best sleep ever, the mattress was so comfy! Our villa opened out to the garden courtyard and view of the pool. The lanscape is well kept and the grounds are clean and inviting with a fabulous view of the caribbean sea. The pool was awesome as there was a kids area and a adult section which gave me some tranquil time out to enjoy some of the nice cold Belikin Beers that Belize has to offer.Terez the manager was SO wonderful and took care of our every need. We really enjoyed our stay Thanks Terez!!!!!!!. Kudos goes out to the pool bartender I think his name was felipe Hope I get his name right great service. We rented our golf cart from Island adventures clean cart great customer service.Having a golf cart is a must it helps you to take a tour of the island and enjoy the great restaurants and bars that SP has to offer without exhausting yourself or burn in the sun while walking and its fun.. If you want enjoy a great breakfast burrito make a stop at Celi's Deli. San Pedro is a beautiful island with lots to offer and do. You wont be disappointed. As for the villas we will be back!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larissa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

we booked this one because of the reviews we saw and the price was right, they promised a beach front and we were skeptical. we showed up and WOW, everything they promised was right on, we were literally 10 steps to the beach from our door!!! we were very happy with the stay, the place is quiet, clean and comfortable, we went with another couple and the location is perfect for couples, and would be a great place for kids also, because it was so safe fleeing.
Its just a 20 minute beach walk from town or take a golf cart just a few minutes away are restaurants and shops. it was perfect because at night is was quiet and during the day the place was being cleaned and maintained every day. this place was great, if you dive I would highly recommend Belize Pro Dive Center just one pier south of the hotel (about 70 yards away) these people are amazing and helpful!!

Belize was our best trip ever and Banyan Bay was a big part of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our quiet week at this wellkept resort. Beach was raked of seagrass daily. Water is a bit murky. Pool was relaxing too. You'll need to either take a thirty minute walk or a taxi to the World Famous Chicken Drop in town, but would you want that fun and loud event near your beach? The onsite restaurant and bar were quiet too. Menu OK, although Belizean cuisine is big on spices. Villa has daily housekeeping which is welcome in a beach environment. Onsite dive shop arranged a must see snorkeling trip to Hol Chan with Luis who knew where to find the well hidden octopus and moray eel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank VAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.0 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bay Suites

Property: Banyan Bay Suites
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly The Villas at Banyan Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banyan Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Banyan Bay Suites offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool. Pier 366 Seafood House located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Banyan Bay Suites is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Banyan Bay Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing