We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Bachelor Party in San Pedro”
Review of Banyan Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Bay Suites
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I didn't expect much, but have to say that the Villas at Banyan Bay was great for me and my friends for my bachelor party in Belize/San Pedro. I have to say that all the utensil in the kitchen was great as we used it every night and the local store next to the hotel was great as well. The only compliant was that the wifi didn't work as well.

Overall a great vacation.

Cheers,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our sixth visit to this resort. It is very good place. It only needs a few things to make it a great place. The location is wonderful. It's an easy walk on the beach to town or if you feel like battling the new and icky traffic in town, you can ride a bike downtown. Two folks in our group were run off the road and injured by wild and crazy gold cart drivers. Banyan Bay resort would improve if San Pedro Town could go back a bit in time when it was a much quieter place. That can't happen. You can get bikes (they need fixing up) for free at the resort and you can rent golf carts there if you want to go that route. You can walk down their pier and book cool snorkeling and fishing trips. We cannot speak for the restaurant because we love Elvie's Kitchen, Estelle's, The Hidden Treasure and other Iocal spots. The rooms at Banyan Bay are two bedroom condos. You can cook if you want and we easily shared the condo with another couple. Families seemed to like the format. Wifi is available, but not reliable. It felt like a lighthouse of internet services circling around and now and then you could connect. There were lots of folks roaming the grounds with their machines trying to find signals. The pool is nice. Proximity to the beach is excellent and they maintain their section of the beach beautifully (we wish all beach fronts would do the same). We really like this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The inner courtyard is nice. The breeze would be good with the beach rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jkstarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Banyan Bay. Getting there from the airport, we choose the Tropic Ferry and hour and ten minute boat ride complete with rum punch drinks. It was a seamless way to the resort we were picked up at the airport and dropped off at the resort pier. All baggage was handled by the staff. Picked up from the resort pier and delivered to the airport for the return trip to the US. Next time I think we will take Tropic Air it is just a bit more costly but appears to be a well-run operation, and it only 20 minutes to the island, and ten minutes by taxi to the resort. The resort pays the taxi fare. The resort: What an ideal resort for families; children are very welcome. The staff was always helpful and friendly. It is located close by markets, and a fine bakery all within walking distance. The way around the town is via golf cart and they rent them out at a reasonable rate, full of gas as well. This allows you to tour the entire island and take advantage of some of the other restaurants in town. The people out in town are very friendly and we never had a fear of crime. The pool was sparkling clean, and the grounds beautifully maintained. On site security was another plus. The suites are cleaned every day and restocked with fresh towels and the bed clothes changed every day as well. On one occasion we didn’t wash the dishes from the night before, to our surprise the house keeper washed them for us. The onsite restaurant / bar is a bit pricy but the food is very very good. Cooked when you place the order it comes to the table hot and without an overdue weight. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly helpful, they will meet and exceed your every need; like making pancakes for a child’s dinner. The view over the water takes your breath away. The beach is cleaned of sea grass every morning and the water is crystal clear. The onsite dive shop offers Scuba diving lessons, Scuba trips, and snorkeling trips. The locations they choose provide some of the most extraordinary Scuba / Snorkeling in Belize. Yes we will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this through an RCI exchange. We had an upstairs unit overlooking the pool area. Large unit, very nice kitchen, two full bathrooms, many cable channels. WIFI not great. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The maintenance was very good. Beach was clean of sea grass. Close to grocery store. About a 25 minute walk to downtown San Pedro with plenty of restaurants before you get to town. Daily housekeeping. They pay for your taxi to and from airport. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vatravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I'm up early. I'm not the only one! Raking the sand, picking up any dead leaves/branches, sweeping every surface, the staff of Banyan Bay were up and out working from 6 am every morning with a smile and a warm, happy greeting! Slightly dated in certain areas but maintained well. Absolutely beautiful setting, a great location!

Room Tip: The ocean breezes at our ocean front villa were refreshing. The view was just as lovely from the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay! Friendly, courteous staff were more like friends! Rooms were kept very clean and grounds are beautiful! Great restaurant and dive adventures right outside as well! Will definitely be back one day!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After months of Belize research, we decided to book our spring break stay at the Villas at Banyan Bay. This proved to be a great decision all around. This is a Condotel (Condo/Hotel) facility with full hotel services, such as daily housekeeping, bell service, etc.
We were in an upper floor unit - C6 - that faced the ocean, which made for some beautiful sunrises.
The hotel was easy to get to upon arriving at Ambergris Caye (via Mayan Island Air from Belize City), and the hotel paid fo rour cab fare from the airport. We were greeted warmly and the hotel staff checked us in to our room early. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and well appointed our unit was.
The one and only downside was the restaurant on site. Rico's is overpriced and the service is very poor, so we ate at other places whenever possible. There is a lovely bakery next door, and several hotels with restaurants nearby. Bananna Beach Hotel's restaurant was a short walk and the food was infinitely better.
The dive pro shop located on the pier was outstanding. Victor was very helpful with scheduling our excursions and keeping us apprised of any last minute schedule changes. Chris was an excellent Hol Chan & Shark Ray alley guide, and Alex took us fishing to all the great snapper hiding spots!
Only two of us went on this trip, but this would be ideal for a family trip as well.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, as far as I can tell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#23 of 55 in San Pedro
289 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
10.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 55 in San Pedro
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 55 in San Pedro
836 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,398 reviews
8.4 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#14 of 55 in San Pedro
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bay Suites

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly The Villas at Banyan Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £115 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banyan Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Banyan Bay Suites offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool. Pier 366 Seafood House located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Banyan Bay Suites is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Banyan Bay Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing