We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place; great visit!”
Review of Banyan Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Bay Suites
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place; great visit!”
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed at Banyan Bay (Ocean View) for 1 week. We really enjoyed our visit. The suite was spacious, nicely furnished, and clean. The grounds were well maintained. The pool inviting and clean. The beach was very well maintained. It is 1.5miles from downtown San Pedro which we liked; quiet. Good exercise to walk. You can get a golf cart but why
not walk (if you are able)? There are alot of activities for teens and adults; many of which
I think would be hard or uninteresting to young children (such as inland trips to ruins,
diving, etc.).

Rico's (onsite restaurant) is reasonably priced for a "resort" and in fact was a good
value for breakfast and lunch. The food quality was very good.

Staff and locals seemed genuinely friendly, helpful, and knowledgable.

Do not expect to really use the water at the beaches. While beautiful, the bottom is
mostly grass covererd and un-inviting at almost all areas. Some of the resorts (such as Xanadu and Ramon's) have cleared out some small swimming areas.

The only annoying thing was the water-craft (kayaks and sailboat) were not available.
We had planned on using them and had called to confirm they would be available when
we made our reservation, but weren't. As it turned out we were too busy with other
activities to create a problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    164
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
196
112
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed here in 03/09 for a week with another family. They had a beautifully furnished ocean view, and ours was marginally furnished. The restaurant was decent, the maid service was good, the location was good (need to rent golf carts to get around). I liked the fact that there were 2 security guards at night. Had a bout with a guest who accused my son of tampering with his golf cart - management handled the situation "ok". The food is spotty when dining out - do your research. Was it worth $500/night - probably not.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bashfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We landed in San Padro and was picked up by Walter, a friendly cab driver, send by Banyan Bay to retrive the 6 of us. Walter had some good tips on interesting places to visit. Banyan Bay is just 1 mile south of the airport and after an "all smiles" check in and a short walk by the huge pool we were there. This was our 3rd stay at B.B. over a 8 year period. Often, " time or use " shows on a place this busy but I was shocked how well kept it was. Fresh paint, mature landscaping and employees constantly sweeping and cleaning. Our rooms were emaculate and the kitchen was fully applianced with ice in the fridge and cold bottled water. Rico's restraurant right at the water's edge was better than average with a friendly wait staff and a great sense of humor, but the "adult drinks" at Rico's and at pool side are awful, and not worth the price. One other slight rub, they charge for wifi and it's not usuable in building "H".
Day Trips (Zip-Line Cave Tubing) can be booked right at the dive shop on the dock but if you go to the tour companies (Tanisha Tours) in town directly you'll do better and they will pick you up right at the Banyan Bay dock. If you go on any tours bring warm clothing, it gets cold on the return trips over water.
email me if you need more info (--)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelAnne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This place was an apartment complex a couple of miles south of the main part of town. It was at best "okay." The facilities in the apartments were nice: kitchen, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room. But the place was old and dowdy. It desperately needs a facelift. And everything--everything--extra costs extra: Internet, for example. They did do our laundry for an extra charge, and that was a positive service.We were looking for something more upscale. Reading the other reviews, I could imagine that this place might be very comfortable for a family vacation for a week. Yes, it is on the water (but so are most resorts/hotels on this island). But we were disappointed because we were looking for something nicer, even if it cost more. We were told that this resort was now in receivership, and run by the bank. Maybe that is why there seems to be so little new investment. Don't misread this review: this place is adequate and from a functional point of view, it met our needs. I think *** stars is about right (out of five). The adjacent restaurant was actually quite good, and quite lively.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The Villas at Bayan Bay offered great accommodations, great service and help in planning and participating in activities in San Pedro, and a beautiful beach for relaxing. They will book a flight or water taxi from Belize City to Ambergris Caye for you, and arrange for a regular taxi to pick you up. The hotel is located South of Downtown San Pedro, about 15 minutes walking 5-10 minutes biking from the main strip of souvenir shops, food and bars. The hotel rents bikes and also partners with a tour company, "Sea-duced by Belize" to arrange for trips to Mayan Ruins, to more exotic snorkling locales (the hotel runs their own snorkling boats out to the barrier reef, providing a knowledgable guide to point out the fauna like nurse sharks, rays, sea turtles, and eels), and other adventures like zip-lining and cave tubing. The suite was very large, clean, and comfortable, with a jacuzzi and nice king and queen-sized beds as well as a kitched well-stocked with cutlery and cooking equipment. It is very close to a couple of small markets where you can get local and imported goods and produce for breakfast, lunch, or whatever. The restaurant is also really great, and offers some great seafood for lunch and dinner. I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indianavirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westtown, ny
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

okay so i dont know where to begin!!! we landed in belize city and took water taxi to san pedro, there we were met by a taxi driver and he drove us to our hotel. When we got to the villa they actually paid our taxi!! Our room was ready so we changed and to the pool we went. The pool was beautiful!! I was there every morning reading my book, i couldn't get enough!! the pool is 3 levels so it's perfect for the whole family. The grounds were PERFECTLY landscaped. There were crew on the grounds all day. At 7 am the guys were cleaning the pools. The cleaning staff was excellent! The front desk was amazing!!! they especially (mariam) was so helpful and polite whether it was a weather update or to recommend a resturant they were always smiling!!! I traveled with my husband and mom and dad so we did our " own things" we walked to town pretty much every day. Rico's was by far one of the best resturants on the island!!! and we ate eveywhere!! The view was perfect! we had a nice landing my husband and i waited for our snorkling trip.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollie6380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The Villas at Banyan Bay is the most perfect resort I have ever visited. We hosted my daughters wedding ceremony and reception dinner there and our whole extended family enjoyed the accomodations of their two and three bedroom suites. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. I can't even describe how wonderful their chef is, and the on-site dive shop met all of our fishing, boating, and snorkeling needs with customized charters and discount prices. It was the perfect time of year to visit Belize and Banyan Bay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pegglegGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
1.0 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
11.7 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bay Suites

Property: Banyan Bay Suites
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly The Villas at Banyan Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banyan Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Banyan Bay Suites offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool. Pier 366 Seafood House located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Banyan Bay Suites is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Banyan Bay Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing