We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a couple days to drink and snorkel and whatever”
Review of Banyan Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Bay Suites
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2011

excellent hotel...nice rooms, nice people, nice overpriced restaurant right there by the water...everything you want in a hotel...really enjoyed every minute of it

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkins024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

Was very pleased with the accommodations - we booked a 2 bedroom condo through RCI. The pool area and grounds are meticulously maintained. Rooms were quiet and cleaned everyday. Iris even did our dishes; she was awesome. Reception staff are professional, courteous, helpful and efficient. They had a taxi waiting to pick us up and sent one for our guests and arranged transportation to the airport at the end of our vacation. We snorkeled with Happy & Grumpy (very happy with their service) and had a fishing day with Mario Graneil (also very good). Lots of good restaurants to choose from - expect US prices. Pepperoni's was great take out pizza at a very good price.
Good bakeries and fruitstands nearby for making your own lunches. We rented a golf cart for the entire week (Moncho's) so we could explore, go out at our convenience. Overall a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipfloplocations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Just back from five nights at Banyan Bay Villas, and I have to say I was quite pleased with the hotel. We stayed in unit A, right on the beach, and it was very quiet. Unit D that backs onto the nearby road might not be so quiet. Rico's, the restaurant there, had really good food, and tasty drinks.
In the past I have stayed at Victoria House (which is still very lovely) and Xanadu, and of those three I'd have to rank them 1. Victoria House, 2. Banyan Bay (a close second) and 3. Xanadu. You really can't go wrong at any of these. In my opinion, it is better to stay SOUTH of town, rather than north, because it is easier to get around.
Banyan Bay workers were out every morning cleaning seaweed from the sand, so the "beach" was nice. The dive shop there is good, too, and has a good array of snorkel and drive gear for rent.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarmthSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

The Villas at Banyan Bay are amazing. The units are wonderful, the grounds beautiful, and the staff most helpful. This was our third trip in three years and we will continue going back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootsandfins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The first night we didn't have any hot water, we called the front desk and it was 15 minutes later they sent a person to fix it...then the front desk called 30 minutes later to make sure it was working. The location for us was nice not too close and not too far from downtown and we found we could walk all the way there on the beach. Rico's is a nice place to eat and I found the breakfast menu to be my favorite. The pool is really just for cooling off in, not really big enough to do any serious swimming in, but the younger kids will find it adequate.

If this is your first visit to Belize a few things you should know is this is not Mexico and prices are much higher for restaurants, drinks, transportation, etc. Also your cost to visit the ruins, cave tubing, lip-line trips are going to cost more from San Pedro due to the cost of getting to the mainland. A great guide is a must, in my opinion, and we worked with Mark Cal who is a native Mayan. Mark has tons of knowledge of Belize and can set up any type of trip, or trips, you want.

We were at Banyan Bay for a week and did an activity nearly every day which our kids loved…we did 2 different ruins, fishing, snorkeling, and shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandyMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My family loved our stay at Banyan Bay! Very comfortable and roomy 2 bedroom condo overlooking the ocean. It was great to have the beach directly outside of door - not all hotels/condos in Ambergris Caye have beach to ocean access... Everything you need is right there - beach, pool, Ricos restaurant on the water, dock for excursion pick ups, dive shop, etc. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful for every request! They will deliver bottled water to your room for a nominal charge and this is recommended as the desalinated water is not too tasty! I would also recommend renting a golf cart if staying here as it is far enough away from town to warrant needing one unless you don't plan to leave the resort much.

Our stay here was great and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeMarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

we love our time share at banyan bay and look forward to coming year after year. the grounds have been nicely maintained. the rooms are spacious and clean. the beds are very comfortable. the customer service is excellent. the food at Rico's Restaurant has improved tremendously. It was so good this year we ordered everyday for the adults. the pool is perfect for young children and adults. the beach is kept clean. we brought our friends this year and they loved it too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#22 of 55 in San Pedro
288 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
10.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 55 in San Pedro
821 reviews
1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 55 in San Pedro
1,078 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bay Suites

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly The Villas at Banyan Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £115 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banyan Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Banyan Bay Suites offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool. Pier 366 Seafood House located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Banyan Bay Suites is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banyan Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Banyan Bay Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing