We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations in every way-can't wait to go back!”
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations in every way-can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Writing this review sitting in the airport on the way home from our first trip to El Pescador- already miss it and are planning the return. One of the most comfortable, relaxing and welcoming vacations we have ever had.
Getting there: we booked the all inclusive package, and EP coordinated the hopper flights and picked us up at the dock. With a cold beer. Steve welcomes you at the dock and gets you acquainted with the staff, who instantly make you feel like part of the family.
Fishing: this was our first saltwater fly fishing trip, and Lori Ann and the guide ( thanks Kechu !! )did a phenomenal job of helping us with technique. More than 30 bonefish and 2
permit for the week, with many other fish sighted. Fishing lunches were part of the package, so we had everything we needed for the day with no prep on our part.
Accommodations: we stayed in the lodge- clean and comfortable with a great view of the water. Comfy beds- great after a long day on the water.
Food: fantastic, simple, local and American cuisine. Breakfast ready at 5:30 AM so you can eat before fishing- eggs, huevos rancheros, fresh baked bread, and truly awesome bacon. Dinners are served family style, giving a great chance to meet the rest of the guests.
Selection like lobster tails, fajitas, jerk pork, filet mignon- and homemade dessert every night. Get the meal package, you will not regret it.

Really a special place to vacation. If you're a fisherman, truly a paradise. If you're looking for a great home base to explore Belize, dive, shop and relax, paradise as well.

Room Tip: Quieter further from the dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jilliam3224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    45
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
135
229
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

You are treated like family at this resort. Outstanding fishing and guides, great snorkeling, beautiful scenery, top notch staff, and great food.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Better wifi reception near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My husband, son, brother-in-law and I just returned from our 3rd trip to El Pescador in as many years. At El Pescador, we are treated like part of their family. All staff members are very hospitable, addressing us by name with a smile and knowing our preferences in food and drink. The food is excellent, Belizean fare with a couple of options to choose from each night. After a long a day of fishing, relaxing at the bar with the guides and others clients who fished that day was a great deviation from our stressful jobs…so was getting away from the fisherman and taking a dip in the pool or lounging in a hammock on the beach with a book. The view from the lodge is spectacular – I recommend waking around 5am at least once to watch the gorgeous sunrise over the water. Most likely you’ll be up at that time enjoying a hot cooked breakfast before heading out to fish, whether you are fishing the beautiful, emerald green flats for tarpon, searching for the evasive permit or landing several bountiful bones. We had another excellent trip – thanks El Pescador team! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We visited El Pescador a second time this August and found that the resort is still first class. This time, we brought our 7 year old daughter.

Although the slow season was starting and many other resorts on Ambergris Caye were closed or almost empty, we found a nice crowd at El Pescador. Because the meals are served family style, the other guests at the resort become part of the experience. Our daughter imediately made friends with the other kids at the resort including the owner's children. All of the children got along and found their own activities and adventures at the resort including playing in the pools, kid yoga at a nearby resort, climbing trees, and snorkeling and fishing off of the El Pescador dock. An expert child care provider was reccomended by the resort so that we could have some adult time diving and dining.

We found a diverse variety of adult guests who further enhanced our experience. The family style meals encourage comradierie. Lots of tales were exchanged about the day's fishing and other adventures. The food was awesome including but not limited to lobster night. All of the offerings were prepared fresh from whole ingredients. This includes the desserts, breads and tortillas.

We were also joined by other El Pescador guests on some of our excursions. In fact, Ambergris Caye is so friendly that we repeatedly ran into new friends from other resorts that we had met in town, on the plane, or on the dive boat. The island has such a friendly atmosphere. After a few days, you will feel like a local.

We dove extensively on this trip with the dive master Alonzo from the resort. It is just so easy to hop in his boat and do world class dives 5 minutes from the dock. He is extremely safety oriented, but also a treat to be around. His boat is comfortable and his helpers are professional. We use our own gear, but some other guests used his rental gear and it seemed newer and nicer (safer) than the gear rented by the big shop in town. His groups are extremely small. Some trips it was only my wife and I diving with him. This allows you to explore smaller spots that the big boats do not seem to be get to.

We fished two days on this trip. One day we went to El Pescador's private island to wade for bonefish and another time we went reef fishing with a local guide. Both times we took our daughter and she enjoyed the trips. Our previous trip the resort was full of guy flats fishing. This trip there were groups and couples flats fishing, but there were also families doing other fishing. I head no negative comments about any of the fishing. There were several large tarpon landed by other guests during our stay. Tarpon are catch and release only in Belize and seem plentiful. We concentrated on eating fish and caught our lunch two days. Both days, our guide made us a wonderful shore lunch.

I cannot place enough emphasis on how polite and helpful the El Pescador staff is. Everyone from the ground keepers to the bar tender greets you and is anxious to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. I do not know how they keep finding such wonderful staff.

The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are roomy and modern.
The regular rooms do not have a TV, but we found this to be a welcome chance to relax and read. Even our 7 year old daughter did not complain about the lack of television.

The weather was amazing. August is the rainy season. We had a sum total of about 30 minutes of rain all week. When it did rain, the sun was out in less than 20 minutes. The temperature was much more comfortable than Philadelphia in August. All of our friends kept commenting on how hot and rainy it would be. The reality is that a hot day in Philadelphia is much hotter than a hot day in San Pedro. the trade winds seem to temper any day when the thermometer reaches the high 80s. The bugs were managable. No worse than the Jersey Shore, but without any greenheads. We found August a great time to visit. The crowds are gone from town, but almost everything was open.

If you are looking for a Four Seasons in Miami, this is not it. It is much better than that if you want to experience the people, the culture and life in the tropics. However, there did not seem to be anyone offering to spritz you with Evian next to the pool. Although, I am sure that if requested, someone would be more than willing to do this. Count on being greeted by name and made to feel like family by the locals, staff and other guests. From the time you land in San Pedro, you will know that El Pescador is a special place. We are anxious to plan our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Just returned from this trip and it was the greatest. We were treated first class and known by name. Everyone went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable. Traveled with a 9 year old that had the time of his life. Rooms were great and clean.....the meals were 5 star. Food was plentiful and no one went away hungry. The guides were great for fishing and the other activities were well handled. All staff took great care to make sure we had what we needed and all were so personable. We took advantage of the amenities offered to ride bcycles to town, kayak, and fish from the pier. Everything was outstanding. Will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tango-x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

When we arrived in San Pedro we were greeted by name and swept off by boat to El Pescador. Ed met us at the dock and got us aquainted with our villa, the resort and the fishing program. He was was wonderful, he spent a lot of time giving us information and helping my boys learn to fly fish. Everyone at the resort greets you by name and makes you feel right at home. Judy, Ester, Mariano and Paul were just a few of the people who made our stay extra enjoyable.

We stayed in a very comfortable and private villa. We did not do the full meal plan, but ate at the resort several times. I would suggest getting the complete package. The food was delicious and we enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests. Although we had some great meals we had in town, it can become quite expensive when you add in the cost of a water taxi ($25 each way for 4 people).

I don't think tEl Pescodor's website does the resort justice. It is a lot nicer that it looks and does not feel like a typical "fishing lodge". I walked up and down the beach and was shocked by some of the other resorts. They looked like 5-star resorts online, but in reality were dumps.

The entire staff made this one of the most relaxing and stress-free vacations we have had.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crabbyabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed 5 nights at El Pescador recently and the trip could not have gone better. We dove our first day with Alonzo who took great care of us. I fished the next three days while my wife checked out local ruins, snorkeled, and cruised San Pedro. The staff were friendly and always remembered our names. The food was great and always promptly served, we even had lobster for dinner one evening. The grounds are well maintained and they have 3 pools for lounging. We also took kayaks into the back lagoon one afternoon for an outing. I will definitely stay here again and will/have already recommended El Pescador to friends and Colleagues.

Room Tip: We had a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TightLines_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing