We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first bonefish for my wife”
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
“Great first bonefish for my wife”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

El Pescador, perfect couples fishing retreat. One can fish hard for elusive tarpon and challenging permit while the other snorkels and or just relaxes. The staff was superior in all aspects, hosiptality, service and alway willing to go the extra mile to ensure you enjoyed yourself. Tarpon were scarce but bones abounded and the food was a delight. If your a noivce or hard core saltwater rodder, this is the place to take your spouse and enjoy some excellent fishing in a wonderful atmosphere with pristine grounds and friendly people.

Room Tip: Go ahead and reserve a villa, the extra cost is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    45
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
132
225
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Jun 11 -17, '12. Had some WX but mostly sunny & tropical with very good fishing on our boat - at least 30 bonefish & 2 tarpon. Partners landed a permit & healthy 4.75' 'Cuba + ample bone. Comfortable lodge on nice white beach as advertised with a superb & attentive staff & very good meals. Excellent guides!! Great snorkeling on offshore reef! Plenty of non-fishing guests & activities & have Villas for families/groups. Definitely would repeat!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbuoy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A great few days away - snorkeling, relaxing, laughing, chilling...we aren't big fishermen and just wanted to get away to a place that was not overly posh - but comfortable accommodations, great service, and delicious food; excellent staff who made sure we all had a great time! Don't miss the snorkeling with Jerry. We took our niece and two nephews who are in their late 20's, and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Thank you Judy for the spot-on recommendations, and your flashlight!

Room Tip: Villas are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This was our first trip to Belize and fishing. The staff at El Pescador was warm and friendly and treated us like us like family. I wasn't feeling well one day and was able to get chicken soup that was the best I have ever eaten. Our every need or want was addressed. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful and we caught a lot of bonefish. We also fished for permit, and I'm pretty sure next year we will at least add permit to our catching ability. We were able to see tarpon and cast to them and that will be a goal also. One man in our group got the grand slam. That was pretty exciting. The fishing director, Ed, was very helpful with casting coaching and equipment, knots, lines and flies.

Room Tip: We were in a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegsteraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

June 10-16,2012--The weather they get, is the weather they got; they got weather, whether or not...Oh but for some sunshine to see the fish and less wind to cast flies...despite difficult angling conditions, the lodge was always happy to make us feel better. The drinks were tasty, the food very nice, and occasionally excellent, the staff could not have been more helpful or delightful to interact with.
Not for the hard core fly angler because it is a family resort with lots of children and grandchildren enjoying the fish on the dock, the pools, and the game room/bar area. Super small bonefish and permit. My guess is the bigger permit are more of a Nov-March phenomenon. The bones are always small...Tarpon ran 8-90 pounds with distinct areas holding smaller fish, but still very boat shy, indicating serious fishing pressure. Panga's not shallow enough to fish some areas and too wind resistant to pole well, but they do ease the hour + long runs to certain areas commonly fished. Lunches for anglers could be more imaginative. Stayed in a villa, MUCH nicer than the individual lodge rooms.

Room Tip: Stayed in a villa, MUCH nicer than the individual lodge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGBIVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Fantastic!!! the customer service was the best we have ever seen. Our first day all the staff new our names and made us feel like family. Weather you fish or not a great vacation place. We new we were in good hands when we were greeted on the boat ride from the airport to the resort with an ice cold beer and smiling faces. Thanks to all the El Pescador family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evergreen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Visited June 4-11. Staff and lodge continue to provide great service and amenities for fishing and family. Took a buddy on a repeat trip. We faced unusually heavy winds and relied on our guide to find fish. He did. While tarpon fishing was knocked out due to the wind, We fished Permit and Bones and had a great time. Food was good as usual and the stone crab claws were the biggest I have ever seen. The staff did what they always do...provide great service and make every effort to make your trip enjoyable. I need to get my family back here! Consider El Pescador for a family trip or a world class fishing trip, either way its a great choice.

Room Tip: Be sure to let the lodge know your expectations and goals for the trip. Select a time of the year a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonefishbillsalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing