We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty to do while the other guy goes fishing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Plenty to do while the other guy goes fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

El Pescador Resort is between a flyfishing adventure lodge and a hotel. Their hallmark may be the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff; they treat you like family and honored guests. You can fish your butt off all day trying to hook bonefish, permit, and tarpon with their many guides, or they will make arrangements for you to snorkel, dive, or explore Mayan ruins. They also maintain a large set of one-speed bicycles with wide tires that allow you to bike on the beach or on the pot-holed dirt roads into the town of San Pedro a couple of miles away. There is also a small fitness room with 2 treadmills, a bike, pilates ball, yoga mats, and an out-of-service bowflex. There is a pleasant freshwater swimming pool with lots of lounge chairs; it is so relaxing to sit there in the ocean breeze.

We stayed in the lodge, so our room was very small, and the decor was like an old Motel 6. But the bed and bedding were very comfortable and the rooms were kept very clean. TV and slow wifi are only in the bar/lounge. Breakfast and lunch are really excellent, and they will pack you a lunch if you are going out. Dinner is basic home-cooking, non-Belizean.

If you stay on the island of Ambergris Caye, you can't really get to other places in Belize unless you fly (~$130). The roads are serviced by golf carts, and water taxi would take more than an hour to get to Belize City. So if you want to visit that city, Tucal or Punta Gorda, you might want to do so before going to El Pescador. The town of San Pedro is very safe, whereas Belize City does have a travel warning due to gang activity. We really enjoyed our stay at El Pescador. My buddy thought his fishing guide was excellent and had a good boat. However, he did feel that the resident tarpon may be too hard to catch because they are so fished to. But there is plenty of bonefish!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    44
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
126
218
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the moment you land in Belize City, you are escorted and taken care of. The entire staff learns your name on the first day and you are made to feel not only welcome but also an important and valued guest. Beautiful scenery, manicured grounds, exquisite food and comfortable , clean rooms. Weather was poor when I was there and it didn't matter. It was a great week.
Thank you

-howie

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -howie806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

What an amazing experience! This is by no means just a fishing lodge! I fly fish for a living however my wife wants nothing to do with it, yet she was more then entertained while I was out on the flats. The staff knew our names the entire trip and were helpful the whole time. I am already planning my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cptxkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was a family vacation with 11 of us spending 5 days fishing, diving, snorkeling, and visiting the Mayan ruins. We loved every minute of it. The staff are what makes this resort a wonderful experience. They are all so nice and accommodating. The food was fresh and delicious, especially the "Caye" lime pie!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had a great experience spending a week at El Pescador. The trip of a lifetime. The service was extraordinary. All members of the staff made you feel extremely comfortable. One of the best parts of the trip was meeting so many other guests. Because we all ate dinner together and there were at most 40 guest there at any one time, we got to know and converse with so many others. We shared our days experiences and plans for the upcoming days. My family of 4 stayed in a Villa and it was 20 feet from the the waters edge. The pictures do not do the place justice. We did a day of guided fishing, a scuba trip and 2 snorkeling trips. Fishing is a big draw for this resort, although I felt a bit out of place since I am a spinfisher and most were fly fishers. The complimentary bikes made it easy to take a trip along the beach into town. If you want to go to paradise then plan a trip here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's been a month since we returned, and we are still talking about our time at El Pescador. As a couple who travels a great deal, we had high expectations for our time here. Everything about our stay was beyond belief. The thoughtful, dedicated, engaging members of the "El Pescador family" made our experience perfect...the fact that they knew our names within a day of being there was remarkable. Our fishing guide - Cesar - was not only an excellent, patient, and challenging instructor but made every day fun. We will definitely return. Wow. (Never have written a review for TA, but our stay was such a delight that we felt as though we needed to share.)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I've visited San Pedro on 7 occasions, staying at 5 different places. El Pescador is HANDS DOWN the best place to stay. Add to that, they provide the VERY BEST fly fishing guides in Central America. Amerigris Caye is a year adventure, and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing