We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxed”
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
1 review
“Totally relaxed”
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My wife and I just left El Pescador and we are sad we had to leave. It is one of the only places I have ever been that we were able to totally relax. The staff, food, villas, activities, and Zeus and Nala (dogs) were all awesome. We already have plans to return in 2009 with the entire family.

Two thumbs up on everything. The only recommendation we had for Steve was to train the bonefish around the dock to at least nibble on a hook.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachbound22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    45
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
135
228
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2008

This was honestly the first vacation I have taken and left everything at home and was truly able to relax.
The accommodations, the entire staff, the cuisine and the view were all over the top.
As a fly fishing resort it's considered the best ...the guides were most knowledgeable and the guests were well match with their guides. (My lefty guide was perfect, of course he could cast righty too!) As for the non fly fishing folks...they were just as taken with the El Pescador! FYI...the best massage in the America's :)
The kayaks and bike that were available were perfect for side adventures.
Antonio...the dear bar tender, took your happiness (very seriously) into his own hands. There was never a sad moment!
The friendly atmosphere that exudes from the eclectic staff, trickles down through the guests and we were all family within 24 hours. Looking back...I have never hugged or kissed other guests from a vacation destination on our departure...it all seemed so normal.
We will return...probably before the years end....as were the thoughts of the other guests.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing...if I were forced I'd say lack of a bath tub
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank superfishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Wonderful trip. Perfect place to relax. People are incredibly friendly and accomodating. Very relaxed friendly atmosphere with breathtaking views, beautiful comfortable accomodations and the ability to do lots or nothing!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Texasmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2008

To start with, I'm a fly fisherman, so El Pescador was my first choice on Ambergris because I knew their guides were first rate and that was one of my main reasons for coming. I have been able to fish with nearly all of them over the course of multiple trips there...and I would recommend any of them and the diversity of fishing in the area...and I used to be a fishing guide myself. Nuff said about their excellent fishing, but what really makes the difference for me at El Pescador is what the rest of my family can do as well. There are so many activities right at the lodge and some that are just a short boat or plane ride from the lodge that an entire family can keep busy for a couple of weeks. Kayak, bike, hike, visit ruins, sailing, shopping in San Pedro, beachcomb, tubing rivers, the zoo, and of course, diving with the lodge's own divemaster Alonzo who knows every nook and cranny of the reef are just a few of the many things you can do. Finally, the fresh local foods prepared by the lodge are incredible, and both the historic lodge rooms and the newer villas are very comfortable...but what really ties everything together is the great people there. The employees, management and owners at El Pescador from top to bottom are there to make your trip the best...every day...every time you come. I'll be back.

  • Liked — People
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinedale, wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2008

For our third trip to El Pescador, we rented one of the villas on the property and found our trip in this case to be the same excellent, high quality, customer-oriented, friendly, and memorable experience it was the first two times we visited. The help we received when booking, the service when we were met at the airport, the water taxi to the property, and the warm greeting when we arrived set the stage for what you will find to be a truly top-notch destination. This family-owned, family-operated resort puts its guests first. If you have a question, they will answer; if you have a concern, it will promptly be addressed; if you need advice, your situation will be carefully considered when an a recommendation is given. The accommodations were fabulous (the view from the villas is to-die-for!), the food is authentic and very good, the service is polite and friendly, the fishing is excellent (nothing like permit on a fly!), and the experience as a whole makes it one of our favorite places. We'll return for a fourth time, no question!

  • Liked — Warm and friendly service; great views of beach;
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wyomingtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Wow, what a great stay!! We loved El Pescador, as did our 4 kids! We loved the staff who made our stay so comfortable, Ali, chris and Steve were wonderful. And Marlin, in the office took care of every need! We went to Altun Ha to see ruins, which were fantastic. My 13 year old was certified in scuba while we were there. Alonzon, the dive master was so great with her! We did the catamaran snorkle day trip and everyone had a blast! No one was bored!! Food was great, villa's were perfect for a big family! I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We just returned from El Pescador where we were married last Saturday the 21st. Joining us were 35 of our closest friends and family- none of whom had ever been to Belize. My concern was that, although we are fans of the heat and charming quirks of the country, that many of our guests would not find it so palatable. El Pescador SO EXCEEDED OUR HOPES AND EXPECTATIONS (which are VERY high to begin with) that no one wanted to leave. The staff was more attentive than any resort I have experienced in Belize. Charming, affable...very accomodating.
Our villa was lovely- as was my mom's, sisters, friends, we all had villa envy!!!
The food was the best I had ever had in the country (been to Belize 6 times). Our welcome dinner was a beautiful buffet of the freshest seafood, chicken, lovely breads, beans, vegetables, and so many options. Our wedding dinner was better than I have had at any wedding I can remember (we did surf and turf).
All of our excursions were organized, timely, well managed, and FUN ( I went on the snorkeling catamaran)!!!
My niece (13years old) even got certified during all of this! The onsite dive master took such care with her- she has such a sense of accomplishment.
My Uncle fly-fished and said that the guide was incredible.
All in all, I would suggest El Pescdor to anyone- whether looking for the best diving, snorkeling, fishing, or just great service, atmosphere and accommodations (or wedding!!).

  • Liked — Location, staff, food, accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing not to like
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tuffulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
844 reviews
2.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing