We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Honeymoon - Thanks El Pescador”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Great Honeymoon - Thanks El Pescador”
Reviewed 9 April 2009

This place is top notch. As for fishing there is nothing to be said, they are the best. My wife and I went here on our honeymoon. We love the outdoors and adventures. The excursions were great and exactly what we were looking for. The scuba diving is great and their instructor is top notch and made it very enjoyable for a couple of first timers. We went fly fishing one day and had a great time. They paired us with a great guide who was patient and thoughtful as we learned how to cast a fly. We both caught bone fish on the fly as well as with conventional gear. The trip up the river to the Mayan ruins was awesome!!! We also did a fishing trip for jacks with no success, but the fresh caught (by me and guide) lobster lunch on the beach was the best food of the week. The lodge itself is old but a great value if you are strictly fishing. We stayed in one of the villas. They are top notch. Great privacy for the honeymoon. The rooms are not "5 start" but that is not really our style anyway. The pool is great, and while the fisherman our out fishing we had the run of the lodge. Although we were usually out enjoying things.

The staff is amazing. The place is clean and very well kept. They will fulfill your every request. Dinner at the villa instead of family style for a more romantic setting to food just the way you want it. The "open bar" is great and the bar tender is super fun and inviting. The staff really make the place.

The beach is not really great because of the reef. But we are not really sit on the beach and be lazy kind of people anyway.

Love the place and can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytrip08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    44
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
130
222
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Smiles!!! That is what you see from the moment you arrive at this beautiful resort until you reluctantly leave. The staff from top to bottom is 100% engaged in making SURE you are having everything YOUR way. From the first step onto the dock at your arrival you will be amazed at what El Pescador has to offer. Dining each evening with the international makeup of the guests was only one of many highlights we experienced. The water is the life of this resort and most of your days will revolve around it. Whether you come for the world class fishing (tarpon,bonefish,permit) unlimited diving/ snorkeling time or the simple art of relaxation you will be surrounded by the bliss of zero noise and confusion. There are no autos on the island and all travel is by water taxi or on foot. This we found to be a most pleasant surprise. We were constantly in the company of repeat guests which speaks more for this resort than my words ever will.

Wish We were there now.
Don & Beth West
Midlothian Tx.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aceb36tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2009

From the minute we were greeted on the dock, to our last good-byes, we loved this place. Went last minute for a New Years Eve get away and loved it (85 degrees and sunny all week except for 4 hours of rain Jan 1)

Ali and staff made us feel like we were home. Loved the family-style dinners, met some fantastic people and soaked up the sunshine by the pool. Chose lounging over fishing, but will be back!

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — wifi was spotty, but hey that's not why we were there!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eapoeinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We just returned from a family vacation in Belize at the El Pescador resort. Though the focus is on fishing, for non-anglers this was a great spot. The staff is wonderful, the villas top notch, the food very good and the excursions plentiful. Really relaxing and friendly environment with any request being fulfilled. Only draw back, and it is not specific to El Pescador, is that if you want to snorkel off the beach around San Pedro it is nearly impossible as the waters are very shallow and have high traffic till you get closer to the reef. That being said, ask the staff and they will find a great spot for you to explore the sea.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Could not snorkel off the beach
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamFunIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2008

I cannot say enough good things about El Pescador -- from the minute we were first greeted by Allie at El Pescador's dock, we were treated as part of the extended El Pescador family. Allie, Chris, Steve and their wonderfully warm staff made sure we were well taken care of. We already have plans to return next November with our children and parents for Thanksgiving.

The resort itself is very nice without being pretentious or overdone. We stayed in a beautiful, simple villa right on the Carribean with a view to die for. El Pescador is perfectly in keeping with the setting on Ambergris Kaye. And, we ate like kings for seven days straight.

While El Pescador is known as a fishing lodge, we did not fish at all and that did not detract from our stay in any way. We snorkled, went to Lamani, explored San Pedro and spent hours by the pool. During our stay, we met honeymooners and fisherman from around the world and enjoyed "family style" dinners where we talked about many interesting things other than what was -- or wasn't -- caught that day.

I'd highly recommend El Pescador to anyone traveling to Ambergris Kaye.

  • Liked — The view of the Carribean Ocean
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My wife and I just left El Pescador and we are sad we had to leave. It is one of the only places I have ever been that we were able to totally relax. The staff, food, villas, activities, and Zeus and Nala (dogs) were all awesome. We already have plans to return in 2009 with the entire family.

Two thumbs up on everything. The only recommendation we had for Steve was to train the bonefish around the dock to at least nibble on a hook.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachbound22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2008

This was honestly the first vacation I have taken and left everything at home and was truly able to relax.
The accommodations, the entire staff, the cuisine and the view were all over the top.
As a fly fishing resort it's considered the best ...the guides were most knowledgeable and the guests were well match with their guides. (My lefty guide was perfect, of course he could cast righty too!) As for the non fly fishing folks...they were just as taken with the El Pescador! FYI...the best massage in the America's :)
The kayaks and bike that were available were perfect for side adventures.
Antonio...the dear bar tender, took your happiness (very seriously) into his own hands. There was never a sad moment!
The friendly atmosphere that exudes from the eclectic staff, trickles down through the guests and we were all family within 24 hours. Looking back...I have never hugged or kissed other guests from a vacation destination on our departure...it all seemed so normal.
We will return...probably before the years end....as were the thoughts of the other guests.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing...if I were forced I'd say lack of a bath tub
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank superfishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing