We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here/It is home away!”
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2005

My husband and I travelled to Belize with a VMI classmate ('61) and his wife. The guys liked to fly fish and we spent the days on walks along the beaches and reading around the pool..We all went for an eco tour that cruised the mango jungle, toured a native (really native...take your own toilet paper) village that survived from wood carvings and jewelry for the tourists..next it was on to Altan Ha.. a mayan ruin.. I think they are all pretty much the same..but one must go..this was an amazing culture and the remains of community are very interesting..then it was on to a Jungle Spa..this is a must..a delicious lunch, the guys road horses and we enjoyed a seaweed wrap and a mood, mud massage by a medicine man with volcanic ash....the hut was awesome..clean..professional..and a real "eco/native" experience..The guide.. as I understand they all are...was fabulous..We stayed in the fishing lodge El Pescador (The Fisherman) We stayed in a villa with all the amenities..staff service..pools..kitchen..view etc..This is in an area that is about to or already is "happening"..The breakfasts/lunches and dinners were included and were above average..eating at huge long wooden table..good native food..good wine..The bar is open from 2pm on..This is not a flashy resort..just very nice accomodations and good helpful staff..The people that come here are first rate with wonderful stories to tell. We hit winter break so we experienced lots of families with teenagers..The fishing was so.. so..I was told you never book a fishing trip on three days on either side of the full moon..the fish can see at night and do not bite during the day.But the fishing guides were excellent and tried so hard!!.all reports of other side trips..such as snorkeling, scuba, sailing, kayaking seemed to be well organized and enjoyed..we went into town on bikes across a hand pulled ferry to San Pedro for a half day..it is native..but trying hard to please the tourist..At El Pescador we could drink the water, but was not sure of it in town..These people speak very good English..and they have wonderful dialects..The only downer was the trash on the untended beaches..you do not see this in the beautiful brochures, but I understand the cruise ships from everywhere dump outside the three mile limit and it is gross..this will be an issue soon..Lots of Americans are buying and building on Ambrigis Caye..Also the food was outstanding at the Capricorn next to our lodge and we enjoyed the small bar and wonderful bartender full of great personal stories of this island..On this trip I think the people get the highest award and the scenery and food next!!.Do not plan to dress up..I took way to many clothes..it is very casualThat is all I know!!Blair Bickford

16  Thank mbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 605 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrickg2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Monica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: appartement à l'etage d'une villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank isola0607Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze delle ville vicino alla piscina di acqua di mare sono appartate e silenziose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#4 of 55 in San Pedro
377 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
1,253 reviews
1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £133 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing