We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the fishing, come back for the family”
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Clean, spacious and airy are adjectives to describe a space. Caring, charming and friendly are adjectives to describe people. Put all of those adjectives together with incredible fly fishing and you begin to understand the El Pescador experience. The experience starts with the resort’s management meeting you at the dock. That experience extends to the Fishing Director’s personal interest in your objectives. Family ambience is enhanced by a staff that calls you by name with a smile on their face each time they see you. An experience that is exceptional by all standards awaits anyone fortunate enough to select this piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAFFIE_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. All the staff called us by name and continually asked if they could help with anything. The food was prepared fresh for each meal and was terrific. This is primarily a fly fishing lodge, but they also have spinning rods for you to use. The resort is immaculate, the grounds are continually beig raked and cleaned. There are plenty of eco trips to take if you don't fish. If you are new to fly fishing they offer lessons every afternoon. The staff takes care of all your travel connections to and from Belize city as well as any side trips you take.The lodge has a real family atmosphere as they wait for all the guests to come down to dinner before they start eating. I can not say enough good things about the resort. I would highly reccommend El Pescador.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruceandtonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Thank you to Chris and the entire staff for making our destination wedding weekend as amazing as we had dreamed. The rooms were beautiful and kept spotless. The amenities available were wonderful and the massage is a must. The staff was extremely accommodating and added to the personality of El Pescador. The restaurant served great food and the bar's drinks were even better. The staff had no problem accommodating the 40+ people attending the wedding and worked very well to create an intimate setting for our big day. Thank you again to everyone involved for making ours the best wedding ever! Nuf luf!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

From initial conversations on the phone to arrival at the airport for departure the El Pescador Resort delivered! All of those at the resort treated us as family. We were fortunate to meet many people that we will continue to keep in touch with and plan to go back in the near future! Much thanks for the experience to those at El Pescador!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I would definitely recommend this resort to people interested in saltwater fishing..especially fly fishing. I caught a 60 pound tarpon on a fly rod and got a grand slam (bonefish, tarpon and permit) on a fly rod all in the same day. A particularly good aspect of the guided fishing trips is that the guides speak fluent English. The was much better than the situation I experienced on a similar fishing trip some years ago in Mexico.

The food and the accommodations were excellent, and the staff at the lodge were outstanding in their friendliness and helpfulness. The El Pescador lodge is a great place to stay no matter what you would like to do in Belize....diving, ecotourism, etc. But it specializes in fishing and they are very, very good at it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark291962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We spent 10 days at El Pescador for our honeymoon and it was more than we expected. Working with Chris to get everything planned was so easy, and the service from the minute you step off the plane is phenomenal. The staff is great here and one of our favorite things about the trip. We met a lot of great people as well, and the family style meals were a cool way to do things, and the bar was a fun spot. We were looking for somewhere we could fish for a few days, but also enjoy everything on the days we weren't fishing. It definitely didn't feel like everything shut down until the fishing groups got back--being served lunch by the pool was very nice, and we got to go on a snorkeling trip that was set up by the office (would recommend the 1/2 day snorkeling trip vs the catamaran trip unless you want to see Caye Caulker). The food was fantastic, we didn't have dinner offsite once although that is something you can do if you want. The villas are very luxurious-spacious and comfortable. Our fishing guide Tomas put us on a ton of fish and we had a great time with him. We also took the kayaks out on the lagoon in the back of the property which was fun as well. We are already joking that we need to come back for a 3 month anniversary trip---great vacation, great lodge, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludakristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Fantastic stay with the entire El Pescador family. Ali, Alonzo and Lori Ann were great hosts along with their entire helpful, friendly staff. Fishing guides (Sineo and Raton) knew where the fish were and provided great days on the water. Pool and bar were the gathering place after fishing. Family style seating for dinner was a great way to share daily experiences with and to meet other guests. Would not consider staying any other place on Ambergris Caye. Anxiously looking foward to our next stay at El Pescador.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
991 reviews
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
860 reviews
3.8 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £140 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing