We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SunBreeze Hotel”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My review is unsolicited, for those who are concerned about that. We stayed at the Sunbreeze for six days in early February of 2013 in one of their 2nd floor Deluxe rooms. Everything at the hotel was fine. This is a small hotel with a very friendly staff. The attached Blue Water Grille is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
There are newer reviews for SunBreeze Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

Upon checkout management asked us to fill out a form with comments that states it enables them to add your comments on tripadvisor as if they were you. This would explain some of the reviews. There are 2 hotels Sunbreeze suites and Sunbreeze hotel. We stayed at the hotel, walked by the suites,they looked nicer. The location is very good- close to restaurants, dive shops. the blue water grill was excellent for dinner( not so much for lunch). Wild mangos 2 doors down was excellent for lunch, good quinoa burger, but dissapointing for dinner. Expect rooms to be on par with super8. I would not pay rack rate for the rooms. we booked through discovery expeditions and got them cheaper. The rooms could definitely use an update. It is quite dark in the rooms, but lighting is provided. The beds were surprisingly very comfortable. Filtered water and ice provided, coffee available 5-7 am. The location helped us walk to various dive shops to compare prices. Our overall stay was good except for when they handed us the comment cards. Side note- if you are going to blue hole, take some meclizine, water is very rough. If you are only snorkeling, this is a long day12 hrs or so, not sure if it is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBsuites, General Manager at SunBreeze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are deeply sorry that your stay was not up to your satisfaction. As a trip advisor member we do promote our membership through our comment cards. We also promote it on our website and other medias. Our good reviews have placed us in the position we are presently because of the contribution from our guest posting and the hard work from our staff. We are also happy to mention that we have upgraded our deluxe rooms with higher quality linen, new mattresses and flat screen TV’s. Regarding our own site restaurant Blue Water Grill, is one of the leading restaurants in San Pedro and we regret that it did not met your expectations for lunch service. We have addressed your comments accordingly. We hope to see you again and we will ensure that your stay is more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Ms. Julia Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

SunBreeze deserves a good review. After claiming our bags at the airport we were told SunBreeze was a short walk away.. It was a very short walk as it was around the corner to the right from baggage claim. Even though it was so close to the airport we hardly noticed planes as only day flights come and go.

Upon check-in we were greeted and welcomed nicely. I had arranged for a snorkel/catamaran excursion prior arriving and we where presented with the vouchers and everything was arranged for us upon arrival. They made this easy. When I travel I usually like to use the hotels to arrange trips and excursions as they tend to use a very creditable and reliable outside vendor. The company they hooked us up with was great. We were picked up on the boat at the end of SunBreezes private dock. There are many "sketchy" "salesmen" around the area trying to sell their tour/fishing/diving adventures, but you never know what you are going to get. Using the hotel is a great way to stay away from questionable operators.

Upon arriving in the room I had requested a bottle of champagne for my girlfriend and I. It was there, chilled and decorated with a floral arrangement. The room itself was basic. Decent bed, decent bathroom, standard dresser, and a hinge mounted tv with wires exposed. As we did not intend on spending much time in the room during our visit this wasn't that much of a concern.

The courtyard was nice. It was well maintained. Each morning it was swept and cleaned. Scattered with palm trees, open to the sun during the day, and well lit at night made it a nice view from the door of our room. The pool was in decent shape, by no means modern, however always enough chairs for catching some sun. The poolside bar was an added bonus to keep us hydrated in the heat.

The on site resturant did a nice breakfast. We had lunch and dinner elsewhere. For both lunch and dinner it always had a good crowd and nice looking dishes.

The proximity to town was great. Everywhere we wanted to go was walkable.. We did a lot of walking, but for us it was walkable.

The hotel as a whole looks very beachy "70's". But at the 'per night' price it would be hard to beat.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. For the most part my girlfriend and I where out shopping, eating, snorkeling, and partying at night. The hotel was perfect for what we needed it to be.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms are open the courtyard, if that makes a difference..
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gevans1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

In our many trips to San Pedro, this was the first time I'd stayed at Sunbreeze and, to be honest, I wasn't expecting much. See, my wife was there about a year ago and returned with sad reports about the service and general non-caring attitude of the staff. Let me tell you, they have turned that around. To a soul, everyone at Sunbreeze was pleasant, fun and bent over backward to help us with any needs.

We took a group of 46 scuba divers down and, with a group that size, there are always challenges, big and small. And there were this time. Happily, the hotel took care of just about everything for us, including a couple of medical issues. They had a doctor on site in 15 minutes when one of our group fainted. Thankfully there were no real issues but it certainly was reassuring to know they had our backs for any problems.

Rooms aren't fancy but the location is excellent. Literally right on the south end of "downtown" San Pedro, you can walk to all the restaurants and bars you want. Rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job of getting their jobs done while we were diving in the mornings so our rooms were ready when we came back to shower for lunch.

The pool is nice enough and some of our group spent a lot of hours there. Having the bar right next to the pool and Blue Water Grill, an excellent restaurant, right next to that is a bonus you'll enjoy.

Don't hesitate to add this to your list of places to stay on Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DVenturesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We brought 46 travelers from DiVentures in Omaha, NE and Springfield, MO to stay and dive for a week at Sunbreeze. The resort staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the time we booked to checkout. The rooms are nice, always clean. The grounds are very well kept, staff was out sweeping, mopping, and tidying the sand at all times. The pool area was very nice, and always peaceful. The onsite restaurant, Blue Water Grill, had excellent food. We had breakfast included every day, and there was a great menu to choose from. Their lunch and dinner menu had a variety of "American" items and local foods as well. The resort staff helped us organize a variety of land excursions before we arrived, and helped us set up our diving (BIG thanks Lupita and Kevin!). Our dive shop will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We just returned from our visit to Belize. Our first stop was Ambergis Caye. You should have seen the faces on my teenagers when I pointed to the hotel "Sunbreeze" that you could see across the street from the airport. They were a bit skeptical to say the least. But I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking. We were met at the baggage claim area by one of the hotel employees. he walked our bags across the street to the hotel. Once behind those front doors, it was an oasis. The property looks out over the bluest water we have ever seen. The staff was excellent. We had 5 family members so we had 3 separate rooms. All rooms were clean, fresh and comfortable. We were told there was a good restaurant on site. It turned out to be the best restaurant in town. We ate there many nights and advanced reservations are needed. It was an easy walk to town or travel by golf cart. The dive shop was great and accomodating. My kids loved those guys. You never hear an airplane from the airport across the street except maybe in the afternoon. But noise is not an issue. You dont lay on the beach there but they have a lovely pool and good lounge chairs. After visiting for 2 weeks and staying at 2 other hotels, everyone liked this one the best. very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cabo022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Had a great time in San Pedro but having stayed at another locale for 5 nights we needed a place for the last two. Chose this for its location on the beach near airport but was astounded at the price for a tired room with a poorly working shower. The resurant attached but ran by others is was top drawer. Not worh the premium price for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
10.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,294 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £100 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing