We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located in the heart of San Pedro”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Belmopan, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Centrally located in the heart of San Pedro”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This was my second time to San Pedro and the Sunbreeze hotel. A quick stroll away from almost everywhere in the center of town. My first time I was there to work but this time It was to relax and enjoy and that I did. Comfortable rooms and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle30372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    372
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
213
377
91
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The SunBreeze Hotel was very accommodating, making every effort to make our stay as comfortable as it could be. The staff are extraordinary, courteous as well as helpful. The rooms are spacious and the shower was made for divers... room for the gear and still plenty of room to clean up.

The Blue Water Grill has an ample menu of local favorite dishes and the libations generously served.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank atx_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Sunbreeze is a beautiful property - not a five-star resort, but a comfortable place to enjoy the sun. It is located on the beach almost in the center of the town of San Pedro - close to restaurants, groceries and whatever else you might need. The central courtyard is well-landscaped and has enough foliage to screen rooms to some extent. The pool is raised to allow you to look at the ocean while you catch some rays. Rooms are a good size with a table and comfortable chairs plus two double beds (I don't think they have any queen or king beds). Staff were very friendly and tried to accommodate our desires.

The on-site restaurant is quite good and not insanely expensive. I highly recommend the continental breakfast - cinnamon bread toast and enough totally fresh fruit to keep you going for hours. Do eat elsewhere a lot, though. Great food in San Pedro.

This is not what many people expect from a beach hotel - there is no ocean front beach. San Pedro town is made up of a sand strip that's essentially a walkway with a lot of piers for dive boats, tour boats (small ones) and excursion companies. It's more interesting than plain sand, but could be a shock for those expecting classic beach front.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother to pay the extra for a 'superior' room unless you are guaranteed the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agriffithva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

First time to stay here. Everyone very friendly. Room very clean. Bed so-so. Our room definitely did not have new mattresses. I would call it a 3 star hotel but the location is awesome. Very close to dive shops and other shops. Great place to walk from. Nice pool. Overall we are very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel only because we paid in full for this hotel ahead of time. The hotel misrepresented the rooms that we paid for --did not have ocean views. By the way, only 1 room has an actual ocean front view. The bedding was torn and in disrepair. It appeared the room was also bug infested. I had swollen eyes after sleeping on their old bed. The management was unaccommodating and would not reimburse us the rooms nor would they move us to another property they had (Sunbreeze Suites). Although, the suites were no better. Ruined our trip to Belize. I do not recommend this hotel at all! There are much better hotels to stay at on this island.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunita215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBsuites, General Manager at SunBreeze Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post another review. We are sorry and regret the misunderstanding of the features of the property being a U shape, set back from the sea, which inhibits us from offering full ocean view. We have done our best to ensure that all literature clearly describes the differences in room categories that the SunBreeze hotel offers. Our Deluxe Rooms feature garden and partial ocean view. Indeed, one of the best features of our sister property, SunBreeze Suites, is that all units boast private balcony with ocean view. Unfortunately the package purchased was non refundable /non transferable; furthermore, both properties operate independently. We did our best to meet your expectation by assigning you Deluxe Room 201 which offers more view and upgraded the bedding to make your stay more comfortable. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that since your stay in December all the mattresses, bedding, and TV’s have been upgraded in our Deluxe Rooms. Our assistant manager, David Vidal, kept in constant communication with you to ensure that the rest of your stay was as comfortable to your expectation.

Should you return, we believe that the SunBreeze Suites would be the most suitable property for your stay. We look forward to the opportunity of offering you great hospitality at the SunBreeze Suites.

Yours sincerely,
Julia Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We used credit card points for our stay at this hotel. It is nothing fancy but great location, very friendly staff, rooms super clean and spacious, and nice pool area. I would say to not always eat at the restaurant because there are better and less expensive choices but since so well located, across from airport there are numerous close choices. The rooms are dated but who spends their time staring at the dated artwork in the the room versus being outside enjoying the beautiful island. We would go back! Great value as well!
There is also a spa, but ran out of time to use it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potatofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Had a great time on my recent visit to San Pedro. Hotel was very clean, beds comfortable, staff very friendly nice pool, nice beach area, and grounds very pretty.I would stay there again for sure. Staff also met our group at the airport to load our bags up and delivered them to our room and also collected them at the room to load on the plane for departure

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrim103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
972 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing