We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel room met our needs. It even had 3 pictures on the walls! This is impressive when we’ve stayed some places that have NO pictures on the walls.

The water is not drinkable so the maids would leave a pitcher of water daily in your room. You could get more if needed. There was an ice machine on the property too which was convenient.

The room was actually pretty large; it even had a nice tray ceiling with what looked like hardwood molding. The beds were comfortable…same with pillows.

The room had a little mini refrigerator in it if you wanted to go the local store and buy drinks (which we did). Very convenient.

You could get a hairdryer from the front desk and the room had a safe in it as well.
Ample storage for clothes. 6 drawers and a 6 bin type place to stuff small items plus a place to hang clothes.

The shower was huge with a bench in it that doesn’t even get wet since it’s on the other side of the shower from the shower head. Great place to hang and dry scuba gear.

Every room had a little front porch on it with 2 plastic chairs and a plastic table. The porch, granted, was open to anyone who walked by you but, who cares!

Hugh Parkley Dive Connection (I think) – These guys were AWESOME; very attentive to safety and the needs of their customers. We tipped them very well. Great marine life and healthy reefs. Short boat ride to the sites (10 min max). They have a small boat (we got the first few days) and a large boat (we used when the water got super choppy). This was the first trip we have seen at least 5-10 nurse sharks swimming around out in the open on each dive!

Not a lap pool, small but great for dipping in when hot. 4’ max, I think. Chairs were comfortable with pads.

Town: Crazy busy with golf carts and bikes. We rented bikes and rode up and down the beach checking out other properties. The Sunbreeze Hotel seemed to be the best for being centrally located right across the street from the airport (noise not a problem). You could walk out to the beach and turn left and within a 5 minute walk, run into say, 10 restaurants on the beach.

The people in San Pedro were all very nice and we always felt safe! You won't be disappointed in this property unless you are a 5 star type of traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReviewerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Large, clean room. Fabulous shower.We walked to it across the street from airport, but there are no nite flites, so sleep was not interrupted. Staff friendly and very helpful.They anticipated our needs, such as refilling our drinking water every evening before we asked. Drinking water is always bottled and not free in restaurants so refill your own at the hotel. Good breakfasts.Nice pool. No beachfront, but that's 2 bldgs. to the left. Right behind the hotel is the local library on the 1st floor and tourist info bureau w/free city maps on 2nd floor. Walk to Nellie's laundry, drop off & pick up next day. Much cheaper. Eat at Waraguma, a pupuseria where the locals eat. Excellent and cheap. Only thing not perfect is that all other guests were also Americans so we didn't get to meet international travelers.

Room Tip: ground floor had nice little patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location--at the end of the main San Pedro strip. We thought we might need to rent a golf cart, but turned out everything was within walking distance--restaurants, shops, bars, ice cream and water. Searious, the tour operator, is also right next to the hotel (great place, will review separately). It's also right across the street (not a highway, a street) from Tropic Air so we just walked to the hotel when we landed. It was amazing that the planes never disturbed us. The hotel itself is older. If you are looking for an upscale resort, this is not the place. But the staff works endlessly on maintaining the landscape and keeping everying clean. We had a first floor room off the garden and sat out on our little patio. The pool is really clean and beautiful. We had an issue with the plumbing in our room twice and the second time had to wait until the maintenance person arrived at 8am. In fact, we reported the problem at maybe 7am and the desk clerk didn't mention that we had to wait until 8am. I actually ended up using the dressing room bathroom! We ate at the Blue Water Grill which is part of the hotel a couple of times. The restaurant is at the front of the property right on the water and open. The service was great for the most part. Just one time when we stopped for a drink at the bar on a busy night received an attitude from Jeremy, the bartender. Overall, I would go back to the Sunbreeze.

Room Tip: Personally liked the ground floor garden room with the patio and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aznorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The rooms were big, clean and delightful. The staff was unbelievable, they were kind,they would help you with anything,just overall a great experience. I going to return next April!!! The hotel is right next to the airport and a cart rental, so you don't have to go far for anything. Plus we found a little grocery store about a block down that had cold beer,chips and anything you need. Its a must stay hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liko88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Being our first trip to Belize, we have nothing to compare the hotel to. We were pleased w the facility & thought it was quite comfortable. The hotel is a little dated, but very clean & kept up well. The staff were most helpful. Prior to our visit, we exchanged several emails seeking information. A snorkeling trip along w air reservations from the island to Belize International Airport were arranged and there were no problems with those. Couldn't have asked for better service or nicer employees. The open restaurant & bar look out on the Caribbean & are extremely pleasant. Good food & drinks. Nice pool, but we only used it for relaxing beside.

Don't worry about the airport being right across the street. We were not bothered by aircraft noise.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 225, which we would recommend, & found it very comfortable. There is a patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2Satisfied_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel was ok, reasonably clean all though a little dated. The problem was the dive shop and the hotel could not cooperate. Couple of mess ups with our dive package. Also with restaraunt. We had breakfast included with our travel package and hotel claimed to not know that. Several days later, after paying for breakfast, it was straightened out but they would not give us credit for 3 days of breakfast. Had they not messed these things up I would stay There again. Sorry guys

Room Tip: Don't pay for upgrade. All it gets you is a fridge and a few steps closer to water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambchopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Brenda, the night manager, was rude, no, more obnoxious than rude. Called me a liar, refused to take responsibility for her employees actions. Wouldn't look me in the eye. Totally untypical of Belize. In fact most people working here are usually quite nice. Smoked a cigarette in front of me, blew smoke in my face. Not nice. All the rest of my trip I had excellent service, excellent people. In fact, the restaurant here is one of the best.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Pol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 55 in San Pedro
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 55 in San Pedro
1,368 reviews
1 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#21 of 55 in San Pedro
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £113 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing