We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Sunbreeze”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Sunbreeze”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Looking for a larger group to stay in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, the Sunbreeze was just perfect. Friendly staff, great location, facilities tops, value for the dollar excellent. Restaurant and pool bar staff and service completed the picture perfectly! I would return again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for pool and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TorJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    372
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
213
377
91
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Absolutely nothing to not like here, the deluxe room was very nice, quiet, well decorated, perfectly tidy, everything was in excellent or new condition (with one of the most comfortable beds we'd ever been on), spacious bath with powerful shower. Partial seaview, short stroll to the gorgeous pool (passing a couple of comfy hammocks along the way), wonderful place to stay on la isla bonita.

But the absolutely best part of this place is the staff. Priscilla, Lupita, Julia and every other staff member we dealt with were just the friendliest and most helpful people you'll ever meet. When we do eventually return to Ambergris Caye, we won't even have to think about where to stay -- this is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Rich_PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We did a lot of research on Ambergris Caye places and chose Sunbreeze Hotel for amenities, location and price. It exceeded our expectations in all ways. The room was large and simple but had everything we needed including hairdryer and frig. Staff brough us fresh water daily and ice was filtered as well. The pool was large with a view of the sea and bar area and surrounded by sand so felt like you were in the sea. The restaurant was wonderful, all three meals had fresh island foods in generous portions and reasonable prices. They staff at the resort went beyond what most do to make our stay pleasant to the point one front desk gal even had her husband escort us to a restaurant to be sure we found it. They arranged carts for us, gave us ideas of things to do and were always ready with a smile and ready to do what it took to make us happy. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane101065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Centrally located. On the beach. Staff very accommodating. Within walking distance to everything. And right across the street from the regional airport. Quiet and friendly. The dive shop is right there with excursions to the Blue Hole.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Wife and I stayed here the first week of May. The premises are very nice and the staff are friendly and accommodating. Great location, nice bar and restaurant right on the beach. (But not much beach right here as at some of the large resorts that have private beaches.)

If we go back to Belize, we will definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on the second floor. It was fine. Not a full house this time of year and noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank RichLDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel room met our needs. It even had 3 pictures on the walls! This is impressive when we’ve stayed some places that have NO pictures on the walls.

The water is not drinkable so the maids would leave a pitcher of water daily in your room. You could get more if needed. There was an ice machine on the property too which was convenient.

The room was actually pretty large; it even had a nice tray ceiling with what looked like hardwood molding. The beds were comfortable…same with pillows.

The room had a little mini refrigerator in it if you wanted to go the local store and buy drinks (which we did). Very convenient.

You could get a hairdryer from the front desk and the room had a safe in it as well.
Ample storage for clothes. 6 drawers and a 6 bin type place to stuff small items plus a place to hang clothes.

The shower was huge with a bench in it that doesn’t even get wet since it’s on the other side of the shower from the shower head. Great place to hang and dry scuba gear.

Every room had a little front porch on it with 2 plastic chairs and a plastic table. The porch, granted, was open to anyone who walked by you but, who cares!

Hugh Parkley Dive Connection (I think) – These guys were AWESOME; very attentive to safety and the needs of their customers. We tipped them very well. Great marine life and healthy reefs. Short boat ride to the sites (10 min max). They have a small boat (we got the first few days) and a large boat (we used when the water got super choppy). This was the first trip we have seen at least 5-10 nurse sharks swimming around out in the open on each dive!

Not a lap pool, small but great for dipping in when hot. 4’ max, I think. Chairs were comfortable with pads.

Town: Crazy busy with golf carts and bikes. We rented bikes and rode up and down the beach checking out other properties. The Sunbreeze Hotel seemed to be the best for being centrally located right across the street from the airport (noise not a problem). You could walk out to the beach and turn left and within a 5 minute walk, run into say, 10 restaurants on the beach.

The people in San Pedro were all very nice and we always felt safe! You won't be disappointed in this property unless you are a 5 star type of traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Large, clean room. Fabulous shower.We walked to it across the street from airport, but there are no nite flites, so sleep was not interrupted. Staff friendly and very helpful.They anticipated our needs, such as refilling our drinking water every evening before we asked. Drinking water is always bottled and not free in restaurants so refill your own at the hotel. Good breakfasts.Nice pool. No beachfront, but that's 2 bldgs. to the left. Right behind the hotel is the local library on the 1st floor and tourist info bureau w/free city maps on 2nd floor. Walk to Nellie's laundry, drop off & pick up next day. Much cheaper. Eat at Waraguma, a pupuseria where the locals eat. Excellent and cheap. Only thing not perfect is that all other guests were also Americans so we didn't get to meet international travelers.

Room Tip: ground floor had nice little patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,279 reviews
2.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
529 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing