We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

First the good things: the hotel is very well placed. It is almost on the beach (even if the majority of the rooms don't have a sea view) and it is at walking distance from every place in san pedro. The other good thing is the size and the cleanliness of the room.
Now the bad thing: the service. We had a problem with the laundry service: a throuser has been returned in pieces. The hotel manager wasn't helpful as we expected and she wanted us talk with the lady that handles the outsourced service (even if we handled the trousers to the hotel so we would expect to talk only with the hotel representative). We have been said to be liars and that the trousers were already torn; in the end we managed to get a (very) symbolic refund.
Another problem with the service has been the following: there is a sort of security service during the night since the hotel is accessible from the beach side. Unfortunately the people doing the service decide to talk all night long, for 3 consecutive
nights. We had to go out from the room around 3 in the morning asking them to stop talking aloud.
In conclusion, since there are other hotels with a similar good position in San Pedro, it is probably not worth the extra cost that this hotel charges since there are no extra services associated to it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    372
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
213
377
91
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA and South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Sunbreeze Hotel in San Pedro in May, and loved the island and much about our stay. This hotel is in a good location right on the beach, is a comfortable stop, and has a great restaurant. But we left with a slightly bad taste in our mouth due to some very silly service glitches. Firstly, the restaurant and front desk would not let us borrow wine glasses to have wine (which we brought with us, since we are in the wine trade) on our balcony. They told us to use the plastic cups in our room. Even when we offered to give them a deposit for the glasses, they would not allow it! (so we grumbled and use plastic). The day we were checking out, we needed to get our luggage down to the docks (to catch a boat up the island), but the front desk refused to send someone to help us with the luggage, even when we offered to pay. (We then dragged our bags outside and started down the beach,and ran into a very nice staff member who offered to help us and then almost refused our tip). The hotel's attitude was sort of incomprehensible, given the nice laid-back and super friendly nature of Belize, the nice hotel amenities, and top-end (expensive) restaurant, and the fact that Radisson Belize City refers people to this hotel for San Pedro accommodations. All that said, we would stay here again, as the room was nice (and huge), the location was great, the dive shop was the best on the island (loved the diving and snorkeling), and the internet usually worked in the lobby area, which was very convenient for us. The pool was also a lovely place to relax at the end of the day after too much salt water.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We recently spent 5 nights at The Sunbreeze hotel. It is centrally located, close to the restaurants and bars. The breakfasts at the restaurant (Bluewater Grill) were filling.
The standards room we had was spacious and clean. There is a nice pool and lounging area which wasn't at all busy when we were there (March)
There is an onsite snorkel/dive shop, which we booked a trip to Hol Chan/Shark ray alley through, although the guy there was a little vague..

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sambobsquarepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sunbreeze Hotel (SH) Mar. 1-4, 2009. SH has a great location, just a very short walk from the airport. We literally stepped off our flight, got our luggage, crossed the street and walked right into the hotel. Talk about convenient. It was nice not to have to hunt around for a taxi. And I would mention that even with its proximity to the airport, you hardly ever heard the aircraft and it was never a bother when we did.

The SH is a nice property set up in a U shape in a Spanish villa style with a covered portico running all around the inside courtyard. Within the courtyard is a nice sandy area with palm trees and other plants as well as the pool (with a spacious deck area) and the restaurant (Blue Water Grill). There is a beach volleyball court just outside the hotel near the dive shop. The beach is really just a stretch of sand up to a breakwater wall, but there are plenty of nice stretches of beach both north and south of the SH, so take a walk if you feel the need to sit on the sand by the water. Ramon’s Village just to the south maintains a nice stretch of beach and they’re very friendly there. For my part, I was just as happy to soak up the sun in a deck chair by the pool at Sunbreeze and enjoy drinks from the bar.

Our room was spacious with a tile floor, two beds (note the mattresses are very soft, so if you like a firm mattress, be forewarned), air conditioning, a dresser, a table with chairs, television with numerous cable channels, a large sink area, mini refrigerator, and a decent-sized bathroom and shower with hot water. I liked having the refrigerator in the room as we bought some items from the local markets to save money on our food budget. Outside the room and under the portico we had a table and chairs to sit in and relax in the evening. It was fun to watch the geckoes hanging out on the walls and just enjoy the fine evening breezes.

At the Sunbreeze, you could book diving and snorkeling tours at their dive shop and you were never far from any number of other tour and dive operators. You could also rent bikes for BZD 5 per hour or BZD 25 per day. The bikes were a bit well-used and I would actually recommend going to Joe’s Bike Rentals north of the Sunbreeze on Middle Street for bikes in good condition that came with a basket, too.

We didn’t actually eat at the Blue Water Grill as, I admit, we’re cheap and hate to pay a lot for food. Understand that the BWG is one of the finest restaurants on the island, so you wouldn’t go wrong eating there. I do recommend George’s Kitchen for breakfast (about ½ mile south of Sunbreeze) and Ramon’s Village also served a good breakfast (coffee and juice were both included in the price). For that matter, the breakfast prices at BWG were comparable, so that would have been a good choice too. For a cheap meal, go to Ruby’s Cafe just north of Sunbreeze on Front Street where you can get fresh baked pastries, banana bread, johnny cakes filled with chicken and more for relatively little. If you want to get adventurous, walk north on Middle Street until you come across the little hole-in-the-wall Salvadoran eateries selling pupusas (pork, beans and cheese sandwiched between two tortillas and grilled) for BZD 2.50 each (USD 1.25). Get two or three with a drink and you have a filling, inexpensive meal. Don’t miss the fruit stands dotted around the island where you can pick up fresh pineapple, watermelon, bananas and more for relatively little money.

The Sunbreeze Hotel was a nice base for exploring San Pedro and the island of Ambergris Caye. Thanks to its location right in town, we had easy access to all the shops and restaurants and we could just step out onto the beach for a nice walk. I know the resorts both north and south of town (Portofino, Victoria House, etc.) are very nice, but if you want easy access to town at a nice, clean place, try the Sunbreeze.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philvirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne10534
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sunbreeze Hotel for 5 days / 4 nights in January 2009. We had a wonderful stay and were so glad that we chose the Sunbreeze. One of the great things about the Sunbreeze its its location. It is just on the south end of town which makes it easy to explore the restaurants, vendors, tour operators, and general experience of San Pedro. We were really glad we didn't book one of the hotels that is 1-2 miles walk from town. The Sunbreeze was very clean and in very good repair. The standard room was comfortable with 2 chairs & table and 2 full size beds (so, the beds were a little small). Rooms 209-212 do not have windows facing the courtyard. All other rooms have a few plastic chairs outside their windows for guests to sit outside and there is also a shared courtyard with chairs and chaises among the palm trees.

The staff was very helpful including arranging for a slightly later checkout and booking our return flight for us. They always greeted us with a smile.

Like most hotels on the island, the Sunbreeze does not have a swimming area. If you want a swimming area, I'd check out Ramon's Village or Xanadu. The Sunbreeze did have a very pretty pool that is right off the Blue Water's bar area.

It was great to have such a wonderful restaurant (Blue Water Grill) just a few steps away. We tried several different restaurants in town and Blue Water was our favorite -- excellent food, friendly service, and water-front seating. Breakfast entrees were around $7 US. I think the dinner entrees were around $15-20 US, but I can't remember for sure. In any case, the food was excellent, and it was cheaper than you would get for comparable quality/creativity at a U.S. restaurant.

We booked wonderful tours with both Searious and Seaduced tours. Both operations have tour desks just a couple docks north of Sunbreeze on the beach side.

Traveling tips and notes:
-If you are American, bring lots of small U.S. bills for tipping and small purchases. Any time you get change, it will be in Belizean dollars, so you don't want to be breaking $20 US bills every time you want to buy a postcard
-There are plenty of non-seafood eating options at restaurants for those of us that can't eat seafood.
-The main thing to experience on the island is water-related (snorkeling, scuba, boat tours, etc.). You can book tours to see the mainland Mayan ruins and jungle, but it will take a full day and require a lot of travel time.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne10534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We stayed at the SunBreeze Hotel in November 2008 while they were doing a lot of construction around the hotel. There is also a school right across the street that was loud as well on the school days.

Pros: Great location, close to town, huge room, great staff.

Cons: Very noisy (hard to relax with all the noise). The dive operation onsite is one of the least expensive one on the island, but the service suffered.

If you are looking for a quiet getaway, you might look a little further south.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We contacted the Sunbreeze direct and were very pleased with the prices offered and the assistance afforded. We found the rate, with air transfers included, very good value.

On arrival our baggage was picked up at the small aerodrome and we walked the 200 yards to the hotel. Despite the hotel being close to the aerodrome you hardly noticed the aircraft.

Rooms were clean, of a good size, well decorated, had good storage, comfy beds and had both air con and fans. The wash areas and showers were of a very good standard.

The Sunbreeze is also about 200 yards from where the restaurants/ shops and bars of San Pedro exist, as such it is relatively quiet. Even the onsite restaurant, that was very often full and served good quality dishes closed at about 1000.

Families and groups of all ages and races were at the hotel while we were there and all appeared to enjoy their stay.

If you want to learn to dive or are a diver, the onsite Aquadives was probably the best PADI accredited setup on the Caye. Whilst we were there they were improving their accomodation to a very high standard.

The hotel staff were excellent and obviously well developed in customer care, they even made arrangements for us to have afternoon tea...............

  • Liked — How it was set up
  • Disliked — WiFi Internet access restricted to Hotel lobby area
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sanders_CR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
529 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing