We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great laid back vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Iron Mountain MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great laid back vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We spent a week at the Sun Breeze over New Years 2010. The hotel is in a great location. While other people are driving those crazy golf carts around town you can walk to anywhere you want to go. And yet it is not in the congested area of downtown. The room was very spacious and sound proof. Never heard a neighbor or the planes from the near-by airport. The hotel bar is between the ocean and pool. As with most bars on the beach no doors, walls or windows to spoil the view. Food was very good. We ate there a couple of times and the lobster was great (about $50.00 American for two with a few drinks) Apetizers at the bar were excellant. We would have eaten there more often but there is so much to choose from by just walking down the beach. Fish, lobster, shrimp are served everywhere. First time I ever had a lobster burrito or shrimp tacos.

This hotel and town is way different than an all inclusive place. What makes it so nice is there are so many places to eat and drink I now realize why there are no all inclusive resorts. Why restrict yourself to one place. We walked home from a bar at 2:30 AM on New Years day and never once was concerned about our safety. Bring a light jacket if your going somewhere by boat but while your on the island forget your socks and jeans. I wore nothing but T-shirts, shorts and sandles everywhere even in the nice restraunts.

This is a very friendly town where everyone speaks english. No one is in a hurry to go anywhere or do anything. At first you might think the service is slow but thats just the laid back style of this town. Like the one bartender said to me when I asked for the bill. Relax your on Belize time now.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    364
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
204
370
86
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

This wonderfully located property fails to live up to its potential. The rooms are spacious but really poorly decorated; towels are skimpy; shower water sometimes hot, sometimes not. Staff tries; laundry service was fabulous. But overall, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAKLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

We were in Belize for business on the mainland and had 3 days left for relaxation. We chose to fly to San Pedro. So glad we chose Sunbreeze for our stay there. Stepped off the plane, collected our luggage, and crossed the street to Sunbreeze. Enjoyed a great massage at the spa. We only had breakfast at the restaurant, but it was great. Drinks were good at the bar. Just too many other choices around the area for other meals. Great places to eat, all within walking distance. Shops close by too. You are not confined to your resort like so many other places. Booked a snorkel trip to the marine reserve through Aqua Dives on site. Manuel was great! We are already planning another trip with the kids. Great value and great resort. The grounds are neat and tidy and the rooms were clean and spacious. The school next door was not an issue. It was nice to see and hear children learning. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel-rph-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

First the good things: the hotel is very well placed. It is almost on the beach (even if the majority of the rooms don't have a sea view) and it is at walking distance from every place in san pedro. The other good thing is the size and the cleanliness of the room.
Now the bad thing: the service. We had a problem with the laundry service: a throuser has been returned in pieces. The hotel manager wasn't helpful as we expected and she wanted us talk with the lady that handles the outsourced service (even if we handled the trousers to the hotel so we would expect to talk only with the hotel representative). We have been said to be liars and that the trousers were already torn; in the end we managed to get a (very) symbolic refund.
Another problem with the service has been the following: there is a sort of security service during the night since the hotel is accessible from the beach side. Unfortunately the people doing the service decide to talk all night long, for 3 consecutive
nights. We had to go out from the room around 3 in the morning asking them to stop talking aloud.
In conclusion, since there are other hotels with a similar good position in San Pedro, it is probably not worth the extra cost that this hotel charges since there are no extra services associated to it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA and South Africa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Sunbreeze Hotel in San Pedro in May, and loved the island and much about our stay. This hotel is in a good location right on the beach, is a comfortable stop, and has a great restaurant. But we left with a slightly bad taste in our mouth due to some very silly service glitches. Firstly, the restaurant and front desk would not let us borrow wine glasses to have wine (which we brought with us, since we are in the wine trade) on our balcony. They told us to use the plastic cups in our room. Even when we offered to give them a deposit for the glasses, they would not allow it! (so we grumbled and use plastic). The day we were checking out, we needed to get our luggage down to the docks (to catch a boat up the island), but the front desk refused to send someone to help us with the luggage, even when we offered to pay. (We then dragged our bags outside and started down the beach,and ran into a very nice staff member who offered to help us and then almost refused our tip). The hotel's attitude was sort of incomprehensible, given the nice laid-back and super friendly nature of Belize, the nice hotel amenities, and top-end (expensive) restaurant, and the fact that Radisson Belize City refers people to this hotel for San Pedro accommodations. All that said, we would stay here again, as the room was nice (and huge), the location was great, the dive shop was the best on the island (loved the diving and snorkeling), and the internet usually worked in the lobby area, which was very convenient for us. The pool was also a lovely place to relax at the end of the day after too much salt water.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

We recently spent 5 nights at The Sunbreeze hotel. It is centrally located, close to the restaurants and bars. The breakfasts at the restaurant (Bluewater Grill) were filling.
The standards room we had was spacious and clean. There is a nice pool and lounging area which wasn't at all busy when we were there (March)
There is an onsite snorkel/dive shop, which we booked a trip to Hol Chan/Shark ray alley through, although the guy there was a little vague..

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sambobsquarepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sunbreeze Hotel (SH) Mar. 1-4, 2009. SH has a great location, just a very short walk from the airport. We literally stepped off our flight, got our luggage, crossed the street and walked right into the hotel. Talk about convenient. It was nice not to have to hunt around for a taxi. And I would mention that even with its proximity to the airport, you hardly ever heard the aircraft and it was never a bother when we did.

The SH is a nice property set up in a U shape in a Spanish villa style with a covered portico running all around the inside courtyard. Within the courtyard is a nice sandy area with palm trees and other plants as well as the pool (with a spacious deck area) and the restaurant (Blue Water Grill). There is a beach volleyball court just outside the hotel near the dive shop. The beach is really just a stretch of sand up to a breakwater wall, but there are plenty of nice stretches of beach both north and south of the SH, so take a walk if you feel the need to sit on the sand by the water. Ramon’s Village just to the south maintains a nice stretch of beach and they’re very friendly there. For my part, I was just as happy to soak up the sun in a deck chair by the pool at Sunbreeze and enjoy drinks from the bar.

Our room was spacious with a tile floor, two beds (note the mattresses are very soft, so if you like a firm mattress, be forewarned), air conditioning, a dresser, a table with chairs, television with numerous cable channels, a large sink area, mini refrigerator, and a decent-sized bathroom and shower with hot water. I liked having the refrigerator in the room as we bought some items from the local markets to save money on our food budget. Outside the room and under the portico we had a table and chairs to sit in and relax in the evening. It was fun to watch the geckoes hanging out on the walls and just enjoy the fine evening breezes.

At the Sunbreeze, you could book diving and snorkeling tours at their dive shop and you were never far from any number of other tour and dive operators. You could also rent bikes for BZD 5 per hour or BZD 25 per day. The bikes were a bit well-used and I would actually recommend going to Joe’s Bike Rentals north of the Sunbreeze on Middle Street for bikes in good condition that came with a basket, too.

We didn’t actually eat at the Blue Water Grill as, I admit, we’re cheap and hate to pay a lot for food. Understand that the BWG is one of the finest restaurants on the island, so you wouldn’t go wrong eating there. I do recommend George’s Kitchen for breakfast (about ½ mile south of Sunbreeze) and Ramon’s Village also served a good breakfast (coffee and juice were both included in the price). For that matter, the breakfast prices at BWG were comparable, so that would have been a good choice too. For a cheap meal, go to Ruby’s Cafe just north of Sunbreeze on Front Street where you can get fresh baked pastries, banana bread, johnny cakes filled with chicken and more for relatively little. If you want to get adventurous, walk north on Middle Street until you come across the little hole-in-the-wall Salvadoran eateries selling pupusas (pork, beans and cheese sandwiched between two tortillas and grilled) for BZD 2.50 each (USD 1.25). Get two or three with a drink and you have a filling, inexpensive meal. Don’t miss the fruit stands dotted around the island where you can pick up fresh pineapple, watermelon, bananas and more for relatively little money.

The Sunbreeze Hotel was a nice base for exploring San Pedro and the island of Ambergris Caye. Thanks to its location right in town, we had easy access to all the shops and restaurants and we could just step out onto the beach for a nice walk. I know the resorts both north and south of town (Portofino, Victoria House, etc.) are very nice, but if you want easy access to town at a nice, clean place, try the Sunbreeze.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philvirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing