We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene location and beautiful and quiet inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Serene location and beautiful and quiet inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

The location and the inn are quite beautiful. San Pedro is a very quaint and safe little town on a caye in Belize. It's off the mainland and I saw no reason to seek the mainland out while I was there. If I had more time to explore I would have done so, however the purpose of my trip was simply relaxation.

The grounds of the hotel are simple and elegant. The room was amazing - I stayed in one of the master bedrooms which is part of a villa. Its an upgrade from the casitas. The casitas were very cute but the upgrade was quite nice. The room was very pleasant with fantastic bedding, a great mattress with a king sized bed, and full of teak wood. The bathroom was also beautiful with an open air shower and gorgeous tile and two vanities.

The beach is not your typical big expansive caribbean beach, but it does the job just fine. I spent most of my time relaxing in one of the really comfy lounge chairs by the pool and had lunch there everyday. Speaking of which, the food is excellent and the drinks at the bar are great. I highly recommend the coconut mojito! I had never had one and it's my new favorite drink.

Each day I did something a little different for exercise. The first day I walked into town to get the lay of the land - it's about a mile and a half. The next day I jogged on the beach to town, and the day after that I took one of the hotel bikes and rode all around the island. All were fun and safe!

The staff are delightful, the grounds gorgeous, and the room relaxing. All in all a fantastic stay and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for the level up from the casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    197
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
178
854
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Victoria House is the perfect place to stay on island. The staff is incredible!! Greg at the front desk is always helpful and Xavier is wonderful. Shelby is always smiling and has great info about places to go. The accommodations are super clean and well decorated. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we really liked the proximity of the pool and beach within a few feet. Coordinating activities at the dock is super easy and all the tours we went with were amazing!! I swear the guides know the snorkeling and dive spots so well they know where they fish hide. It is south of main area of town but cabs are pretty cheap and you can always use a bike from the hotel (although the cobblestone streets do make it a bumpy ride). The people here are so friendly and made our vacation the best.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffymugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Our stay at Victoria House was great. The hotel staff was courteous, accommodating, and went out of their way to make sure that we were happy. We booked our activities on-site and also rented a golf cart from the front desk, which made things so convenient. We highly recommend reef fishing with Poncho. He was a great guide and knew exactly where to take us to catch the fish. The hotel cooked our fresh catch that same day. We would definitely return to Victoria House for another stay on Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarmWxDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

This is the nicest hotel on the island. Ramon's does all the advertising, but this place delivers. Well kept grounds, excellent facilities. The restaurants are very good, but the service can be slow and inconsistent. The dock staff offers everything you need. They arrange the outings and have much of the dive equipment you need for rent. The Kayaks and bicycles are free. There is nothing better than to ride to town about a mile away. Not being in the middle of the little town is not a problem. There is a shuttle 3X each day or a taxi for $5 or a bike or you can walk along the beach all the way!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We split our time between Matachica (quick boat ride, then and a and short cab ride) and Victoria House. They are two completley different experiences and locations, and glad we got to experience both. VH is the best location, if you want to be close to town! It's close enough, yet secluded and private. The beach is great, the rooms are on the smaller side, but comfortable and updated. You can rent a golf cart from the property and explore the town where you will find many restaurants to choose from. Their restaurant seemed to have a good menu as well, but we ended up going to a place called Hidden Treasure- 5 minutes away and was SO good! Overall, nice experience and beautiful water!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finetraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

If you are going to Ambergris Caye, you must stay at Victoria House. The setting is gorgeous and the grounds are impeccably maintained. Customer service was excellent, and the food was delicious. The room was gorgeous and the bed was nice and comfy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMoreWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

From the time we were picked up at the airport to the time we left, we were totally happy with Victoria House. After we checked in we got a tour of the place from Fernanda and our room was beautiful. We stayed in a lower Plantation room (19) and loved it. If you don't want to pay for the contents of the fridge, you can empty it and put your own things in it. We shopped at Marina's store and filled the fridge with $1.50 beer, instead of paying $5.00 for what was in the fridge. We also bought some food for snacking on the porch. We looked out over the pool and onto the sea. We were close to the restaurant and bar, but far enough away for privacy. We ended up having room service on our porch most nights. The morning continental breakfast was great. You got toast and different pastries each day. The freshly squeezed orange juice was to "die for". Thanks Jeremiah, Sherry and "Moley" for serving us each day. We really enjoyed learning about living in San Pedro.
We booked two snokelling trips through the hotel dive shop. We were picked up by Roberto and we were the only passenger's in the boat. We got a great tour of several snorkeling spots with him. The kayaks are free and we had a couple of calm days to use them. We kayaked to downtown San Pedro and had lunch. We also went south in the kayaks and saw lots of starfish.
We used the bikes almost everyday. Thanks Marlon. We got two bikes with baskets, so if you shop, you can put all your purchases in. Our best bike ride was through the town and headed north over the bridge (toll is cheap). We followed the road to where it became gravel and biked into the Aji Tapa bar. We ended up meeting the owners (from Colorado) and had the pleasure of hearing how they ended up in Belize. The rum punches were free that day. It was also the neatest outdoor restaurant on the island. From there, we biked along the beach in front of private homes and brand new hotels. You can bike north over 10 miles along the beach. One thing we learned, is that anyone is allowed on any beachfront. All the beachfront is public.
We also took the bikes to the tennis courts. They are part of the fitness club and you pay for a day pass and you get to use all the club's facilities, including a huge pool, for the day.
We took a cab into town the last night and had a great meal at Wild Mango's. It's very popular, and you might need reservations for a bigger party. The food was excellent.
Overall, after seeing many hotels on the island, we feel that Victoria House is the best place to be. You can't go wrong with this destination. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing