We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our four nights' stay at Victoria House (after three great days in Belize Cayo District) was the perfect close to a wonderful trip. How was your stay, a Victoria House email just inquired. I can't think of a single disappointment in recalling its beautiful, palm-shaded vista on the Caribbean; our delightful and comfortable room; the consistently excellent dinners (the Molten-Chocolate dessert is a sinful "must"); the excellent, but also exceptionally friendly service; and the exquisite attention to detail. Ambergris Caye IS very built up, its downtown is crowded and dusty; but Victoria House is its own special oasis, and a spot from which to board a craft for snorkeling (magnificent!); fishing (great!); and any number of sightseeing trips or activities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    197
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
178
854
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Truly a fantastic place to stay. Rooms are great. Service is fantastic. Location is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Victoria House while on our honeymoon. Our experience there was absolutely wonderful. The staff was kind and helpful. Eating at the resort was quite expensive, and we went into town as much as possible for lunch and dinner. The staff really helped us in choosing different places to eat. I really recommend eating in town as much as possible. The resort food is good, but town offers more local fare. The place is quiet, and not very crowded. We stayed there after they had just reopened from renovations, and not all the rooms were reopened. From our room you could see the ocean. It was such a wonderful view to wake up to every day! Except for the food being expensive, we had no complaints with the place.

Room Tip: Our room had a vaulted ceiling, so there was not a lot of privacy when one needed to use the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I love this place! I have gone to Belize to do mission work and after gone to stay on Ambergris Caye for a little Holiday. I highly recommend Victoria House. It is wonderful! Peaceful and relaxing with great food. I think it is inexpensive for what you get. The only down side is the sea grass.. You can't really swim out in front of the hotel...you can off the end of the pier but it is pretty deep. It is like that at all hotels on this island. The snorkeling is amazing! You need to take a boat out to the reefs which the hotel can arrange for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I booked 4 nights at Victoria House after recommendations from several friends. We have been to several locations in the Caribbean that were amazing, so we had some high expectations. I did not know much about Belize before our trip and I must admit I was a bit skeptical. Once we arrived at Victoria House all of my anxiety went away. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in the Infinity Suite, which is the furthest away from the beach, but in my opinion the best location in the resort. Our suite had 2 floors and 2 balconies. Victoria House was fully booked while we were there, but because it is such a small resort, we felt alone. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the bar and both were amazing. We did not book any excursions until we arrived in Belize. We booked fishing, snorkeling, the zoo and zip lining through the dive shop. All of our excursions were wonderful. If you go fishing make sure you ask for Leonardo.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jburns333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My wife and I spent spent 5 days outside Belize City before spending 4 nights at Victoria House (we extended from 3 to 4 days after we got there and were so impressed) to celebrate our anniversary. First of all, the whole property is wonderfully maintained, and every staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 30 which is an upstairs room facing the ocean, but full ocean view is obscured by palms (but still a great room). We thought we wanted a ground floor room but upstairs turned out to be more private, since every night all the windows were wide open to let in the wonderful tropic breeze all night (83 degrees), and those with ground floor rooms actually had much less privacy as people walked by and could see in. All grounds very well maintained, especially daily keeping the beach area free of washed up sea grass. This is a big issue as we walked the beach in front of at least a dozen other nearby resorts and they didn't maintain it like Victoria House. Food at the restaurant was great, and free use of Kayaks and bikes is nice, as well as rental of golf carts from the hotel for just as long as you use them. Actually we enjoyed riding the bikes more than the golf carts, since it's an easy, flat ride into town, and more comfortable than the jalopy ride of the carts (now we know what a Sunday drive must have been like in a Model T). Victoria also has a great dock to swim or kayak off, and the snorkle/dive boats pick-up right there also. South of town location was very nice and quiet, but not too far from town. We heard many movie stars stay at Victoria House, so we were glad we weren't recognized :-) Overall, a great stay which we would very, very highly recommend and wouldn't hesitate for a second to go back to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2GoinSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
204 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Most of the beachfront on Ambergris Caye is not beautiful because there is a huge amount of trash, plastic, and seaweed that washes up daily. But Victoria House is like being on your own private island. The beach is pristine, and the chairs spaced far apart so you hardly even see anyone else around. You never have to get there early for a good seat. There is plenty of shade from the palm trees (if you want it), the waiters are available but unobtrusive, there's virtually no noise, the beach vendors are far and few between, and it's only a few steps to the clean bathrooms. The rooms themselves are not enormous, but they are clean and comfortable, with your own private porch or deck and a gorgeous view. Take note: there are no TVs or telephones in the rooms! (You can order room service, but you have to go to the front desk to do it.) The food is among the best on the island, with tables outside in the garden or inside the formal dining room. It's a short ride in a taxi or golf cart into the heart of town, but with everything you ever wanted here at the resort, you never need to leave!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCDolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing