We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our first stop on a trip where the itinerary also included Maya Beach and a remote Caye diving resort with over-water bungalows. The Victoria House was our favorite accommodation by far. From the moment we boarded the golf cart that was waiting for us at the airport, the service was impeccable. Our room was the picture of caribbean style. The grounds were immaculate - it is evident that they are meticulously maintained. Perfect amount of breeze (the other end of Ambergris can get quite windy) made laying by the pools heavenly. The beach was quiet and peaceful. There were fishing excursions available that departed from the resort's pier. We were strolling past as one was returning; a fellow was showing off the Barracuda he'd caught that day.
We did dine at the restaurant during our stay and had the most amazing Grouper; and, the chef sent out some interesting Iguana appetizers. I felt a little guilty eating one of the 'locals'; but, it was delicious!
Everyone should put this place on their 'bucket list'. We cannot wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    197
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
178
853
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Victoria House glimmers with superb service and friendly staff. Staff turnover is noticably low. Members of my party were remembered by name from past visits.

The beach is a peaceful oasis, blissfully without the annoyances of jet skis, peddlers and overhead planes announcing the party at the local night clubs. The water is a beautiful aqua color and full of wildlife that is observed on the dock.

The rooms are beautiful and the beds very comfortable. The AC was more than adequate. The pictures on the website were accurate. We stayed in the plantation house, beautiful with mahogany and vaulted ceilings. Other members of our party stayed in casitas, which were quite charming with thatched roofs and private hammocks.

The menu is tailored to a western diet, but does have a local flare. Everything I had was delicious, but don't expect a bargain. Prices for lunch about 13 to 15 dollars, dinner menus from 20 to 25 dollars. Access to local restaurants is easy on this small island, just a 5 dollar cab ride will take you to the part of town abundant with a variety of restaurants and shops. The town is safe and easily navigated on foot, golf cart or bike.

Although the resort is a little pricier than other alternatives, the resort is a good value for the high level of service, beautiful beach, and dreamy rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinneapolisGirl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Victoria House in February and it was fantastic. The location is perfect, quiet and beautiful, but close enough to town. the colors are spectacular, the staff is outstanding, and the service is the best. we traveled with a toddler and everyone was so lovely and accomodating. We hope to be back very soon. Thank you!

Room Tip: We loved the rainforest suite and the casitas. Both options have beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

First time in Belize, this was the last leg of our trip. the resort is very nice, nd the grounds beautiful. We arrived on Tuesday afternoon, and departed on Saturday afternoon. All the wait staff was very attentive. The house keeper was great until friday...our room wans't cleaned until mid afternoon, and towels were not replentished. We were, however able to have a late checkout on staurday, (1 hour later) which was nice. As i said before, the grounds are beautiful, but once you leave them, please be advised the the beaches are covered with trash and grass. It is very unsightly and smelly, and the "beaches" are very small, not expansive if you like long beachfront walks. The diving and fishing are top notch.
also, be advised of the 12.5% state tax, and the 10% gratuity the resort adds to your bill.

Room Tip: we stayed in an infinity suite. great views. nice space, but not super private as far as open spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHOF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my first tripadvisor review. We just returned from a fabulous stay at Victoria House. On the first night of our arrival, my husband got really sick (likely from something that had been incubating from 2-4 days prior). The hotel staff took great care of him, from getting a doctor to come to the hotel to check up on him, to picking up medication from the pharmacy in town, to making chicken soup (not on the menu) when he regained a bit of appetite. We are very grateful to the staff for taking such good care of us; my husband recovered quickly and was able to enjoy the rest of the vacation. The hotel is lovely, the grounds well maintained, the beach area bigger and better maintained than other hotels (judging from a walk we took from town back to the hotel). Oh, and the food was fantastic; the fish just melts in your mouth. Lots of activities/excursions are offered. We did snorkeling and diving -- the reef is amazing. We really did not want to leave, and look forward to returning (I don't usually return to the same places because I like to try something different).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sl4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Victoria House. The staff was wonderful, the food was fantastic and the accommodations were great. We definitely will recommend Victoria House to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bopitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

After 6 nights in the rainforest we wanted somewhere to chill out before coming back to a British winter and we couldn't have picked a better spot. We had one of the Plantation rooms which had every amenity (except coffee maker) we needed and this included a decent sized mini-bar. According to the hotel's details we were at liberty to bring our own food and drink into the room as long as both were consumed either there or on our own balcony. We took advantage of this as mini-bars the world over are expensive and I give Victoria House the thumbs up for accepting that some 'smuggling' goes on and being adult about it. As has been said before, the people working there are fantastic. In fact, all the Belizeans we met were fantastic - offering lifts when we were out walking even though they weren't a part of the tourist industry. Being so close to the second largest barrier reef in the world was frustrating as I can't swim but I could have stayed on the hotel's private beach, in the shade of the palms and watched pelicans and frigatebirds until I collected my pension. As I said in my review of Chaa Creek eco-lodge on the Macal river, be aware that menus at every place we stayed or visited do not include an optional 10% service charge nor a 12.5% government tax. This may be the norm for American visitors but VAT is usually included in Britain. But if you're heading for Ambergris Caye then I can't think of anywhere better to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing