We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Isla Bonita”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Victoria house this last winter for almost a week, and we loved it.

We stayed in a plantation room, which is very nice and tropical feeling, although it lacked a decent sitting area. FYI, there are no TVs and the free wifi is not fast enough for streaming video (ie Netflix). The room was well maintained, and the housekeeping was very good and thorough.

The hotel provides a gallon of bottled water per day. You wouldn't drink the tap water not due to pollution, but rather, it is desalinated, and contains too much chlorine. Regardless, small bottles of water are about $1 (minibar or poolside service).

The beach, as you may have read, is nice scenery, but there is an abundance of sea grass, which limits the ability to swim around in the ocean. The hotel diligently rakes up the sea grass every day, some days for hours, to maintain a clean appearance.

The pools are beautiful. Most days, we sat around the pools, and we found that some are more affected on very windy days. When we were gripping our books tightly at the main pool, the infinity pool was still and windless. The pools and lounges are impeccably maintained.

The restaurant was good for lunch. We were not too impressed with the breakfast (we did not get breakfast included, but had the continental some days and ordered entrees on other days). We had dinner one night at the hotel, and thought the food was over-complicated. The food that stands out on the island is ceviche, snapper, grouper and rice and beans. We thought those foods were best when plain, and the restaurant tries a bit too hard to be super-creative.

The staff (and the people of Belize in general) is why this gets five stars. Wonderful, helpful, forgiving and gracious staff. Much the same can be said about the people of Belize.

The town of San Pedro, which is the center on Ambergris Caye, is the San Pedro Madonna was singing about in the song, La Isla Bonita.

In March, we had no problems with mosquitoes. The power outlets are same as the US. The island has several convenience stores and markets with familiar products. US dollars are accepted almost everywhere, and exchanged at two Belize dollars to one, you may get a mix of US and Belize dollars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at VH in April and December of '11. Originally, we were supposed to stay at Coco Beach last December, but we had to cancel (and Coco Beach wouldn't give us our money back...worst hotel customer service ever) due to Snowmaggedon in NYC.

We rebooked for April and had the most amazing vacation of our lives. We've been to Macchu Picchu, Spain, Mexico, Costa Rica, Paris, and throughout Europe. This was the most fun and happiest vacation we've had yet.

VH is superb. The service and friendly staff is unparalleled. Everyone was kind, helpful, and eager to please. The hotel is beautiful and luxurious and service is outstanding. Each meal at the hotel was delicious! We stayed in a plantation room in April and a casita in Dec. Both rooms were luxurious.

The dive shop scheduled all activities and took care of all the planning. We just told them what we felt like doing, and it was done--someone was on the dock and ready to take us out.

Some of the highlights include:
-Diving (and being certified) with White Sands Dive Shop
-Snorkel trip to Bacalar Chico with Searious
-Driving individual speed boats through the man groves
-Fishing with the best--Alberto Bradley
-Beach BBQ with Alberto
-Swimming with Manatees, turtles, rays, nurse sharks, and moray eels
-Eating the fish we caught each night prepared by the hotel
-Eating at Estel's, Admiral Nelsons Beach Bar and Palmilla
-The trip to Lamanai via plane

We loved VH so much that we rebooked immediately for the same year.

This is my favorite hotel in the world. I wish I was there now!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our first stop on a trip where the itinerary also included Maya Beach and a remote Caye diving resort with over-water bungalows. The Victoria House was our favorite accommodation by far. From the moment we boarded the golf cart that was waiting for us at the airport, the service was impeccable. Our room was the picture of caribbean style. The grounds were immaculate - it is evident that they are meticulously maintained. Perfect amount of breeze (the other end of Ambergris can get quite windy) made laying by the pools heavenly. The beach was quiet and peaceful. There were fishing excursions available that departed from the resort's pier. We were strolling past as one was returning; a fellow was showing off the Barracuda he'd caught that day.
We did dine at the restaurant during our stay and had the most amazing Grouper; and, the chef sent out some interesting Iguana appetizers. I felt a little guilty eating one of the 'locals'; but, it was delicious!
Everyone should put this place on their 'bucket list'. We cannot wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Victoria House glimmers with superb service and friendly staff. Staff turnover is noticably low. Members of my party were remembered by name from past visits.

The beach is a peaceful oasis, blissfully without the annoyances of jet skis, peddlers and overhead planes announcing the party at the local night clubs. The water is a beautiful aqua color and full of wildlife that is observed on the dock.

The rooms are beautiful and the beds very comfortable. The AC was more than adequate. The pictures on the website were accurate. We stayed in the plantation house, beautiful with mahogany and vaulted ceilings. Other members of our party stayed in casitas, which were quite charming with thatched roofs and private hammocks.

The menu is tailored to a western diet, but does have a local flare. Everything I had was delicious, but don't expect a bargain. Prices for lunch about 13 to 15 dollars, dinner menus from 20 to 25 dollars. Access to local restaurants is easy on this small island, just a 5 dollar cab ride will take you to the part of town abundant with a variety of restaurants and shops. The town is safe and easily navigated on foot, golf cart or bike.

Although the resort is a little pricier than other alternatives, the resort is a good value for the high level of service, beautiful beach, and dreamy rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinneapolisGirl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Victoria House in February and it was fantastic. The location is perfect, quiet and beautiful, but close enough to town. the colors are spectacular, the staff is outstanding, and the service is the best. we traveled with a toddler and everyone was so lovely and accomodating. We hope to be back very soon. Thank you!

Room Tip: We loved the rainforest suite and the casitas. Both options have beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

First time in Belize, this was the last leg of our trip. the resort is very nice, nd the grounds beautiful. We arrived on Tuesday afternoon, and departed on Saturday afternoon. All the wait staff was very attentive. The house keeper was great until friday...our room wans't cleaned until mid afternoon, and towels were not replentished. We were, however able to have a late checkout on staurday, (1 hour later) which was nice. As i said before, the grounds are beautiful, but once you leave them, please be advised the the beaches are covered with trash and grass. It is very unsightly and smelly, and the "beaches" are very small, not expansive if you like long beachfront walks. The diving and fishing are top notch.
also, be advised of the 12.5% state tax, and the 10% gratuity the resort adds to your bill.

Room Tip: we stayed in an infinity suite. great views. nice space, but not super private as far as open spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHOF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my first tripadvisor review. We just returned from a fabulous stay at Victoria House. On the first night of our arrival, my husband got really sick (likely from something that had been incubating from 2-4 days prior). The hotel staff took great care of him, from getting a doctor to come to the hotel to check up on him, to picking up medication from the pharmacy in town, to making chicken soup (not on the menu) when he regained a bit of appetite. We are very grateful to the staff for taking such good care of us; my husband recovered quickly and was able to enjoy the rest of the vacation. The hotel is lovely, the grounds well maintained, the beach area bigger and better maintained than other hotels (judging from a walk we took from town back to the hotel). Oh, and the food was fantastic; the fish just melts in your mouth. Lots of activities/excursions are offered. We did snorkeling and diving -- the reef is amazing. We really did not want to leave, and look forward to returning (I don't usually return to the same places because I like to try something different).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sl4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
963 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Resort & Spa

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £174 - £916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House Resort & Spa, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize
Victoria San Pedro
Victoria House Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing