We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The only way to properly describe Victoria House is Heaven on Earth! The grounds are immaculate. The staff are the nicest and most helpful of any hotel I have ever experienced. The food is delicious. The service is impeccable. The rooms are perfectly tropical and simple.

My husband and I stayed in a casita that was just steps from the ocean. It was dreamy. The housekeeping staff kept the room immaculate for us twice a day. My only concern was the control of the hot water in the shower, but we learned to adapt. The rest of the resort exceeded our expectations, so we chose not to worry about this.

Luis in the dive shop arranged for a cave-tubing/zip lining adventure for us along with two snorkel trips. Ricky, our guide with SEAduced, was fabulous -- he handled our cave-tubing/zip lining trip. Michael, our 2nd snorkel guide, was incredible...see my review of his company Blue Heaven Dives with Michael Cain. Luis was extremely helpful and gave us perfect advice.

My husband and I just couldn't believe how wonderful Victoria House was and we look forward to returning. Thank you to the entire resort for making our vacation unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasTravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    198
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
193
892
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We recently returned from our second visit to Victoria House (June 30-July 5). In short, Victoria House reaffirmed our high praise from our previous visit.

Our first visit was 4 years ago. We were so impressed with the staff and service at the Victoria House that we vowed to someday return. When another trip we had planned this year failed to materialize, we decided that this would be a good time to head back to Belize.

We were equally impressed by the quality of service and friendliness of the staff, many of whom we recognized from our previous visit. This is a top-notch outfit. We started each day having a wonderful breakfast on the patio. I would catch a boat to do a couple of dives in the morning, then headed back to join my wife for lunch and lounge around the pool for the afternoon. Evenings we hung out in the Lord Nelson’s beach bar watching the evening progress, enjoying a Belikin beer or the house white wine while a ‘Jesus Lizard’ peered at us from a nearby tree. There is a formal dining room available, but we enjoyed sitting in the less formal bar patio overlooking the water and the pier. The bar menu has the option of the full dinner menu of the regular restaurant, plus lighter pub fare. The food is great, flavorful and in large portions. (we especially enjoyed the fresh snapper) My wife and I found that sharing a small salad and a smaller entrée was plenty.

On our previous visit we stayed in one of the Casitas, none of which were available this time around. We were in one of the Plantation rooms (41) at the far end of the resort. These rooms are on the upper floor of one the ‘Casas’. This meant a loss of some sense of privacy with a shared deck. The swimming pool at the foot of the stairs of our upper floor rooms was not available for us to use, we had to walk down to the main pool in the center of the resort. (the smaller pools are reserved for the occupants of the Casas). Neither of these issues were a problem for either of us, but they deserve some mention as some might find that some other type of room arrangement to be more suitable for their needs.

The Victoria House is not a dive resort, but diving is available through its activities coordination in the small office on the pier. Guests can arrange to do a number of activities contracted to the numerous local operations. Diving, fishing, snorkeling, bird watching and sailing trips are all popular.

My one nitpick is in regards to the quality of some of the local dive operations. You don’t always have a choice of which operator will pick you up for a dive trip. One morning I was assigned to a dive boat from ‘Belize Diving Adventures’. Not good. They specialize in feeding the local nurse sharks to entertain novice divers who don’t know better. Instead of taking the time to educate their clients about the reef they chose instead to entertain rather than inform. The divemaster didn’t point out anything on the reef, both dives were just long swims with no real goal other than burning through air. (for more information see my review of BDA elsewhere). I also did a snorkel trip to Mexico Rocks with an outfit called ‘Searious’. The guide on that trip used the time to do some Lobster fishing on his own rather than fully attend to his clients .

I can however highly recommend the dive charter ‘Tempus Fugit’. They were a joy to dive with. They took the time to fully brief everyone on the reef and the wildlife. Divemaster Renee was very patient with new divers and took the dives much slower, pointing out interesting fish and animals. I strongly recommend them, but wish that their approach was the norm.

There is great diving to be done on the reef here, but it can be marred by the unprofessionalism of some of the operators. The local dive operators and resorts would do well by having some code of standard practices in place. In the meantime it’s a hit or miss system that seems to rely on large numbers of novice divers who don’t know better.

Overall we loved our trip as much as the first. As my wife says, ‘Americans could learn something about what service quality is from the staff at Victoria House’. Hopefully we’ll be able to return again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Privacy of the rooms vary, be sure to mention your requirements when you book if this is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTravelerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentKirkman, General Manager at Victoria House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear PhotoTravelerDan,

It was great to have you back with us again, and thanks for taking the time to write a thorough review of your experiences at Victoria House.

I apologize for the incorrect information you received about the use of the Casa Azul swimming pool. This pool is reserved for the use of Casa Azul guests, including rooms 41 through 45 so you certainly would have had use of this pool at any time during your stay. Sorry for the confusion.

We’re very selective in our choice of guides and dive operations at Victoria House and have shared both your concerns - and your praises - with the appropriate companies and individuals. We appreciate your feedback – it’s very important to us all.

We've also shared your kind and encouraging words with managers and other employees.

Looking forward to your next visit – hopefully in the very near future!

Brent Kirkman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Stunning grounds - the nicest we saw while wandering the beach in San Pedro. Impeccable white sandy beach which is groomed each morning. Good food, but expensive. Very nice room; however we were disappointed with the shower - the temperature was difficult to regulate and the water pressure was low. The hotel provides a complimentary four liter jug of water each day. The views are awesome.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchestry Cty, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Recently stayed in VH, I selected the hotel, through research other than TA. Sadly, the reviews on TA rank VH, as 7 th or 8th, far from 1st, and this is CRAZY. VH, is by far the Best property in San Pedro. One cloudy afternoon, I rented a golf cart, at the front desk, and drove to visit all of the "top" properties on the Caye. I must say, I am a huge user of TA, and I as a general rule, reviews are spot on, however, the totality of the views on SP are wrong, in not putting VH on the top. Here's why the property is great ( in no particular order) friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and special rooms, great food , ideal setting, cool ocean breeze, even in July. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Few rooms have TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMRDAR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place was very beautiful and relaxing, along with the rest of this wonderful country.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I went to Victoria House for our honeymoon for 7 days in June. We've done a handful of Caribbean trips before, but they've always been all-inclusive resorts so this was a change for us. Based on all the reviews I had pretty high expectations and I was pretty impressed.

The Best:
The food was fantastic. They have two places to eat on the resort but they only have one kitchen so you can get the same food at both places. They also recommend you make reservations but I don't think they're really necessary. My wife loved the ceviche and I really liked the lobster BLT for lunch. Moreover, the food all over the Caye was great. We ventured into town a few times and were not disappointed. Hidden Treasure was good, but since it’s on the lagoon side you really need to bring bug spray.
The service was top notch. You have to go to the front desk for everything since they don't have phones in the room but they'll handle any request. We did a dinner on the beach our last night and it was perfect.
We loved the tours we setup through the resort. They have a standard menu of things to choose from but they'll also help setup anything else you can think of. We don't scuba so we did the shark ray alley 2 stop snorkel and the all-day manatee trip. You can setup snorkeling/diving anytime you want and there were tons of cool stuff to see. Just remember that when it rains the water will be a little cloudy for the first few feet.
Lobsterfest! Not sure if it’s the same time every year but it marks the beginning of lobster season in Belize. You can get lobster on just about anything (lobster pizza and lobster mac and cheese were crowd favorites) and there was a really fun street fair going on most nights in the town. http://sanpedrolobsterfest.com/

The Good:
The resort is just a quick cab ride from the "downtown" area. They have shuttles that go there every 30 minutes and you can just grab a $5USD cab back to the resort.
Prices were higher than other Caribbean locations, but they have to get everything on the island so it should be expected. On average we spent $35 for lunch and $100 for dinner (with wine).

The different:
I won't say "the bad" because I don't really have any complaints. However, if you're used to an all-inclusive place in Punta Cana this is a different experience. It's a lot more laid back and peaceful. We really wanted that for our honeymoon so we were happy. Just don't expect a rowdy crowd and lots of booze. Similarly you can't spend your entire week on the resort. There are no shows at night and no TV in your room so you need to venture off the resort for entertainment. We went in to town a few nights for dinner or drinks and didn't have any problems.

A few words of advice:
Don't use Belize City when looking up the weather. The Caye has its own weather pattern and its nothing like the main land. For the rainy season (May – February) I would even say “don't bother looking up the weather.” The forecast says the same thing every day--isolated thunderstorms and warm. It's going to rain once a day but it was usually just in the morning or at night.
Bug spray is a must. Sorry, but that’s just how it goes.

Room Tip: We stayed in plantation room #22 which was close enough to the bar to get wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjampm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was the perfect trip...everyone is so nice. They take the time to talk to you and you will find that many of the employees have been there forever! There is enough space on the property that you are never fighting for a chair. The views are spectacular and the food is good. The drinks are great too! Luis is very helpful with arranging all the activities that you might want to do and if they don't offer it, I heard another couple talking about how you can just tell him what you are looking for and he arranged it for them no problem! The location is great because you are just a 15 minute golf cart ride to the center of town where there are tons of great places to grab food and enjoy the culture. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the infinity suite and it was great! Tons of space central location, but really it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
12.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
852 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria House Resort & Spa
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House Resort & Spa, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize
Victoria San Pedro
Victoria House Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing