We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We spent 4 days at Victoria House and wished we didn't have to leave. We will be back and next time spend all of our time at the hotel. Everything was perfect-. Staff, suite, food, grounds. Staff was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    196
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
181
864
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We spend 5 nights at Victoria House over New Year. As per many of the other reviews the overall quality of the hotel is superb. The cleanliness and attention to detail is very good. However we didn’t leave with the wow factor. We had plantation room number 22 which is a top floor room with a balcony right next door to the kitchen extractor fan which droned on from sunrise well into the evening. Not a big deal but didn’t add anything to the overall ambience. Also the dividing wall between rooms is very thin and we got to know the regular exploits of the guests next door rather too well! Our other comment is that the whole complex, although lovely had as much atmosphere as Heathrow departure lounge, in fact Heathrow probably had more! This did mean that we spent most of our nights out in San Pedro, a short taxi drive away and easy to get back from late in the evening. This also allowed us to escape from the many young children and babies staying at the hotel. We went out every day, either just walking into town or doing a number of trips organised by SeaDuced which were very good, if not a bit expensive. Overall, a lovely property with attentive staff but just a bit too boring and lacking in wow. Great for young families and people looking to just dial out in some luxury.
BTW spent our New Years eve in Elvi’s restaurant and it was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

If you plan on going to Belize and you are looking for a great spot, look no further. Victoria House is small and quaint and the staff really takes care of you. It is slighly expensive, but if you haven't been to Central America before, paying a little extra for good service/food and safety is worth it. They have their own staff take care of snorkelling, scuba, fishing, etc. You really don't have to leave the resort, although, there are some great spots to eat/drink in town if thats your thing. I would strongly suggest a Casita if it's just you and a spouse/girlfriend. Do take bug spray though, they have an issue with mosquitoes in Belize, but nothing to worry about. Also, a light rainjacket is helpful for cruising on the ocean as it can rain at times and get a little chilly on the water. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alphagenerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We just spent New Year's Eve at Victoria House in San Pedro. What a wonderful time. The food was out of this world and the service impeccable. This is a return visit for my husband and I, we are never disappointed and our expectations are always exceeded.
It does not suprise me that Victoria House just won the Central American Boutique Hotel award in Belize and isone of the top six hotels in all of Central America.

It is such a beautiful property, your breath is taken away as soon as you arrive. The staff are so attentive and will go extra lengths to make your stay the most enjoyable. The food is out of this world, the chef, Jose, is really an artist. We have stayed in various types of rooms and they are all unique in their own right. Beds and linens are a little bit of heaven.

We will continue to visit San Pedro and always stay at Victoria House- it is truly a place where you can escape the real world and really relax.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisTim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Victoria House. We stayed with our 3 kids, ages 13, 12 and 6, in an individual beachfront villa called Casa Del Sol. You just walk out the front door and onto the beach! Plenty of activities for all kids of all ages.

The Villa was roomy and immaculate. Housekeepers came twice daily and were more than happy to help you with anything. The hotel grounds and beach were stunning. Groundskeepers raked the beach every day, maintaining the beautiful sand. Because of high winds and tides, a lot of seaweed and debris would wash up on the beach at night, but every morning those guys were out there to clean it up. We walked up the beach to town (about 2 miles?) and did not see another beach as clean and well-kept as Victoria House. In fact, many of the beaches were overtaken by seaweed and debris.

The only downfall I would say is the food onsite. Their main dining room/fancy restaurant lacks the ambience needed to charge the horrifically high prices they do. The food was decent, but not spectacular enough to pay that price, and I am not a cheap restaurant goer. The breakfast quality was fair. Just ok. In talking with other travellers who were staying there we all seemed to agree that we were disappointed with the food on-site. It wasn't horrible, we just expected more. Most of us ended up going into town for many meals. One night my husband and the man in the villa next to us ordered pizza from a local pizza place and had it delivered to the bar. :)

Food aside, Victoria House is by far the most beautiful resort on the Caye. The service was excellent, with an attention to detail. The workers from the waiters to the groundskeepers to the managers all remembered my kids' names and addressed them by name, which made them feel special.

Overall, a fabulous experience!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank oyyveyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My wife and I visited Victoria House and had an incredible time. Everything was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the Rainforest Suite and highly recommend it. Very spacious, large private deck, and right on the beach. One thing to note, there is no phone (or TV or alarm clock) in the room, but who needs those things when you're in paradise?

The food was amazing. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner almost every day and everything was very well prepared and delicious. The snorkeling trip and golf cart rental were also a blast.

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Victoria House exceeded my expectations. The hotel was just like in the brochure. Amazingly peaceful and beautiful. There wasn't one thing that could have been improved on.
I didn't realize how important first impressions are, but when I was welcomed to the hotel by Fernanda and a fruit drink I knew I chose the right place to stay. The fresh flowers that greeted me in my room, left me thinking..."will I ever leave?"
The food was also exceptional. The restaurant as well as the bar served a nice variety of beautiful and delicious food.
I also enjoyed many of the activities offered right there at the dock. I went scuba diving, snorkeling, zip lining and cave tubing. Everything was well organized, and I didn't have to worry about a thing.
I usually don't go to a place more than once with so many places in the world tosee, but you better Belize, I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittenLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing