We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed Luxury Resort in Belize” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxed Luxury Resort in Belize”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

The Victoria House is truly an ocean-front paradise. The staff are very friendly, engaged and keen to ensure your stay is simply the best. The hotel pools were spotless and the grounds were maintained beautifully. The rooms were great - but don't expect to find a TV .... you will want to make the most of the beautiful weather and surroundings anyway.
Dining was expensive at the Victoria House but there are lots of options on the Island. Everything at the Victoria House is priced in US$ so is more expensive than many other places on Ambergris. Drinks and food are less expensive outside the hotel. That being said, their Ceviche is fantastic and the food was consistently good.

It is definitely a place for destination weddings and honeymooners. With less than 30 rooms (I think), the location is intimate and well located. Again the staff are the best on the island - and will go above and beyond for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    193
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
172
835
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

It's my first time in Belize and booking with Victoria House was the best thing I've done.
The resort is as beautiful and fresh as in the pictures. The staff professional, friendly, courteous and the food amazing!
It was too short a stay this time but I certainly come back with my family and grand kids so they can enjoy this little piece of paradise.
Thanks for a wonderful relaxing time!
YN, Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

One of the nicest places we have ever been to, and my wife and I have traveled alot in Europe, S. Africa and Asia. This place has it all together..not too big, beautiful grounds, lots of palm trees, even along their beautiful beach. Their people could not be nicer, wanting to help with a smile in every way. We stayed in the Rain Forest suite and loved it. Next year we'll be in a casita (less expensive) which I would recommend for two. They have larger more contemporary suites for two couples or famlies which looked great.
The two pools are wonderful....see their website (Victoria-House.com) to see the 360 degree picture of it all. Food was very good, and restaurants in town were good, too.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardFelber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Victoria House is wonderful! We spent ages choosing which hotel to stay at on Ambergris Caye, and definitely chose the right one. It is away from the town, but its only 2 miles so you can easily cycle or walk into town for lunch. If you were at one of the resorts further from town you may find yourself restricted in terms of dining out options. Anyway...the room was gorgeous. Very well appointed and extremely luxurious and the bed was enormous! We were given a 3 litre bottle of water every day which was a nice touch. The only thing missing was a kettle, but you can actually pad across to the restaurant from 6am onwards to get a morning coffee - we spotted several others also making the early morning dash in their pyjamas! We were in a plantation room as the casitas were all booked, though I think turned out to be the best option for us as the room was spacious and we were tucked away at the corner of the resort.
The food is extremely good. We ate out in town several nights and were always slightly disappointed and it never really felt like a “treat” so by the end of the week stuck with the Pamilla! Once you take the taxi fare into account, dining out in town is not actually really a cheaper alternative. At lunch time, eating in town is easier as there are lots of snacky places and you can cycle in (you can’t cycle at night time) to save the taxi fare. You can also easily share a Victoria House main between 2 as the portions are huge – try the club sandwich. The pools are both gorgeous, but the infinity pool with the double sunloungers were the really winner. Soooo comfy and room for two! The beach is gorgeous and kept very clean.
Victoria House is expensive, but you get what you pay for. The level of service elsewhere just doesn’t compare. We were treated like royalty, but in a really relaxed way. The staff have got it spot on. Also, although it is expensive there are many room options and prices vary massively. If you want your own private pool then take a private villa, if you aren’t fussed about a private balcony then we found out there are a few rooms above the restaurant which are surprisingly cheap in comparison to the other rooms. I think it’s great that although it’s a luxury resort they have spread out the prices to make it open to a wider range of incomes.
Only a couple of downsides – when it rains there isn’t really anywhere to go other than the bar or restaurant. A reading /games room with comfy chairs would be a nice addition. Also, there was a wedding when we were there which was a bit of a pain as the wedding was held outside. They do their best not to allow it to interfere with the other guests, but it inevitably does slightly.
All in all, a perfect place. If you are on your honeymoon, go when there are no kids as I imagine the elegant chilled out atmosphere changes when there are kids around!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londongal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

My husband were staying at another location with a group of people, when they left we decided to stay in Belize a few more days. Once we walked through the gardens of Victoria House, there was absolutely no way we were going to stay anywhere else. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. They are always working to keep the place beautiful. Everyone was so very kind and helpful. Whatever you wanted, they would help you out. We stayed in a Casita, it was romantic, beautiful, comfortable and peaceful. This hotel is still close to town , you can walk, bike or rent carts and be in the mix in a minute. Whatever excursion you want to do, they can set it up and have special events all the time. We definitely recommend this place and hopefully will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnytraveldays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Victoria House was our first stop in Belize and it was the perfect place to stay at the start of our honeymoon. Aside from it being very windy in January, Victoria House was superb. The service was exceptional, both poolside, in the restaurant and also at the front desk...nothing was too much bother for the staff, who were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was fantastic both at breakfast and dinner. Our favourite spot to catch the sun was out on the pier, but the setting around the pool and on the private beach, were also very relaxing. I would definately recommend Victoria House to others and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Our stay at Victoria House for six days during New Years week was simply the best in over 15 trips to the Caribbean and South American coast we have ever experienced. From the ever attendent staff, the first rate chef, to our unbelievable Rainforest Suite just 90' to the water's edge, this place is one not to miss. If you like to chill and just read under a grove of swaying palm trees to daily walks on the white sand beach this is the place. You can decide when, where and what to do at your leisure. A day drive in a golf cart (the means of travel on the island) into San Pedro will take you back to the Key West of Florida in the 70's. Funky, colorful, and busy, this town should not be missed. Do we plan to return ? you bet

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapnyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
8.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and Trip Advisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing