We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2011

My wife and I traveled to Belize for the first time with three friends and stayed for 6 nights at Matachica. We loved the resort, the entire staff was friendly and provided great service. Although the resort was full during Easter weekend, not once did it feel crowded or busy. With so many things to do on the island we truely felt like we had found a bit of paradise. The tradewinds during our visit were actually very pleasent and assume it helped with insects because we were never bothered by them the whole time. We will be back!

Room Tip: I suggest the new casitias
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

If you're looking for a secluded resort for quiet relaxation Matachica is paradise!! Stepping out of the individual cabanas out onto the soft white sand is a whole different experience from the typical hotel on beach. All the cabanas are well located (beachfront, sea view or sea breeze) so pick one that works for you price point and you won't be dissapointed. We stayed in the Rasberry sea view with a beautiful view on the turquoise blue water and dock and it was a treat to wake up to!! We ate most of our meals at Mambo (the in house restaurant) and all the meals were exquisite. All that said the icing on the cake is the service. From the time Chris picked us up at the San Pedro airstrip to the time we left, the service was personalized, attentive and genuine!! Everyone from the wait staff to the front desk were invisible but there when you needed them. My benchmark for a perfect beach vacation is Angsana Ihuru in the Maldives (for those that have been fortunate enough to experience) and Matachica lived upto expectation.
Also for anyone curious about access to the reef via kayak, my wife and I had never kayaked prior, but were able to get the hang of it day 1 and did it all 4 days. The water by the reef is only 4-5 ft and helps getting back on the kayak which is the most difficult part. 15 minute kayak ride to a gorgeous reef for anyone with a reasonable level of fitness. Overall fantastic experience and on our list for a repeat destination. Feel free to email with any questions on the place, igunatilleke@gmail.com

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IshanDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband and I chose to stay at Matachica from the reviews here and we are glad that we chose it. It was a wonderful place with excellent food, ambience and staff. We had a reef view suite and loved our room with the ocean view, beautiful flowers on the towels, shuttered windows and outside styled shower. We had an AC but never used it because the breezes were so cool and constant. We had just come from a very family oriented jungle resort with the pool filled with kids playing Marco Polo, so the quietness of the pool was a welcome break. There were crabs you had to watch out for, but they removed them quickly when we found one. The cool chill music playing in the main building sets the mood for the sophisticated traveller that wants a more adult experience. I just wish I had brought my computer to download some of it to iTunes. They offered us that option if we wanted. At one point we were thinking of switching our room due to the hot tub noise, but were told that it was going to close at 8. We ended up staying where we were and were quite happy. Gricel, the manager was warm and friendly and seemed to want his guests to have a great experience. We will definitely be back someday to visit Matachica. We were told we are now part of the Matachica family. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dazzle827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We chose Matachica for our wedding and honeymoon after looking at DOZENS of Ambergris Caye resorts and locations. We talked with tons of wedding planners, looked at rates, packages, reviews and did a ton of due diligence. There is always a leap of faith element if you can't visit a place prior to deciding on it for your wedding. Fortunately, Matachica was everything and more than we hoped for our wedding and honeymoon.

Working with Burga, the wedding organizer was simple and easy. She was able to make great suggestions and accommodated my family and all of our requests. We arrived and staff were eager to assist. The ceremony was set up on the beach and very private. The resort is so beautiful with the colors and the flowers that we are really excited to see the pictures. We had terrific service for dinner group. They played our first dance song over the sound system. It was perfect- it really was. We were commenting on how there is usually one thing that isn't quite right or doesn't go smoothly- we couldn't think of anything.

As for our stay - it was magnificent. The Casita was spacious and clean. The grounds are beautiful, the decorations and furnishings are cool and stylish. We really enjoyed every bit of it. The pool was fantastic.

The restaurant is very good. We had many meals there - breakfast (both continental and off the menu), lunch, and a couple dinners. Every meal was delicious and well prepared, with this coming from someone who worked many years as a chef. The service was good- much better than most of the other restaurants around San Pedro.

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous throughout our stay. Some staff made the effort to learn our names, and most everyone knew which room we were in. Everyone smiled and was helpful. Laying out at the pool, beers would be brought over. Breakfast was brought to our Casita one morning. Front desk, boat shuttles, bartenders, wait staff - everyone does a great job.

While the resort is 5 miles north of San Pedro, it's very easy to get around. It's true, you can't really walk to other resorts restaurants, but it's still easy to get around. The resort usually goes into town 3-5 times a day and guests are welcome to ride along and coastal express offers regular service north and south. Furthermore, many of the nicer restaurants will arrange to pick you up at the resort. We told the front desk we were interested in another restaurant for the night and they called and arranged for the boat transfer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayeroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Loved the accommodations on the whole, but I would have loved: a mirror in the great room, more overhead light, closet lighting.
Food was mediocre at best - drinks were great, but equal to what I pay in NYC.
Service was great, with the exception of the passive/aggressive bar-tender that looks similar to Terrence Howard.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at Matachica for three nights in March. The cottages are very nice, clean and well maintained and nicely distributed about the property. The staff were very friendly and nice. The pick up and drop off at the airport was very efficient. The restaurant is excellent! We really enjoyed our stay - wish we had stayed longer.

The sea kayaks are great as are the coconuts! The beach is nice to hang out in but don't expect to go into the water - too many sea weeds - it is really not a wading or swimming beach.

Room Tip: beach front is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

All of the initial signs were promising for our stay here. We were picked up at the airport and whisked to the resort where staff were waiting with drinks for us. It went downhill from there.

We stayed in one of the Sea Breeze bungalows. The one that we were allocated was close to the main building. It would have been ok but for two things:

1 - We couldn't have any of the blinds open, otherwise anyone walking past could look in at us.
2 - We could hear the music coming from the main building all day.

On the second point, the management seem to have some obsession with playing music all day at quite loud volumes. Over breakfast we had to speak up to make ourselves heard, and the music itself was repetitive and boring. It was some sort of chill out cd, but it just enraged us. We asked if it could be turned down, but the answer was no.

After our first night we complained about the music, and the fact that we could hear it in the room, and we were moved to another suite. We also were upgraded, which was nice, and the room we were moved to was huge and very nice, but the staff made it clear that this was all too much effort for them and the smiling faces that had greeted us were nowhere to be seen.

The staff were generally pretty miserable, and nobody seemed to enjoy working here - we hardly ever saw or received a smile, or any form of greeting.

The restaurant was bland and overpriced. The resort is a long way from San Pedro, and there are very few facilities or alternative dining options locally.

The coffee at breakfast was disgusting - it was like tar. And I like strong coffee.

The pool was ok, but there's not much chance of getting any service there.

Overall this place was overpriced, and certainly fancied itself a bit too much, as if they were doing you a favour by allowing you to stay. We had paid in advance - if we hadn't then we would have left.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank acm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
6.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
991 reviews
5.4 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £269 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing