We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at Matachica from 11-11-12 thru 11-18-12. Matachica was awesome!! The service was the best, the casitas (all named with fruit names) were gorgeous and the resort was just beautiful. Staff was always combing the beach every moring from any sea grass so the beaches were always beautiful and white. The restaurant Mambo's was awesome - my favorite dish was the chicken carbonara. Everyday our casitas were cleaned and fresh flowers left everywhere - on your bed, pillows, towels.Everything was done perfectly. They have paddle boats, kayaks, paddle boarding and snorkeling equipment. They also have bikes so that you can ride up and down the beach. The one thing that I can say that really help to make Matachica perfect is their staff. As a guest, they did not seem like just an employee, they felt like your friends yet provided the best service. I can hardly waiting to return. Thanks to all the staff I met at Matachica, you made our stay there perfect!!! PS - this place is definitely a couples place.

Room Tip: No TV or radio - if you create a playlist and bring a portable speaker to connect to your iPhone you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuinnTani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    123
    32
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
739
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radville
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My husband and I travelled here in February 2012. After communicating back and forth with Burga (so helpful and always the fastest replies.. the only let down of the entire trip was when we realized Burga didn't work onsite at Matachica, rather in Belize City) and changing out reservations once due to a family emergency we were on our way. We were greeted at the airport by Henry, our very friendly gold cart driver, baggage handler and boatman, and off on a 15 minute boat ride to matachica. The boat ride was smooth and there is so much to see along the coastline, that the 15 minutes flies by. On our arrival, we were greeted by Ramone, who gave us a quick tour of the grounds, and by Israel, the bartender with cold towels and cold drinks (pina colada for me --these are still calling my name, and a margarita for my husband). Matachica is so beautiful and you can be as busy as you want or you can simply enjoy the peace and quiet. There is snorkeling, kayaking, right off the dock, or you can opt for excursions arranged by the front desk. We went reef fishing one day and brought our catches back to Mambo, the restaurant and they prepared fresh fish tacos for us with them. Charlie was our captain that day and he was very fun to chat with and he brought some fantastic rum punch a long for the afternoon. We also went to the xuantanich (sp?) and cave tubing on the mainland for the day with jason, our guide who was very funny and full of information! We ate at Mambo almost everynight, the food is delicious. They staff are so friendly, said hi to us anytime they saw us, knew our names, where we were staying. On our last night, the bartenders even left us a bucket of beer and some fishing rods so we could fish off the end of the dock. I truely miss these people and Matachica overall! The massages are amazing, the staff is so kind and the bungalows are very comfortable and peaceful. We loved it here and are already planning to return!!

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront bungalow. highly recommend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanelleBRadville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is a gorgeous resort on the beach. The cottages are beautiful and the service is outstanding!
The rates included a free pickup from the ferry dock in San Pedro, and we were served complementary cocktails on arrival :).. The bar tenders were really friendly and fun..The only downside was the cost of dinner approx: 50$/person,...but it was worth the splurge once/twice during the trip for the ambiance. The town had some great local restaurants like El Fogon, Waruguma, Wild Mangoes which are a must try. The resort also helped us get a great deal on snorkeling to Hol Chin reserve with the White Sands dive shop

Room Tip: Take your bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rukshra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon (January 2011) and have been dreaming about returning ever since. I wanted to stay someplace with cottages right on the beach, my husband required air conditioning, and we both required solitude, massages and delicious food (we're aspiring foodies). We found everything here. And while I'm sure it's not the cheapest option, it is worth every single penny. The service is impeccable, and from the moment we were met at the beach in San Pedro by Captain Charlie, we knew we were in for a perfect 8 days. He called over our orders for welcome drinks, and after an easy speedboat ride (FYI, I often get seasick and had zero trouble on this boat) we were met by friendly, cheerful staff who carried our bags, led us to where we could check in, and handed us a margarita (for me) and a daiquiri (for my husband). We were told we would be staying in Tangerine (all the "casitas" are named after fruits). It. Was. Heaven. 20 steps from the water, hammock outside, unbroken view of the carribbean, and gorgeous inside. And also about 20 steps from the restaurant and bar, which provided maybe too easy access to incredible food and drinks, but never got very noisy. We instantly relaxed. Bought the honeymoon package which included breakfast and dinner every day, including one bottle of wine every night. It's how we found our new favorite wine! During the days we rented bikes, kayaks, or snorkeling gear (all at no additional charge!!!), walked along the beach to check out the neighboring hotels/houses, grab a drink at the bar one hotel over, and return happily to our dear Matachica. The staff defies description. Everyone was terrific, gracious, and kind. I had a little fainting spell at our table before dinner one night (simply skipped lunch and stood up too fast), and the staff rushed over to help me, and kept checking to make sure I was OK, even the next day! Activities we loved: massages, snorkeling trip, fishing trip (husband did this one--I opted for another massage instead :), candlelight dinner on our porch, reading on the beach, stargazing, and sharing pre-dinner cocktails lounging in beach chairs. The drinks are WONDERFUL and the food is delicious. The steak is some of the best I've ever had, and I still lust after that ceviche. We are grateful for every moment spent at Matachica. We have never felt more relaxed and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Tangerine was our favorite, but I think you can save a few pennies if you opt for something a row or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This year my wife and I invited 22 friends and family members to join us at Matachica for six days during Thanksgiving week to celebrate our 10th anniversary. To say it was the thrill of a lifetime is putting it mildly.

We’d been planning this trip for almost a year and corresponding regularly with Burga who arranged everything and answered all our questions (and we had many) with lightning speed (she says she sleeps with her computer). Upon arrival Anita checked us in and gave us a thorough yet concise orientation of the resort. From there we were directed to our respective casitas, which are all named after a fruit (ours was called plum). The casitas are all roomy and luxurious and we slept there like lambs during our stay. Not only is the location of the resort exotic and relaxing, the entire staff was attentive to our every need. In fact, the service at this resort is on par with any Four Seasons hotel.

Our group ranged in age from people in their sixties to kids in their twenties and all participated in many of the resort’s exciting excursions – snorkeling at the world’s second largest barrier reef, swimming with groups of sharks (they don’t bite), fishing at the reef for your lunchtime meal (many thanks to Charlie, our guide), and what we referred to as the “triathalon” – an all day trip to the Mayan ruins, combined with tubing the water through caves and zip-lining inside the rainforest!

At night we gathered at the Matachica Bar for colorful cocktails before sitting down for scrumptious meals at the resort’s world-class restaurant where we were waited on by the wonderful Abby. She served our entire party every night with incredible poise and charm, catering to our every wish.

On Thanksgiving Day, Burga, who works off site, arrived at the resort and presented my wife with a bouquet of tropical flowers to commemorate our anniversary. We were moved beyond belief. I can’t thank her and her dedicated staff enough for everything they did for us!

In the end everyone decided they wanted to make Matachica a yearly event. I guess from now on we’ll be celebrating every anniversary in style

Room Tip: Beachfront casitas offer the best sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This was one of the best resorts we have stayed at.
Pros:
Great casitas/rooms, staff is very friednly and helpful. Beautiful location perfect for relaxing, snorkeling, and scuba.
Cons:
The only thing we didn't like about the place is the location. It wasn't very possible to stay after 10:30 at the down town area of san Pedro. The only way to get back was a water taxi, which the last one leaves at 10:30 PM. There aren't any taxis that can drive that far, and it isn't safe or recommended to walk back, which would take over an hour to walk.

All-in-all we were here 3 nights which was perfect, I would suggest staying inland of Belize like San Ignacio to get the feel of the true Belize.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
307 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Thank goodness Fiji, Bora Bora and the Seychelles were just too much of a stretch for our honeymoon - otherwise we may not have found Matachica! After much deliberation, we landed on Belize for our week long site of decompression. Not wanting the typical commercial resort, Matachica proved to be the perfect solution for a quiet, relaxing and top-notch get-away!

From the moment we landed, the Matachica team took world-class care to ensure we felt at home and had everything we needed. Charlie met us upon arrival on Ambergris Caye, loaded our bags in a golf cart and whisked us to the pier. Once on Matachica's boat, he took our drink order and assured us it would be cold and waiting upon our arrival. After letting our hair blow in the breeze for the 10 minute boat ride, sure enough - we were welcomed with drinks and a tour of the property.

Located 5 miles North of San Pedro, Matachica is positioned on a very quiet and secluded part of the island. Other than other couples (yes - this is a very couple-centric resort) enjoying their day, there is not too much activity on the property. There are always a few folks chatting at the bar, space is always open at the pool and the kayaks, bikes and paddle boards are available to take out.

We stayed in Aqua, one of the reef view suites. It was no problem at all not having a beach front unit - we had a great view of the ocean and were very conveniently located next to the pool. The air conditioning worked well and during the day we would let the breeze blow through with the fans going. Each morning we used the hammock on our porch and each evening melted away in the comforts of our luxury bed.

As for dining, Matachica has a lot to offer. For breakfast, we never strayed from the complimentary continential breakfast. There are two options - with each you get a hard boiled egg and small selection of fruit. The first option comes with yogurt and cereal, or the second comes with toast and either a cinnamon roll, banana bread or oatmeal cookie. Throughout the week we tried every option and our favorite was the cinnamon roll - really you cannot go wrong though and unless you want a huge meal, this is the perfect way to start the day!

The lunch menu at Mambo is also quite delish. We tried the seafood burrito, pizza diablo and fish tacos - MAKE SURE TO TRY THE FISH TACOS!!! For dinner, the best of the appetizers is the Mambo Carpaccio - a delicious fresh thinnly sliced piece of snapper in a lime and soy dressing. Our favorite of the mains was the pasta frutti di mare! And of course dessert - definitely give the caramel flan with coconut ice cream a chance!

There are other dining options near Matachica, though not many. Within a short walk is Jambel Jerk Pit and Portofino. Both are worth a shot. The water taxi schedule is also posted on the board at the front desk every day - there are several complimentary boat rides each day, or you can always take the Coastal Express for $10 / person each way. For other dining options in and around town, be sure to check out some of my other reviews from the trip!

On our first day and last day, we opted to leverage the Jade spa and get couples massages. Though a bit expensive, this time of relaxation was more than worth it! They did a fantastic job.

While the optics, setting, property and food are all fantastic, what really makes Matachica shine are the people. The team truly is world-class. Everyone, from Adam and Israel at the bar, to Charlie and Chris who captain the boat and several of the excursions, to Jonathan at the pier who helped to clean up the conch shell I found while snorkeling, I am not sure I have had the pleasure of such a top-notch staff at a resort. They take pride in what they do and literally do not know how to tell a guest "no" - anything you want, you get!

One part adult summer camp, another part couples retreat and topped with smoothering of paradise, Matachica should not be missed - of course not until after you leave. I miss you Matachica, and cannot to return!!!

Room Tip: The Aqua Reef View Casista was very nice - great view in-between two of the beach front casistas and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdubbs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
6.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing