We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matachica Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Spindrift Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pedro's Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seven Seas Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Tide Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caye Casa(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$382
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$237
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
828
136
36
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
136
36
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmata chicabeachfront casitajade spaour honeymoonview suitegaia riverlodgewater taxiambergris cayefishpaddle boatscoconut mojitomain buildingmosquito nettingsea breezerojo barminute boat rideturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Matachica is certainly an over the top resort. The resort is beautiful, exceptionally maintained, secluded, and everything you want in a peaceful beach front resort. Our Casita (Plum) was 50 feet from the water. The view is fantantic. The restaurant, Mambo, is excellent. High quality fresh food presented by Chef Reynaldo & his staff. The seafood was caught that day and the presentation was beautiful. As with most experiences exceptional, the people make the real difference. The staff at Matachica are without a doubt the most caring and sincere that we have encountered. We will never forget Anita, Abbey, Margaret, Dennis, Rueban, Isreal, Ever, Charlie, Chris, and there are many more. Great people make great experiences. We highly recommend Matachica. The memories will last forever.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Matachica was excellent. The beachfront casitas are a must, and the service is excellent, as is the food. The only thing that could be better is that the water in front of the hotel is very shallow (a couple of inches) and had a lot of plant life. But you can take a kayak out to the reef nearby and swim and snorkel in plenty of clear blue water! I definitely recommend Matachica to others. Be prepared for the wind in this area,and use bugspray (we did, and didn't get one bug bite).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlNY77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This was our third trip to Matachica (and third trip advisor review). Last November we got engaged on the beautiful dock one night, and we decided we just had to go back there this November to get married and enjoy our honeymoon. We certainly made the right choice.

First off, the resort:

We absolutely fell in love with everything about Matachica on our first visit there. Each time we've gone back, we've been a bit nervous that we will somehow be disappointed, but let me tell you...they just keep getting better and better. Even now with the addition of new casitas, they still maintain that small intimate feeling. The staff, most of whom is the same staff from our first visit there four years ago, are always there with a smile to help with whatever you need. I don't know how they remember, but they always call you by name. The front desk staff is very helpful at arranging outings, boat rides into town, dinner reservations at other restaurants, anything. This time we stayed in the Peach Deluxe Beachfront Casita. (We've also stayed in Plum Deluxe Beachfront and Papaya Beachfront.) It was gorgeous, as always and just steps away from the ocean. The grounds are meticulously maintained, as is the beach. The sea grass on the beach was constantly being swept up starting first thing in the morning. The restaurant food and service was fabulous every time we ate there. The bartenders are always around, whether it's by the pool or in front of the casitas in the beach chairs, ready to take your drink order. Gricel, the manager, continues to run a friendly, efficient, classy, (running out of adjectives here!) ship. He, himself is an approachable, friendly person, and has great taste in the music played the main building.
I was so happy to find out that they added paddleboards. We spent several days playing on the paddleboards and kayaking out to the reef. There is sea grass right up at the shore, but it didn't bother us at all. You can also enter the water from a ladder on the dock and avoid the grass if you prefer. There's huge amounts of wildlife just under their dock so you don't have to venture more than 10 feet from the dock to go snorkeling! We saw moray eels, large eagle and sting rays, barracuda, lion fish, electric rays, and much more right under the Matachica Dock.
The spa is also fabulous. I had another massage this time with Sylvia, who gave me the best massage of my life on my last trip. Once again, she did the second best massage of my life!

Okay, now for the wedding:

As with making your room reservations, Burga is in charge of the wedding scheduling and planning, and she is so friendly and easy to work with. From the very beginning, she made everything so easy and stress-free. Of course, this was a very small wedding - just us and our two witnesses - but she made it so beautiful. Burga took care of everything - the official, the flowers, the cake and champagne, the marriage license paperwork, and the decorations. Any questions we had were answered immediately via email beforehand. She referred a great photographer (Conch Creative) who took some amazing shots on the beautiful grounds (the place really could pass as a botanical garden). We got married on the beach right in front of our casita and Burga made an aisle from our casita porch down to the beach decorated with conch shells and palm fronds. My flowers were absolutely gorgeous; the cake and champagne were fabulous. In fact, we had leftover cake that they stored for us in the fridge and served to us throughout the rest of the week until it was gone. The wedding was so romantic, beautiful and perfect. If you are considering having a wedding there, we highly recommend it!

So expect another review from us next time we go because we WILL be going back as soon as we can!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christi_and_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in a beachfront casita for three nights. The room was amazing, and the place is beautiful.

My main issue was with the food and drink prices. it's a 20 minute or so boat ride to town, and the last free boat is around 5 pm, which means if you choose to go to town for dinner, you'll have to pay $15 each for a water taxi back to the hotel. So they make it not especially easy to go to San Pedro for dinner, and then charge very high prices for their food and drinks. While the food is good, the portions are small (we left hungry more than once), and the prices are higher than what we would pay at home in NYC.

Another issue is that they do not have a dive shop on site, which is a little odd since diving is one of the main draws of Ambergris. Instead, the dive/snorkel trips are contracted out to a dive shop at another resort.

Room Tip: The beachfront casita nearest the bar/restaurant can be a little noisy at night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

On the recommendation of our hotel, we decided to visit Matachica and their restaurant. Absolutely beautiful setting and restaurant is very uniquely designed. 15% service charge already added to the bill - not that the service wasn't good (it was very good) - but I think it's up to our discretion on what we tip.

Food was fine but not as good as other places on the island, especially Wild Mango which was our favourite.

I had the steak which I asked to be medium to well done and not pink and it was pink. For a resort of this type, not good enough. You shouldn't have to send things back when you are being quite specific in the first place. Meal was over-priced.

Dessert was delicious. Latte coffee a non-starter. Just a white coffee in a latte glass. Interesting!

We went for the experience but there are other places worth trying which are better value for money. Shame, we kept this one for our last night but were wishing we'd gone back to Wild Mango instead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank DOTIAINEDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews