We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly honeymoon rest after adventures on the mainland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly honeymoon rest after adventures on the mainland”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wow...what an end to our Honeymoon. We stayed at Lamanai Outpost and Chaa Creek before having 4 nights here. We had been truly spoilt and felt at home at the other resorts and so we were unsure as to whether or not we would enjoy this location as much. We had no need for any such concerns. From the flight from Belize city to San Pedro, to the speedboat to the resort it was a very special trip. It was so different from our experience inland that it cannot be compared. But as far as beach resorts go, we couldn't fault it! I would say that it has a very laid back feel. The whole resort is pretty much based on the beach, removing any need for the use of shoes! It may not be as sharply finished as some high end resorts. But if you are looking for small, secluded, relaxed and laid back then this has everything you want. The individual casistas are tardis like in their appearance as they do not feel small inside. They are unique and well looked after and the addition of a double hammock on the porch allowed lovely evenings of reading on the veranda for us both. The restaurant is lovely, not cheap but the high quality we felt matched the prices. Excellent service. We highly recommend the trip to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley from the resort which our friends had booked as a suprise before we arrived. We did this first and it then gave us the confidence to go out on the kayaks and snorkel on our own on the reef opposite the hotel. With having such a busy time before our arrival and only being there for 4 nights we didn't take a trip into San Pedro though if we were there longer we would have. It is quite a trip from the Inland and so to do trips to the ruins from there I would suggest would be a long day and would recommend staying at resorts closer to those areas first then come here for some relaxation!
The beach is beautiful, but thanks to the conservation efforts in Belize (Which should be commended) there is sea grass in the sea. I love swimming in the sea and this didn't spoil it for me as you can wade in and then swim or swim off the jetty. Seeing the breakers from the reef from the beach is truly unique and watching the sun set from the bar/restaurant is ideallic.
The pool is also stunning and having sunbeds in the pool, from which you can lie and see the beach was perfect, especially given the heat. It was also always quiet despite the resort being full, we often had the pool to ourselves.
We only spent 11 days in Belize but this was the perfect end to our trip. One of the most amazing things about Belize is the variety of experiences that you can get from one country - we felt that we had three separate holidays in one trip, but at the same time didn't feel that we spent a significant amount of time transferring from one place to another. It says a lot for a country where you can feel so at home in such a short space of time. We couldn't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in Grape. It was one of the basic (so cheaper) casitas. Yes we didn't have a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katewillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    123
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
66
745
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I stayed recently stayed 4 nights at Matachica, as part of our Belizean vacation, and we cannot wait to go back! We stayed in Peach, a beachfront casita - which I highly recommend. We woke up every morning to a sunrise on the beach, and didn't even have to get out of bed. We left all our windows and door open all the time. The wind from the ocean kept everything cool and created a cross draft through the casita. I was very scared of the mosquito problem, and I had nothing to worry about. Between the draft through the room and the mosquito incense provided, I did not get stung once. However, when I took a walk through the property - pass the pool, they found me right away. (So, I will always be beachfront). It was nice that the resort had kayaks, paddle boats, and snorkel gear for guests to use. A quick row to the reef gave way to beautiful snorkeling. It is a ride to get to San Pedro, but it is definitely worth staying further out. If you don't use the resort shuttle, the water taxi is a pain; it has to stop at what seemed like every dock to pick up passengers. Also, I wish the resort had shuttles that ran beyond 6:30pm. After our water taxi experience to town, we made sure to catch the last boat, every time. Thus, we missed out on night life in San Pedro.
This gave us a chance to explore the beach north and south of the resort, and we found several bars and restaurants to try. I understand that the resort is undergoing renovations in September. We cannot wait to go back to Matachica to check out the new digs!

Room Tip: Stay on the beach. The ocean breeze keeps you cool and the bugs away. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yu-hsien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently visited Matachica and loved every minute of our stay. They waste no time getting you relaxed here - welcome cocktails were waiting for us as we stepped on their dock, and we loved the no tv/no phone vibe. Each staff member was super friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. They do a great job keeping track of any activities you want to do, even if you don't book them through the hotel, without being intrusive.

The resort is located about 5 miles (~10 boat ride) north of San Pedro, where most of the shops and bars are located, so it isn't exactly around the corner. But the resort runs several free shuttles to and from town each day, and there is also a water taxi which cost $10 US per person which also will drop you off there. On one hand, this is a bit inconvenient, but its also part of what gives Matachica its mellow off the beaten track feel. While you could definitely stay at Matachica for a week without leaving, you should definitely take a few trips in to San Pedro - the town felt pretty safe with just enough sketchiness to be interesting.

The resort ground are immaculately maintained and full of beautiful foliage and friendly critters like hermit crabs and small lizards. You are in the tropics, so we expected some bugs, but we didn't encounter any besides a few stray ants and moths in our room. We didn't share the same issues with mosquito that some other reviewers have mentioned - I honestly didn't get bit once.

The rooms themselves are these cute little bungalows with thatched roofs which are partitioned into a bedroom, bathroom, and large closet. There are no glass windows, only screens, but there are wooden slates which provide privacy and keep some cool air inside. Each room has an air conditioner which was plenty powerful enough to keep up comfortable at night despite the open room design.

The restaurant and bar here are not cheap - prices are comparable to NYC - but everything we had was fantastically prepared. Tons of fresh seafood (the stuffed grouper and lobster were favorites) and excellent deserts (you just have to try the flan and souffle!). The bar serves up excellent classic cocktails as well as tropical twists like a coconut mojito. But at four times the price of what you'd pay for one in town, beer seemed quite expensive.

We're not usually the types to go for spa treatments, but we splurged here and were not disappointed. Try the Mayan coffee scrub for a truly relaxing Belizean experience!

Overall, staying at Matachica felt totally luxurious yet also rustic and mellow. It's the perfect spot for a romantic beach getaway. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Even though we were in a Sea Breeze Bungalow (Banana), which didn't have a clear view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank videoordvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Matachica from 8/2 - 8/12. We had an ocean front casita,(watermelon). It was 25 steps from the hammock to the water's edge! Beautiful palm trees all around the property, soft, clean sand everywhere you went. The crew is constantly raking the sea grass that washes ashore and they rake all the sand paths between the buildings, all day, every day! It was like walking a Zen garden path. Everyone is so nice & friendly, with a smile and a Hello, how are you today? The casitas are nice an spaced away enough from each other for privacy. The casitas themselves are beautiful, big spacious bathrooms, the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, lots of windows with shutters & screens, so you can catch the ocean breezes. We prefer to have natural air flow and didn't use the A/C too much. That might be an issue for some people who like to sleep in a cold room, since this is only a wall unit, and it wont turn the room down to 65 degrees. Not an issue for us, like I said.I see alot of reviews complaining about mosquitos, but we didn't have any issues with bugs at all. I even gave the security guys my 2 cans of Off that we brought with us, since I didn't want to lug them home with us. We have more mosquitos in our back yard then we saw in Belize. (& we did go do an inland tour, no bugs problem there either!) Lots of lizards around, they were our lunch time entertainment. They will come right up to your table, looking for some scraps. we thought it was cool to commune with nature, some others might be freaked out by it. Food is incredible, definately order the chocolate souffle, it's worth the wait!! Dennis the bar tender & server, makes a mean Caipirinha, be sure to have one or two. Abby & Mayra, servers in the dining room, always have a smile and a laugh to share. Loved them all so much! Miss them every day!! The pool is so nice too, I love the lounge chairs IN the pool, what a great way to relax and cool off at the same time. Lots of water sports equipment to use and super helpful staff to guide you to how to use it to. Snorkeling the reef was like swimming in an aquarium, so many fishes and corals. It's an easy 10 minute kayak ride on a calm day to the buoy & then a 5 minute swim from there. Lots of conch shells to dive for, we brought 2 home.(not a carry on item, TSA says it can be a weapon, so be sure to pack it in your checked luggage, we learned the hard way & had to pay an extra $40 to check our bag!)
I could go on and on about how wonderful Matachica is, the only thing bad about it was the fact we had to eventually leave! It will definately be a place we return to again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 casitas, watermelon & strawberry. Strawberry is right next to the pool, so expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stampedpassport2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

First of all, think mosquitoes. then think more of those little buggers. For the life of me, I cannot understand why this resort would not spray for the little blood suckers every hour on the hour. At the very least, you would think that they would supply every cabana with OFF. You should also only consider the beachfront cabanas. If you book sea view, you are too far away from the ocean breeze and the still air makes the problem more pronounced.
The resort itself is lovely, particularly if you are honeymooning, which almost everybody there was. It is a truly good resort with good food and a good bar scene. The pool are is fantastic. Don't think that the ocean side is going to be as good as the pool. The reef is about three-quarters of a mile from land and there is too much boat traffic coming by to swim to the reef.
The resort management does everything in their power to keep you at the resort, Small things, like taking you San Pedro, are scheduled so that you cannot get back unless you take the local water taxi (bus), so that you will stay on property to drink and eat. That gets old after just a few days, but believe me, they don't care.
We have stayed at five star and even four star resorts all over the world. This one has the potential, but overlooks just enough little things to make it just above average -- not great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a36redbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My new wife and I just spent about 4 days at Matachica and we were soooo happy. The place was stylish, romantic, secluded and luxurious. If you are trying to find the perfect honeymoon location for Ambergris we think this is the place. Be sure to get a seaside cabana. We did and we felt like rock stars! Also the food and service were really out of this world! It's not a cheap place but we felt it was really worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDiamond13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful 6 nights here for our honeymoon. We had nothing but good things to say about the resort, the staff, the food and the excursions that they helped plan for you. If you are expecting five star accommodations, you will get it, except in a more organic way. Yes the power goes out sometimes, but it's an island thing and out of their control. You'll see lizards and crabs walking around while you are hanging by the pool or dock, but that's why you chose a beach resort in Belize, right? The good reviews and pictures that are listed are pretty much on point. We had the most amazing week there after all of the wedding insanity and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
1,285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
830 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing