We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, really intimate and private area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon, we loved the amazing service and how secluded and small this place was. We also stayed @ hidden valley inn which was awesome. We had a lizard that kept crawling around our hut but the staff chased it out several times. The beds are amazing. Wouldn't recommend the private beach tour but everything else was great. Don't think it would be entertaining more than 5 days though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. After having spent time at some phenomenal and high rated hotels around the world, we've come to set the bar high, everywhere we go. So lets talk about Matachica. What is there left to say?! The previously posted reviews say it all. But, as a good Tripadvisor reviewer I will take this opportunity to add my 2 or 3 cents. Matachica is set on a decent size property with it's own stretch of fine sand beach. A nice, well maintained dock, sits directly across from the bar area. They have 3 or 4 boats which they use to shuttle the hotel guests to and from the main area of San Pedro. The boats run several times a day, just check the schedule at the front desk. Oh and while I'm on the topic, the front desk staff is great. All of the front desk workers are extremely kind and helpful whenever you have a question or request. You need a golf cart rental in San Pedro? No problem. As in our case, the owner of the golf cart company met us at Fido's Dock once we arrived from our complimentary Matachica shuttle boat ride into town. He handed us the keys to our very own rental golf cart. That was all handled by the front desk. $55 for the entire day rental - 8 hours I believe it was. You'd like to scuba dive? Also scheduled by the front desk. I must say they truly display exemplary customer service. The guys that work the grounds are very nice, always looking to say hello as you walk by. Special hello to Gio, Henry, Israel, Raymundo, Myra and Jonathan. The waiters and waitresses are also great. Also greeting you with a smile and a warm hello. I've said it before, Island charm with city professionalism. They have it all at Matachica. Its a decent sized property but somehow most of the staff members find a way to greet you by name. Or at least they always greeted me by name. Made me feel really special. You almost feel a sense of community at this hotel. The food at Matachica's Mambo Restaurant is top notch. Not one bad meal in the 7 days that I spent there. The chef was sent down from heaven it seems. Such a cool place. I definitely can say that this is among my top 5 favorite places in the world. Within that list of course is Villas Hermosas, in Santa Teresa Costa Rica. Please do yourself a favor and spend a couple of days at Matachica. You won't regret it. Immaculate property, excellent service and genuine staff. You will not need or want anything else......ENJOY BELIZE!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Matachica after three nights at the Cayo sister property, Gaia. Both resorts have similar design, although at Matachica there is a strong Asian design element that seemed an odd fit for a Belizean island. Our beachfront casita (Mango) was directly next to the restaurant/bar, but since we kept the shutters and windows closed the entire time we didn't event notice. In fact, the nice bonus was being able to pick up the bar's wifi in our room.
We enjoyed the pool area and had a nice massage in the Spa. Both we pleasant. We had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant three days, and found the dinner menu somewhat limited and very expensive for what it was. Service was incredible- everyone was well trained in customer service and any request was handled promptly and professionally. If we hadn't been so beat from the heat we would have ventured out for dinner more, but at the end of the day we were exhausted and sunburned. We really didn't enjoy San Pedro- it had limited appeal to us. Beach bars/restaurants that we open to the breeze (and bugs, and heat) with very high prices, tacky gift shops and that's about it. So we spent most of the time at the resort. I think we were one of the only couples there NOT honeymooning, so be prepared to be surrounded by that if you are not honeymooning yourself.
Casitas themselves are lovely. Be prepared for geckos to share the space with you. I didn't mind, except for the one night we came back to find gecko poop in a few places.
There are frequent complimentary boats going back and forth into town. We took advantage of them to go to town for lunch and for a snorkeling trip. There are many businesses in town that do day trips- we booked our trip to hol chan in town and saved a bunch of money over doing it through the resort. Drinks were shockingly expensive ($15 margarita) and everything has a 12% tax and 15% tip added on to it. Brace yourself when you get the bill when you check out.
Overall, it's a lovely resort that was a little more expensive than expected, but not that much more than the island in general.

Room Tip: Beachfront is nice but all looked adorable. The beachfront rooms have a strong breeze, but if you ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maynecorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The staf goes above and beyond expectations! Friendly local atmosphere. Clean, beautiful, peaceful, and private! Thanks for making our honeymoon extra special and memorable! Special thanks to Raymoundo and Margaret!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylorcerjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had our wedding at Matachica and I simply cannot imagine having had it anywhere else.
We rented out the entire resort (26 amazingly cute fruit-named casitas) for 3 days and are already counting the days until we return.

The staff were INCREDIBLE, knowing everyone by name and being incredibly accommodating.

Our room (Plum, a deluxe beachfront) was AMAZING. It was beautiful, right on the beach, and SO relaxing (no TV, no internet).

The restaurant's food is good, bar's drinks are delicious (hello coconut mojito!), and amenities are FABULOUS (free kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boats; wonderfully relaxing spa, great pool with pool side service).

Matachica is one of the most fabulous, relaxing places I have ever been and I know that our wedding guests all feel the same way.

Room Tip: The deluxe beachfront casitas are worth the extra $$$... chaise lounge on the beach AND hammock on y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smac12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent our 8 day Honeymoon here in Oct. The property is very nice and the staff is excellent. The continental breakfast is very filling and the in house restaurant is above average. We had a Reef View Suite and it was to our expectations. The resort has some water activities which we were able to take advantage of. We didn't plan any excursions through the hotel, but were able to find them by word of mouth. We had read about the bugs, but didn't really have an issue with that.

Downsides are: there is no wi-fi in the rooms, hotel shuttle's last trip from San Pedro is at 6:30 and it seems that this place is a hit with the 20-something honeymoon crowd.

Overall we liked the resort and had a good time in Belize. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had the reef view casita (Grapefruit) at the very end. Nice, quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Matachica is the premier spot for your honeymoon in Belize. Situated about five miles north of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Matachica offers everything you want, need and expect from a beachfront resort. We stayed on a one week honeymoon package during the first week of October and it was nothing short of perfect. Opt for the beachfront casita and wake up every morning to the sun coming up over the Caribbean. Comfortable beds, beautiful showers and plenty of space for a couple. Relax on your personal beachfront lounge chairs or on the hammock in front of your casita, either ways it's picture perfect and very relaxing. The pool and hot tub are excellent. The excursions are exciting and well worth it. The honeymoon package offers a trip to Lamanai, deep in the jungle, as well as snorkeling and swimming with sharks at Hol Chan Marine Reserve along the world's second longest barrier reef. Take advantage of these awesome excursions as they are absolutely worth every penny!

Now to the most important part....food and booze! Matachica offers the best restaurant on the entire island. We were there for a week, breakfast and dinner every day. Every single meal was delicious and they made special accommodations for my vegetarian, gluten-intolerant wife (a challenge in the US). How do I know the Mambo restaurant was the best? Every night we saw boats arrive from other resorts dropping people off for dinner at Matachica.

The staff is excellent. English is widely spoken in Belize so there is no language barrier. The staff is very knowledgable about the island, the mainland and they are very, very friendly. They always went above and beyond to satisfy us and it was much appreciated throughout our stay.

If you are going to Belize and plan on going to Ambergris, Matachica is the place for you!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
6.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
236 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £266 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing