We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matachica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Azul Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
X'tan Ha Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
828
136
36
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
136
36
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmata chicabeachfront casitajade spaour honeymoonview suitegaia riverlodgewater taxiambergris cayefishpaddle boatscoconut mojitomain buildingmosquito nettingsea breezerojo barminute boat rideturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at Matcchica as part of a Surf and Turf package 3 centre holiday for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It is wonderful, very romantic, lots of couples on honeymoon or anniversary celebrations, we had a sea breeze villa and it was lovely, nice and private, great air con, and very comfy beds the l'occitane toiletres are wonderful. The food in the Mambo resturant was truly outstanding, some of the best food we have ever had! The staff are great, very attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The pool was beautiful, and never busy. we enjoyed a massage and coffee body treatment! and a snorkelling trip. We can highly recommend Matachica for a luxury, chilled, laid back, relaxing, indulgent, romantic get way in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemmabeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Belize and loved our stay at Matachica. The room was a thatched roof bungalow that was the perfect blend of rustic luxury. We spent every day on the beach and loved taking the kayaks out. The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive. We reserved a snorkel trip and the cave tubing/Mayan ruin excursion with the front desk and it was seamless. The hotel restaurant is very good and highly recommended for dinner. We definitely recommend Matachica!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Matachica exceeded each of my expectations. It was truly a special resort. Do not miss Matachica.

The staff went above and beyond to be accommodating and to ensure each guest had a perfect stay - they were incredibly lovely.

The huts were beautiful, clean in island style decor. Highly recommend the large suites with the sitting room as the main room and bathroom are very spacious as well as equipped with glass paned windows. The smaller suites do not have glass which lends to heat and outdoor wildlife "visitors". Turndown services each evening were lovely. No need to bring a hairdryer - there are good ones provided, not the wall mounted vacuum cleaner style. L'Occitane shampoo and conditioner at your convience too.

The beach was nice and each morning the resort raked the seaweed that would wash up to the shore overnight ensuring the sand was clean.

The infinity pool was beautiful and relaxing with a warm spa attached.

Restaurant had amazing food, probably the best on the island, so there was not much need to venture out every single night of the stay. The menu and wine list was fantastic.

Loved the dock that jetted out over the water with the lazy beach chairs and "sofa"'s - so relaxing.

There are a couple of comments in the past regarding loud music in the main hut which has the lobby and restaurants - not sure what those were all about. The music was quiet, relaxing and beautiful.

I thought San Pedro was a dump so there wasn't much need to venture out and though Matachica is only accessable via the water taxi or its own boat service, there was not much of an issue needing to go places - Matachica is able to plan any activity you desire.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the large suites with the sitting room as the main room and bathroom are very spacious as well as equipped with glass paned windows. I stayed in the room called, "Pomegranate" - spend the extra money. The smaller suites do not have glass which lends to heat and outdoor wildlife "visitors".
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I just got back from a week long stay at Matachica. We seemed like one of the only few couples there who weren't on their honeymoon, but that's beside the point. We loved this place and would highly recommend. Highlights:
- During a conversation with a couple other guests when we first arrived, we were told that it was the service that set this place apart, and that turned out to be the case. Everyone from the resort that we dealt with was very friendly, professional, and attentive. They seemed to have plenty of staff available any time the guests needed anything, but they weren't an overwhelming presence. They stopped by when sunbathing to ask if we wanted a food or drink with just the right frequency. They set up our snorkeling and fishing trips. They provided plenty of advice on when and how to get into San Pedro and other places on the island. Basically, everything we could have asked for was taken care of.
- My wife was five months pregnant while we were there, and I was initially concerned that our casita Mango was right next to the bar / restaurant building. But it turned out not to be a problem at all. First off, the place was pretty quiet in general. There wasn't much rowdiness at the bar. And most people called it quits at the bar by 10 pm at the latest, so noise was never an issue, and the bed was plenty comfortable to get a good nights sleep.
- I liked the location (5 miles north of town) because it was far enough away that you felt secluded, but then you could always hop on a 10 minute boat ride if you wanted to get into town for more bar and restaurant options. We paid close attention from the boat, and nothing in the 5 miles between Matachica and San Pedro looked as nice from the water. North of Matachica were a couple nice looking places (La Perla Del Caribe and El Secreto). I didn't spend enough time there to compare the rooms, amenities or service, but at least Matachica had the advantage of being closer to town.
- The food at the restaurant was fine for what you needed, if a bit overpriced for lunch and dinner. The few times we ate there was more out of convenience, and we enjoyed the meals fine enough. But there were a lot of places that we wanted to check out elsewhere. The free breakfast was perfectly fine, and the coffee was actually pretty delicious.
- Our casita was great. Bed was super comfortable, and the shower was really nice too. Also plenty of room for the things we brought.
- Other amenities we liked were (a) the three lounge areas out on the dock (b) free access to bikes, kayaks, and paddleboards from the beach and (c) the pool. The pool was back from the beach but got plenty of breeze. It was also a nice size and had just the right number of lounge chairs (not too many, not too few).

Overall, we are really glad we picked this place. The other place on Ambergris that we considered was Victoria House. We went there for late afternoon drinks and dinner one night, and were happy we chose Matachica. While Victoria House looked nice, Matachica had more of the exotic beach feel we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at Mata Chica. Grounds are meticulous and beautiful. Our ocean view room was fantastic and spacious. Nightly turndown service with incense was very nice. The front desk coordinated our snorkeling and diving trips to the reef. Spa service was very relaxing. Only downside was the distance to the 'downtown' san pedro. about 10min by boat when the resort boats are running, and after hours, the water taxi is quite convenient. We went into town for 2 of 3 nights for dinner. Overall, romantic and great place for couples!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveHfromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews