We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort and amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
“Beautiful resort and amazing staff!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I visited Matachica for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing. It is located far enough from the city of San Pedro so you feel like you're on your own private island but close enough to go visit for the day. We stayed in a beach front
casita which was absolutely stunning! The staff was so friendly and were very accommodating. I would most definitely recommend this resort... we are already planning our next trip there!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMoss0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    123
    32
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
737
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

For us it felt like that movie Couples Retreat, maybe not quite that nice or as many activities as the movie but perfect water, great great staff, amazing food, perfect amount of seclusion.
My wife and I went here for our honeymoon with high hopes and Matachica blew them out of the water. Not only in amenities and setting but some of the friendliest staff I've experienced.
The individual casitas (bungalow) felt really private, great AC, and a really nice bathroom! Easy access - they pick you up and drop you off at either the pier or airport.
DOWNSIDES: Drinks are $10 (they meet you with a complimentary one at the pier when you arrive), we just took a bottle of rum from the duty free and made our own mostly but the ones we got were top notch (try the coconut mojito). You can charge everything to your room so it's easy to run the tab up if you're not paying attention. Food is pricy, ~$15 for lunch and ~$30 for dinner, the portions were big enough though that most nights we split an entree and had Plenty! Seriously some of the best and freshest seafood i've ever had! It's a 10 min boat ride from San Pedro and the shuttle stops running at 6pm so to get back you have to take a taxi $10 per person one way to get back, wasn't an issue for us because we don't care about night life but you can have other resorts pick you up and drop you off though which most of these reviews don't mention!!

Bottom line -- the coolest place I've ever seen let alone been to and that's coming from someone who lived in Hawaii and has traveled a lot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband, my sister, her husband, and I just returned from a week-long trip in Belize. We stayed at Matachica the entire week and had an absolutely fabulous time. The accommodations were lovely and unique, the food and drinks were delicious, the activities were incredibly fun, and the staff was unbeatable. Anita, as well as many other well-informed staff, helped us pick our activities and answered all of our questions. Anita in particular was incredibly helpful and very kind. Burga and Beatriz were very helpful over email before we got there and answered our questions that helped us plan our trip.

Sam, one of the many servers at the resort, was probably our favorite. He gave us great advice on what to order, what the best shots were at the pool table in the bar, and helped us learn fun Belizian phrases. Every staff member was always willing to assist us and always wore a smile that was genuine.

Our favorite activities were a tie between snorkeling at Hol Chan and Mexico Rocks, but kayaking from our front door to the reef to snorkel, fishing, cave tubing, seeing Xunantunich, taking a bike ride on the beach, hanging out at the lovely pool, relaxing on the beach, and exploring San Pedro were also lots of fun.

I would highly recommend this resort without hesitation, although it is definitely a resort for adults or grown/almost grown children.

I don't think the four of us will soon forget our wonderful week in Belize. I picked this resort over others based on Trip Advisor reviews, and I hope this review helps someone else choose Matachica as well.

If you are comparing this resort to Victoria House, although I've heard Victoria House is really nice (and I'm sure it is), there is a low wall at Victoria House separating the ocean from the sand. I noticed that when we picked up people there to do an activity. I like being able to walk into the water without climbing over a wall. But, Victoria House is closer to San Pedro and accessible via golf cart. Matachica recommends taking a boat to San Pedro because the roads are rough and Matachica is twice as far to the city as Victoria House. It was easy to get to San Pedro by boat, so I didn't see that as a negative.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can simply not say enough good things about this place! We stayed here on our honey moon for 6 days 5 nights. The second we arrived in San Pedro, we were completely taken care of. The hotel grounds are kept so beautiful and perfect daily. The lobby has such an amazing feel, very relaxing! The food was fantastic and on point each and every time. The employees really take time to make you feel at home, they make sure to take care of each and every need or want you have. They are amazing! The service here is top notch, unforgettable. The entire atmosphere is great, very relaxing and peaceful. Definitely take advantage of the kayaks and go out snorkeling by the reef! If you want any excursions, they are very helpful. Our room was very romantic and comfy. Loved how each cabana had its own personal touch. The bar always makes great drinks! The spa was very relaxing with a great feel, the massages won't disappoint! We loved going on beach walks at night and laying on the big comfy chairs on the pier looking at all those stars! We went through beach bum vacations, using Erica, highly recommended!! She helped make the trip flawless and was extremely helpful through out the entire process! The only bad thing was that the vacation had to end.....We plan to come back for our one year and can not wait!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Everything is great, staff is beautiful people, sevice is great, rooms are a beauty and confy, decoration is gorgeous.

Its a cozy and friendly hotel. Not great for people who likes to go frecuently to the town.

Total relaxing atmosphere, details everywhere, awesome food, beautiful snorkeling trips.

I would go there every year if I can.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we arrived by boat a wonderfull trip and a great way to view the island , arriving on the dock you are struck by the beauty of the resort it looks like you are the only place on a tropical island . the entrance is spectacular and the layout of the resort lends to privacy and peacefullness . The villas are well placed and the o]pool area is a beautifull spot surrounded by palm trees and tropical plants all facing the beautifull barrier reef just off the shore . we visited with friends and had a wonderfull meal in the open air restaurant and we were not disapointed all four of us had a seperate menue item for dinner my only regret was not taking a photo as the meals were excelent . The service here is a big part of enjoying your trip and you will not be dissapointed . we will be back for more soon .

Room Tip: all of the rooms are situated well , you may want a bit closer to the pool area but you will no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The employees were amazingly friendly and accommodating! The rooms were okay/standard. The food was exceptional, and as a vegetarian they made sure they took care of me! However, if you are looking for a beautiful beach to swim and relax, this is NOT the place. The water, just above ankle depth, was filled with slimy sea grass, crabs, and other marine life that likes to hide in such areas. For us, this was a huge disappointment to our honeymoon. There is one swimming area that is about 3 feet deep and 5X8 area, but they gut the fish there and toss the extras in for the stingrays...thus you can only swim when the stingrays are not eating. There is a beautiful pool but it is always murky feels unclean. We had a couples massage to pass the time and it was, by far, the best massage I have ever had! If it were not for the amazing people that work at the resort we would have left upon arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kzims617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
6.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing