We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The prettiest lobby and sunbathing deck ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spindrift Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spindrift Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The prettiest lobby and sunbathing deck ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled throughout Belize mid- to end of May of this year. San Pedro was our first stop. When our flight had landed, we told our cab driver to just take us "to the boat docks for San Pedro". Maybe we should have been more specific becuase I believe there are 3 different boat companies that will take you to the cayes. We took San Pedro Express Water Taxi. They wound up being more expensive than what the 2 other companies were, and they screwed up our tickets causing us to have to pay even more. Just FYI!
We had chosen Sprindrift based on a Lonely Planet travel guide book as well as reviews from here. The owner of the hotel was very lovely, and when we couldn't get the wifi to work, she allowed us to access their separate wifi account which did work. The lobby was so cute with various plants and flowers, and it felt very safe as there was a security guard there throughout the entire evening. There was a sunbathing deck on the second floor facing out over the beach which was perfect for breakfast in the mornings and a good Belizean spiced rum and coke in the evenings under the stars.
Our room did not have air conditioning, just fans, and being mid-May (the end of the dry season) it was cooking. (It was approximately an extra $20 a night for A/C, which was a little steep we thought, so didn't opt in for that). During the day it was insanely hot, however we weren't in our room much during the day. At night there was enough of a breeze from the open windows and the fans that it was bearable...sleeping without covers of course. I will say though, that it was a little loud at night for me as I'm a light sleeper, and having the windows open, you hear construction, kids screaming, traffic etc.
Overall though, the room was clean, there was water pressure, and the location is perfect. For 20-something year olds, not on a backpacker's budget, but still not wanting to splurge too much, it was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurley_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed two days and thought the hotel is overpriced for what you get. Lobby had unused restaurant equipment and bicycles parked there. Never did get Wifi to work. The plumbing in the room worked just enough to get by. Pillows were horrible, cheap flat foam.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Spindrift. There were 22 of us and they were so helpful and courteous. They helped us find good places for breakfast and other meals nearby. The balconies all have a wonderful view of the ocean. We will stay there again, I'm sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oteka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed overnight for a sailing Regatta in November, 2012. We chose this hotel for the location and value. We knew that we would not be using the room except for sleeping so location was important. It is right downtown and unless you want to rent a golf cart and tour San Pedro, you can walk anywhere you want to go.
The rooms are small and minimally furnished. The bathrooms are very plain and somewhat tired. The staff is friendly. The hotel does not have any amenities and that goes with the price. Everything in San Pedro is pricey so be prepared to shell out mucho dollares. If you don't want a back- packers hotel and are only staying for a few nights to go diving etc. , then this hotel will do. For a longer visit, I would recommend finding a better place but be aware that you will pay a lot more.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the beach. One of our party had a room with a window that looked out to a flashi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelizeBabyBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Nice Hotel, very clean, in middle of San Pedro, Thursday nights Chicken Drop hilarious...you have to see it to belieze it.....staff very helpful....nice courtyard, bar and restaurant downstairs...beachfront view rooms.....bed was a bit dated but was comfortable, only used rooms for sleeping and meeting point....convenience store and ice cream right across street, golf cart rentals in same building. Enjoyed my stay....!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront rooms.....excellent view of boats, water, barrier reef...well worth it...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Österreich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I think for belizian pricelevels it is ok. Just don`t expect anything fancy. The rooms are ok (Be carefull with the ceiling fan). The rooms are not dirty but not what an european understands in tearms of clean. The area is good (just 5 minutes of walk from both ports and the airport, a supermarket just accross the street, an internetshop - wow they charged us 1.5 us for printing a page b/w and scanning it - and restaurants nearby. The hotel is beachfront - yes - but you can`t go out and swim cause of all the seagrass and the piers + boats)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eulinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

An excellent place to stay especially if you like diving they are very accommodating and reasonably priced. The staff from the security Guard , the Housekeeper Diana the Front desk manager are all friendly and knowledgable. The owner and her helpers are fantastic people to talk to and all of them really look out for you.
If you dive beware of Aqua Scuba for any excursion beyond local dives read my review which is far from stand alone on recent trips under terrible. The dive shop in the purple building will come close to matching his rate on local dives and their equipment is far superior.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#26 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambergris Beach House
Ambergris Beach House
#24 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#8 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Changes In Latitudes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Hotel

Property: Spindrift Hotel
Address: Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spindrift Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel San Pedro
Spindrift Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing