We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint place”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this smaller property that was south of town - out of the hustle and bustle of san Pedro. But it was close enough to walk up the beach into town (about 15 minutes). There is no restaurant but the bar sserves continental breakfast in the morning. It is only juice, coffee and fruit and pastries and if you don't descend on it early the picking gets slim. We usually just grabbed some coffee then walked into town for a real breakfast. The bar was a fun place to hang out and the bartenders were pretty chatty if you engaged them. The drink prices were great, especially during happy hour. The beach was small but had chairs and umbrellas for everyone. The sea grass didn't get raked very often so you had a bit of that smell, but it wasn't terrible. Could be improved. The rooms were really nice and clean and it was nice having a kitchenette. There is a little grocery store around the corner so you can stock up on simple things like snacks and fruit for inbetween your trips into town for a restaurant. The trips scheduled through the hotel were just fine. We did Hol Chan and Shark Ray alley with their guide. Very affordable and good guides. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Mata Rocks is a wonderful place in a small bit of paradise. Nice staff, cool little beach bar, comfy beach chairs on a little beach. We had a suite with a nice kitchenette and very comfy bed. Flat screen TV with many channel sat tv. Free beach bikes.
The resort has a small dock where dive, fishing and snorkle trips just pick you up. I was diving each day. So when you see your dive boat coming, just jump up from your beach chair walk down the dock get on the boat and your diving in paradise (150ft visability water) in 10 mins!!!! All your gear is set up already by the dive boat crew. This type of diving spoiled me forever!

A 20 min walk to town (down the beach). The Marina food store (5 min walk) and a few restaurant's are nearby. We liked "Caroline's Restaurant" near the gas station. Also by the main dock in town we liked "Licks Restaurant" (great new menu each day...very fresh fish! Good cold smoothie's too). The dive boats bring you near the main dock between dives so I would go grab a nice mango/banana smoothie from Licks each day...yumm.

Mata Rocks Resort works out very well. It's really not too far from town. Very pleasant walk to town down the beach. You can ride bikes down the beach to town too. The dock is well used. Golf cart rentals are right at the office. Super friendly helpfull staff.We loved our stay!

Room Tip: The upgrade to a suite is worth it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We traveled to San Pedro Belize during shoulder-season, 1st of July 2012.... Our stay at Mata Rocks was not without a bump - but it was everything it advertised to be. The staff is friendly and courteous. The hotel itself is right on the beach, and has its' own boat pier - so going to our water destinations was quick and easy. The staff also helps with activity arrangements, the hotel offers nightly happy hour 2-for-1 drinks, free bikes to ride into town, a nice, simple morning breakfast, and the quiet and privacy we wanted. We received the wrong room for check-in but that was quickly alleviated and we were given a complimentary [and much larger] room. We highly recommend Mata Rocks, and would stay again!!

Room Tip: Be sure to clarify what sort of room/bed size you will receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My family of three which included our 15 year old son had a week long stay in early Aug. We stayed in a junior suite which was roomy enough for all of us. Not much room to store stuff but we mannaged. The room was neatly furnished and very very clean. We enjoyed being right on the beach. Don't expect the staff to be very attentive, if you need something just ask it will get done. For convenience book your tours at the front desk. Book tours with Searious for snorkeling at Hol Chan and to Xuintunich they are very organized, efficient and knowledgeable. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winona67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Belize, in my opinion, is not a resort spot so if you're looking for a "vacation", Belize is NOT the place. If you're a backpacker or adventuresome couple looking for a getaway from the posh and the norm, this is it. Mata Rocks is a very small hotel with very small rooms. The bathroom is the kitchen, there is a small fridge good for drinks and local fruit, but by far not luxurious.
The rooms are kept clean for the most part but as with any tropical location, expect to see ants -big ones, and they bite - hard! On our first night, my husband was bitten by something in bed and within 8 hours the "mosquito" bite, as we were told by the hotel staff, turned into a 6 cm abcess which required 2 visits to the "clinic" - imagine a 1 room pharmacy with a 16 year old kid behind the counter and a doctor who makes house calls in shorts and flip flops -but is pretty knowledgable.

There was also a resident gecco that lived in our room but we didn't mind since he was eating the ants and other insects - we're thinking of buying one for our house now haha, he was effective.

Belize currency in 2:1 to the US dollar which would be nice except everything on the Island is 4x more expensive than mainland which is 2x more expensive so we averaged $25 USD for breakfast and lunch and $60 USD for dinner - not really the place for those on a budget. Golf cart rentals were $65 USD per day but well worth it because it included gas -which is about $6 US per gallon.

The food is the same EVERYWHERE. Same quality from upscale restaurants to the cheap little hole in the walls, tastes the same, looks the same, cost varies by lo#ation# No McDonalds/Burger Kings/fast food joint anwhere - I think it's a plus but people differ#
Drinks are over priced everywhere but quality does vary - that Rum Punch can go from pheonominal to [--] very quickly.

Cabs from anywhere to everywhere are $5 USD on the island, $25 from airport to water ferry/taxi and water taxi to San Pedro is $25/person each way and taked about 1#75 hours - puddle jumpers are about $75 USD each way and take about 15-20 minutes, and range from 2 passenger to 8 passenger planes - ride can get bumpy. We did the water taxi one way the first day and decided once was good but also enough and flew everywhere afterwards.
We flew to Corozal for a day and rented a car -$80 USD per day, gas not included- and drove around to the border of Mexico and Guatamala.We were advised that Guatamala was not very "friendly" at the time so we didn't drive far in.The country is pretty much the same everywhere. Think third world country, very run-down, dirty, locals look at you like hungry dogs staring at a pork chop... LADIES!!! Do NOT, I repeat, NOT NOT NOT go out by yourselves. I was oagled everywhere we went and every man 14 to 80 act like horney construction workers. My husband laughed constantly because men were "hey baby"ing and whistling and making all sorts of comments about my "features" even when my husband and I walked hand-in-hand around town.
Belize City is a dirty, smelly, disgusting dump - and nothing to see there. Corozal too. Orange Walk is... about 30 years behind American standards# The cab driver tried to sell us marijuana 5 minutes into the ride from the airport... o...k... Like we look like drug users #scoff## It's probably the only time I've ever related to the 70 something year old snob saying "well, I never!"... yeah...
We were advised #on our 6th day there# that Hurricane Ernesto is coming but not to fear, towels and candles would be provided for us and we should not leave our room for 3 days and that we should stock up on food and water### Yeah, we booked a plane to Dallas that day and bolted# Turned out, at 3pm on Aug 7th, they shut down the runways and water taxi's for safety reasons and our pudle jumper boarded us an hour and a half prior to our scheduled departure### EVERYONE was leaving, even the locals got off the rock and headed to mainland#
We did enjoy swimming with the sharks and rays, went fishing -3 baracuda, 2 snappers, and 1 round gray fish with a horn on his head lol. i don't remember what that one was but it was tastey =)
Note: Swim with Nurse sharks, NOT Reef Sharks - one swam up and "smelled" my husband, mouth open, scary! turns out the ones you swim with don't have teeth - Reef sharks do! they bite, luckily I sort of kicked at it and it swam away but good to know. The reef is not as colorful or as full of cool fish as Hawaii's or other parts of Carribean. Our Jungle Tours and tubing/ziplining was cancelled due to storm =( but everything else was okay.
If you're a smoker, BRING A CARTON OF YOUR OWN! Their smokes suck and Marlboro and B&H are contraband [which you can still buy at the store at $10 USD if you can find it.

We like adventure and exploring so it was still fun for us. American Airlines would NOT help us despite the hurricane, we had to pay A LOT for ticket changes. They told us since we were not scheduled to fly on 7th or 8th, we didn't have to leave so we could wait out the hurricane in our rooms or pay A LOT for changes. My husband is active military so we had to leave, his command was not happy about him being there during the hurricane. I'm glad we left.
It was a cool experience but it's no longer a place where we consider buying retirement property# It looks like Belize was a beautiful and wonderful place... 30 years ago and when the Brits left, the country let themselves go... BAD!
If you're going to come here, spring for GOOD accomidations, nothing less than $120 USD per night. It's well worth it in the end, believe me# Capitain Morgan's resort is nice, secluded but very nice# Rent golf carts, do tours and dives and jungle adventures, have fun, and do NOT bring anything of value# For Pete's sake, we were robbed by grown men for a Mountain Dew and a Ginger Ale - yeah, not kidding.
Hope this helps =)

Room Tip: The standard room is big enough for a queen bed, 2 small side table and a small end table. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had room S6 which is on the first floor overlooking the ocean ( you can't get closer to the water anywhere on the island without getting wet). The balcony is about five foot above the beach and about 8 feet from the water. We had a wonderful view (we were there during hurricane ernesto) and watched the waves come in (they were actually breaking under the balcony). The room is comfortable and well cleaned. The staff are friendly. The continental breakfast leaves something to be desired but they do have coffee. Also coffee/coffee pot in the room in case your an early riser. The beach in front of the hotel is small but usable. The water is very shallow probably 4 foot out a couple of hundred feet. A lot of sea grass washes up but they clean the beach every morning. Overall we were pleased with the accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I had not been to Ambergris Caye in MANY years, so I was not sure where to stay. I settled on Mata Rocks from all the TripAdvisor comments, and I could not have been happier. Due to the off season they had a pay for 6 days, get 7th day free special, which made the room VERY reasonable. It is very comfortable and clean, with a nice pool area and friendly outside bar. All the employees were very helpful and competent; you can really tell when the owners/managers take pride in their resort and take the time to train and mentor the staff. It is a jaunt into town, so splurge and rent a golf cart one day so you can travel to see more of the caye. I walked a few times, but it was pretty warm and sometimes rainy, so cabs worked out better for me. They are cheap ($5 into town) and readily available. If you go in the monsoon/rainy season I suggest adding a day or two extra, as weather sometimes stops certain trips/activities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene_Strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
806 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 54 in San Pedro
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#41 of 54 in San Pedro
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
468 reviews
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £86 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing